We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, efficient and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vestibul Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vestibul Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Vestibul Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iza Vestibula 4a, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NEW YEAR'S EVE 2015
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Split
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Modern, efficient and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A great little hotel ideally located for a short stay in Split. The staff were very friendly and attentive and managed to be omnipresent without being annoying. I stayed whilst visiting Split on a business trip but I plan on returning to this hotel with my family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    63
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
155
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Isles
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The bedroom and accompanying bathroom was tiny.The staff were very helpful in everything we needed. The breakfast was good. We had dinner at other restaurants.Recommended for a city centre hotel as it very central and near all the central attractions. It was a little noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the end of December.The hotel is very modern inside.The rooms are comfortable but there was nowhere to really put a second large piece of baggage. The bathroom is large but the bath is not easy to get into and out of and there is nothing to hold onto to make this any easier (Beware of the towel rack if it's left on..it gets very hot!)
The breakfast buffet selection was good...a lot of nice fresh fruit and the hot dishes can be ordered separately if required. The cappuccinos were very good.The hotel only has 7 rooms in the main building but if there are more than 4 people in the restaurant at the same time it is not easy to get to the food as and when you want it.
Room 2 is easily accessible in the main building...but it is basically overlooked from all windows either from other rooms within the hotel or from the building across the square.
Having said all this there are two reasons why people might choose to stay at this hotel:
1. The customer service provided by the staff (especially Branimir) is exceptional.We arrived from Dubrovnik by bus.Branimir met us from the bus station and escorted us back to the hotel.When we left we were again assisted to the bus station to get the airport shuttle.All of our questions were dealt with by all staff in a highly professional and friendly manner
2. The location within the Diocletian Palace.The hotel is not easy to find but walking through the small alleys at any time of day is magical.The vestibul is just outside of the front door of the hotel.There seem to be performances there from about 9.30 a.m. on the weekends..hang around to hear the singing before heading out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestibul_Management, Sales Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Aichii,

Firstly I wish to thank You for staying at hotel "Vestibul Palace" and thank You for Your review. It is a pleasure to hear hotel "Vestibul Palace" is a unique hotel experience. Hotel has only 11 rooms and all of them are located in the UNESCO world heritage, making them all unique (combination of modern and antique) rooms having a view to the square in front of the hotel and ethnographic museum. I am glad You have found rooms nice as well as the breakfast. At the moment during weekends we have a cappella singers in front of the hotel, and by beginning of March every day.

All the best,
Boris Dusa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed in the Villa Dobric, which is part of the hotel but in another location in the Old City. Rooms are good though small (apart from the bed one couldn't really fit anything else in) and bathroom was well appointed. The small breakfast area is downstairs, and one day breakfast was provided, while on another day we had to go to the main hotel. The front desk was not always manned, and every guest had their won key to get in.

All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestibul_Management, Sales Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank You for Your review of the hotel "Vestibul Palace & Villa Dobric". As You have mentioned hotel has two buildings, main building of the hotel (7 rooms) and the annexe "Villa Dobric" (4 rooms), close one to each other, in UNESCO world heritage site, in the center of city Split.
We do serve breakfast in both buildings, full buffet breakfast at main building and continental breakfast at the annexe building in order to provide higher level of service. At Villa Dobric, the annexe having 30% up to 50% lower rates than in the main building You get a key to get in during night time while it is locked.

I am glad You found rooms good (standard double) and hopefully next time You will be able to book more comfortable room (superior double room, which is duplex).

All the best,
Boris Dusa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great small design hotel located within the Palace walls - perfect location to explore the tiny streets of the old city. Our room was on the top floor (#7), very calm and quiet. Nice design with an ancient stone wall, super comfy bed and great bathroom. The staff are excellent and very accomodating. We arrived very early in the morning and they fed us breakfast while our room was being prepared. We had an early flight the next day and they arranged our transport to the airport. We really enjoyed our stay in Split at Hotel Vestibul Palace. The only downside was we could only stay one night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestibul_Management, Sales Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear JuanEsperanza,

Thank You for Your review. It is always a true pleasure to hear hotel "Vestibul Palace" team is excellent and to know hotel "Vestibul Palace" has much more to offer than outstanding location - in the heart of Diocletian's Palace dating back from 3rd century.
Having You arrive very early and offering You breakfast while the room was being prepared as fastest as possible is a part of Vestibul Palace experience, and service.

I agree for Your downside, You should have been staying for more nights and I do hope You will have a chance to come back!

Best regards,
Boris Dusa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London (England)
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here last year and the hotel is as I remembered. Ace location in the Emperor's palace, friendly efficient staff, good rooms, first rate breakfast, decent supper, free use of an internet laptop.

This November I stayed twice. On my second trip I was given an upgrade to a suite. This was a quite magnificent double height room. One wall was exposed brick and stone work from the ancient palace - interesting. The floor area was bigger than my flat - good for my yoga practice. The bedroom was in an upstairs gallery. The ground floor had a large sitting/desk area, dressing/storage area, bathroom. All well lit, very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestibul_Management, Sales Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Michael,

Thank You for Your kind words. I am glad You gave the opportunity to hotel "Vestibul Palace" team several times to make Your stay even more memorable. Specially, once You did mention all hotel's offerings and loved them all! Location - Diocletian's Palace, Staff members, Breakfast, Supper, Upgrade...

Once again thank You for Your words and I do hope You will have a change to come back to Split, if so You will be upgraded again and most welcomed!

All the best,
Boris Dusa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a great hotel! We had trouble navigating to the entrance of Diocletian's Palace. When we called from the other side of the palace, the hotel sent a person to guide us in. The room was a bit small, but very nice with a firm comfortable bed. The location is amazing. Our first morning we were seranaded by a male quartet singing Croatian songs in the Vestibul adjacent to our hotel. The breakfast was excellent; weather permitting, we could eat in the courtyard adjacent to the hotel. And the location was spectacular; right in the palace itself. It was a joy to walk the old city in the morning and evening after all of the cruise passengers had returned to their ship. I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestibul_Management, Sales Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Ms. BeannieC,

Thank You for such a nice review and such a nice overview of the hotel. Since the hotel is in the Diocletian's Palace, pedestrian area, hotel has a service to guide You in the palace and to carry Your luggage to the room, which is a part of the service You get once staying at Vestibul Palace. With only 11 rooms hotel has 6 different room categories along with different rates making them all unique experience and story for itself .

Thank You also for recommending hotel "Vestibul Palace".

Best regards,
Boris Dusa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vestibul Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vestibul Palace

Address: Iza Vestibula 4a, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Split
#4 Business Hotel in Split
#6 Luxury Hotel in Split
#7 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vestibul Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury boutique hotel in the heart of 1700 year old Diocletian's palace. 11 Unique rooms will give you a one of a kind experience of sleeping in the emperor's chambers! City Center, City Hotel, Luxury Hotel, Boutique Hotel, Luxury Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vestibul Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vestibul Palace Hotel
Vestibul Palace Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vestibul Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.