We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget family run hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Marjela

Save Saved
You added Villa Marjela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Marjela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jobova 5, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 50 hotels in Split
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“budget family run hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

choose it for a short stay, if you are on a budget. I stayed for a night , arriving late and leaving early... so I did not see much. The facts are that it was clean, with standard furniture, basic breakfast, crt local tv , and no soap in the shower. Big plus the proprietor, who was very kind and made me feel like home.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
2
23
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

hosts were very friendly and helpful.Great place to stay in Split,,easy walk to town,room was exeptionally clean and quiet and specious,very well equipped.breakfast was nice and simple,wi fi worked well in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Small familly hotel close to old city.
Friendly and helpful staff,rooms very clean and good size,air-condition worked very good as WIFI as well.The bed was very,very comfortable.Free parking for the car just infront.
Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

the staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, we got free wifi in the lobby, the breakfast was ok. the hotel is about a 10 min walk to the center, which isn't bad. i would've stayed somewhere else if i found other hotels with decent reviews closer to the center that were not too expensive. as someone else mentioned, the beds were a negative. we got a room with 2 single beds pushed together instead of 1 big bed - this was a little uncomfortable. the location and cleanliness were the best things of the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is in what we classified as a questionable area, we did not feel safe walking around it at night, so some nights we would have to catch a taxi home and that is 100 kuna. The rooms were average but were clean, the manager was fantastic, more than happy to help. Next time I would choose a hotel closer and in a safer area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This small hotel is good place if you don't want to spend to much money for accommodation. Location is bit out of city center, you will need at least 10 minute walk to the city's Riva promenade and tourist attractions. Rooms are big and very well maintained. Staff was very helpful and nice. Hotel is surrounded with apartment buildings so it is very hard to notice it until you are in front of it. Would recommend this hotel for short stay if you get good rate. Hotel have private parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We only stayed at villa marjella for only one night, and for that it was enough. While we had stayed in three and two star hotels in Europe. This was one of the worst. When we arrived the staff were very helpful and kindly took us to the room.

As a couple we took the twin room. However what we got was two single beds pushed together, they didn't even have double sheets. It was two singles with the single sets of linen. Very romantic and loving as you could imagine.

The bathroom was an alright size but when we had a shower after 5 minutes the water ran out, this was at 8am. The hotel had good wifi reception and we didn't have breakfast so we can't comment on that. The location is the best part of this hotel but I struggle to find any others.
Our room was quite small only could fit the double bed and barely our suitcases.
Would I recommend this hotel to anyone, probably not.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Marjela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marjela

Address: Jobova 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marjela 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Marjela is a family run hotel near the centre of Split. Its air-conditioned rooms have free Wi-Fi and cable TV. All rooms have a private bathroom. Some rooms have a balcony, and there is a free parking space for each room.A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room. The front desk is open 24 hours a day.The villa is just a short walk from the Diocletian’s Palace situated near Marjan hill, wich is good for any type of recreation, and near city stadium „Poljud“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Villa Marjela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marjela Hotel Split
Marjela Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Marjela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.