We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Dobric” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vestibul Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vestibul Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Vestibul Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iza Vestibula 4a, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NEW YEAR'S EVE 2015
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Split
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Villa Dobric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in the Villa Dobric which is another building ( a bit cheaper) of the Vestibul Palace.

The Villa is just outside the walls of Diocletian’s Palace but still inside the pedestrianised area of Split. It is only a square away from the sea front and consequently scores full marks for situation.

Inside the rooms are stunning. Beautifully designed, Very new, clean and with ma ny mod-cons.

As the Villa was quiet (it only has 4 rooms) we had to go to the Vestibul Palace for breakfast. This is no problem at all- it's only a 5 minute walk and the hotel staff walked it with us on the first day. Breakfast is extremely good. Brilliant coffee and a wide (and unusual) range of food on offer.

The only criticism is that the staff were a little odd on our arrival. After a hair-raising drive into Split we found a cheap 24 hour car park and decided to leave the car there for the 2 day stay. The hotel staff were incredulous that we didn't want to park in their (more expensive) car park and were bordering on the rude with their comments. I have to add however that after that they were extremely professional if not a little 'stuffy'

Overall though and excellent stay and good value.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    63
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
155
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

I stayed in a small room which was extremely clean, and tidy, the linen great, comfortable to sleep in,the shower rather small but still very good looking, amazing furniture,they said all custom made! Breakfast was good (I've seen richer).
What I was impressed about? STAFF!! They just run around the place doing all sorts of things! Serve drinks, answer the phones, write e-mails, help the maid, and all the things I weren't able to see... I think I would need an extra pair of arms and legs!

All the best guys!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

The Hotel Vestibul Palace is a simply delightful boutique hotel located within the Emperor Diocletian's Palace. The hotel and rooms are exactly as pictured online. The hotel is extremely well designed with clean, crisp contemporary furnishings set in an ancient palace located in the heart of the heavily touristed historic area, yet in a serenely quite part of it. Besides the interesting historic area, a four minute walk to the exterior brings you to the Riva, a wonderful ocean side promenade with many sidewalk cafes looking out on the boat harbor. Or if you go in the other directions, you encounter a plethora of designer shops within the palace or a thriving tent market just outside of it.

The Hotel Vestibul Palace’s continental breakfast is much better than average with many selections of quality ingredients. We enjoyed an excellent and well served dinner there. The menu tends towards gourmet renditions of local fare, plus other offerings featuring interesting preparations. The wine list is extensive. Maybe it was just good luck, but we encountered no smoking in the restaurant while there. The hotel staff is eager to please, accommodating and professional. Conveniently the hotel offers a free laptop in the lobby for its guests to check their email, etc.

Be sure to inquire of the hotel's exact location because it is not obvious at first. Once there it is very easy to find again. If you are driving, note that you cannot drive directly to the hotel but they will have the hotel valet meet you right outside the palace walls in order to park your car and carry your bags.

To my taste, as a casual tourist Split is good for a two or three day visit and it is an excellent starting place for touring the many islands of Dalmatia..

  • Liked — Wonderful design, quality care and food.
  • Disliked — minor, but the (very good) location could be described better so one can find it easier.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

We recently stayed in this hotel during our 3 weeks touring Croatia and Slovenia. It was the most expensive and the one that impressed us the least. Sure,the location cant be beaten. After a five hour drive we received a very ordinary"welcome" to the hotel.We did get help parking our car and with the bags,but the girl at reception had a very stand-offish manner. It was literally"here is your key,turn right at the stairs and your room is at the top" Not what you expect for the Euros paid. There was nothing else added about the facilities of the hotel,area around or even offered a map. We had to ask where breakfast was,what time it was and the next morning we only knew there were omelettes as my husband heard another guest ask for one. The girls seemed far more interested in attending to the needs of the local singers each day.The second morning I had to go to find someone halfway through our breakfast to get a first cup of tea.The amazing thing is there are only 7 rooms and the staff were around,but just would sit behind the desk. The rooms are lovely and well serviced but we felt we had chosen the wrong hotel in Split based on the average service.

  • Liked — The location of the hotel and style of rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of basic service standards
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

We were on holidays in Croatia for about 1 month. We changed few hotels in Split and the best for us was Vestibul. It's position is in the center of palace.Room vas clean,quiet,nice...Staff and service were aso good. Hotel is really gorgeous. Price of the room was high in compare with other hotels but we haven't got any problems with that.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We spent nearly four weeks in Croatia, Slovenia, and Hungary in July, and out of the seven hotels we stayed at during our vacation Hotel Vestibul Palace was definitely the best. The hotel was beautifully decorated in a sleek, modern style yet was still amazingly homey and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious (eating out in the lovely courtyard was a great start to the day), and the customer service was extraordinary. Every single person we interacted with was extremely friendly and helpful. The only caveat is that the location, inside Diocletian's Palace, makes it a little hard to find if you have a car. We spent a good hour circling around the area before we finally just parked the car at the first space we could find and walked to the hotel after calling them to get directions. Once you find it, though, it makes for a very convenient location from which to explore the city and the nearby islands. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone passing through Split.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

I spent two nights in the Hotel Vestibul and would probably stay there again. The location is amazing but it does have its drawbacks. We were in room 1 which looks into the vestibul and like a previous review found that people like to sing there until the early hours of the morning. Even one or two people can sound like a multitude there with the amplification. The air conditioning somewhat drowned them out when turned up to high. If you do stay there request a quiet room and maybe pack ear plugs. Our room was I think the smallest in the hotel but was perfectly adequate with simple furnishings and a small bathroom.
Breakfast was the typical continental one but it was lovely to eat it outside in the little square in front of the hotel. Overall I would recommend the hotel.

  • Liked — Fantastic location
  • Disliked — Noise at nighttime
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vestibul Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vestibul Palace

Address: Iza Vestibula 4a, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Split
#5 Luxury Hotel in Split
#6 Family Hotel in Split
#7 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vestibul Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury boutique hotel in the heart of 1700 year old Diocletian's palace. 11 Unique rooms will give you a one of a kind experience of sleeping in the emperor's chambers! City Center, City Hotel, Luxury Hotel, Boutique Hotel, Luxury Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vestibul Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vestibul Palace Hotel
Vestibul Palace Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vestibul Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.