We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vestibul Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vestibul Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Vestibul Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iza Vestibula 4a, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wales UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Super hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

it's an expensive place to stay but one knows that at booking , the hotel and it's staff therefore have to perform to justify the expense - they do :-)
The location cannot be beaten , the room is lovely and functional , I communicated with the hotel prior to arrival bad requested a kettle in my room - why can't these fancy hotels provide tea and coffee making facilities as a fixture ( Premer inns and Travelodges do !!) it was available so they did as I had asked
Breakfast is super and can be eaten in or on the courtyard which was our preference , the bonus is that you can order wonderful top- class Espresso and Cappucino and not have to put up with the normal horrid hotel coffee , the choice and freshness of the produce was superb and it was great being able to order things like boiled gags , omelette etc .
There are only 7 rooms , our room was so quiet with windows closed but do open them when the Klapa Vestibul singers are singing because the sound transports you to heaven .
Staff were superb , friendly informative and helpful , the location is AS GOOD AS IT GETS .
We enjoyed our stay and Will return

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    65
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
41
161
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights in the Villa Dobric annexe of the Hotel Vestibul Palace. When visiting Split you could not ask for a better location as the hotel is within the walls of the Old Town meaning that you are right in the centre of everything you want to see and do. Although the room was small it had everything that we needed. All of the staff were incredibly helpful with anything we wanted to see or do. Breakfast was great in the morning-a good selection and you always felt like you were being looked after.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Split whether with friends, family or your partner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Location, location, location …. It doesn’t get any better than this in Split. Vestibul Palace is inside Diocletian’s Palace and you are literally steps away from seeing great sights. There is also an a cappella signing group very near to the hotel, so if you sit at a table outside the front of the hotel you can hear them singing (which is lovely). The service at the hotel is also top notch – from the people who help carry your luggage through the palace, to the hosts at the front desk, to those working in the restaurant (serving breakfast, getting coffee, drinks, etc.). The hotel is also perfectly kept up – very clean and in great condition.

The main downside to the hotel is that the rooms are very small. We had a superior double and you had enough room to walk around the bed and really no place to put your luggage without having to climb over/around it somewhat. The bathroom was also on the small side (with one sink) and a shower/tub combo, but functional. For one night, we managed – but if I had it to do over again, I would definitely book one of the suites. The bed – which was comfortable but had a pretty firm mattress - is also very close to the floor; it’s a mattress (no box spring) on a low frame (futon style). Also note, there is no elevator so you have to climb stairs to get to the rooms and the air conditioning in the room couldn’t be set below 19⁰ Celsius which made the room a little too warm for my taste.

The other thing I’d note is that the hotel is very near the church and on Sunday, the church bells start ringing early and often. (I was told during the week they don’t ring as frequently or as long). You could hear the bells from our room so it did make it difficult to sleep in on Sunday.

The breakfast buffet was very good (lots of fruit, meat, cheese, yogurt and cereal choices) as were the cappuccinos.

All up, this didn't quite make a 4 star hotel for me; I'd rate it 3 1/2 stars if I could.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Full disclosure...we stayed in the Villa Dobric (the hotel annex a few hundred meters away) and the Vestibul Place the other night. However, I would recommend both locations.

We had read the review on tripadvisor that made it seems like the Villa Dobric was for second class citizens compared to the Vestibul Palace and that worried us since the room rate was not cheap. However, as we stayed in both locations, I can assuredly say that the only real difference is that the Vestibul Palace has a better breakfast and a better location than the Villa. Everything else is pretty much exactly the same. Both locations had UNBELIEVABLE service. Everyone spoke perfect english and were extremely helpful. In fact, they even offered to get on line and buy our ferry tickets first thing in the morning to save us from the early morning chaos. The rooms are very clean and have a modern design. The only downside is that the standard rooms are tiny. This was fine for us as we didn't plan to spend much time in the room but it might be a turn-off for someone who needs a larger room. The location of both buildings was excellent. The Villa is right outside the palace (still feels like you are in the palace) and the Vestibul Palace is in the heart (I can't imagine a more central location) of the palace. I would recommend staying at either of the locations but recognize that you are paying for location, service and quality of the facilities. You are NOT paying for space.

Room Tip: Try to book the highest floor possible as the first floor of both buildings can get a little noisy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The highlight of any visit to Split is e visit to the old town center where the remains of Roman Emperor Diocletian dominates the landscape. So as one wanders through this architectural amalgam of Roman ruins, Byzantine remains, medieval, Venetian and other additions, what could be more perfect than a hotel right in the heart of it all? Hotel Vestibul (named for it's proximity to the vestibule of what was Diocletian's main reception area) is absolute perfection. It is a completely modern building constructed into the palace walls. Service, accommodations, food and location are all outstanding. This is a unique accommodation in a unique location,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed our first night in Croatia at this hotel. The hotels suggestion to book a pick up from the airport and hold the car rental for the next day, proved to be a very good advice. Their driver was polite and helpful, he commented on places and buildings during the drive and carried our luggage from the street to the hotel - a bit off the street. As this was a very warm day, the service was very welcome. The welcome at this small hotel was very friendly, very professional. The rooms were OK and the breakfast very nice with a good variety of food. When I booked, I wanted a triple room. As this was not possible, I got an offer for two dbl rooms for three persons at a special discount rate. Being in the peak season, they would not have had to do this, I thought it a very nice gesture. The place had a nice feel to it and we would certainly love to stay there again. It is very well placed inside the UNESCO site.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is a genuine boutique luxury hotel in an unbelievably beautiful and convenient location. The service is impeccable from the welcome to the breakfast to advice and help with just about anything. Breakfast outside in the courtyard is a particular highlight. This is a really first class establishment that feels about as close to a home from home as you can get. Fantastic. Congratulations!

Getting your bags to the hotel from the bus station can be a really pain. I am sure that if you call ahead and ask, the staff can help. I wish we had thought about this at the time...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vestibul Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vestibul Palace

Address: Iza Vestibula 4a, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Split
#4 Business Hotel in Split
#5 Romantic Hotel in Split
#6 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vestibul Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury boutique hotel in the heart of 1700 year old Diocletian's palace. 11 Unique rooms will give you a one of a kind experience of sleeping in the emperor's chambers! City Center, City Hotel, Luxury Hotel, Boutique Hotel, Luxury Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vestibul Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vestibul Palace Hotel
Vestibul Palace Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vestibul Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.