We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vestibul Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vestibul Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Vestibul Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iza Vestibula 4a, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This hotel is out of this world. Located inside the Diocletian's Palace it seamlessly blends modern elements with its ancient setting. We stayed in room #3 which was built against the outside wall of the old palace's vestibule. There's something quite cool about having a 1600 year wall in your room! Amenities were great, bedding fabulous, bed comfortable, and the staff as friendly as you can imagine (especially Boris). The restaurant's food is not the best in Split, but they did a great job recommending fabulous restaurants to us. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Dear Dan and Assana,
we are very happy and proud that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we contributed to a memorable holiday in Croatia!
Mariana Roso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    65
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
41
161
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
725 helpful votes 725 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel has so many things going forward but I think it's main jewel is the staff. Drago and the rest of the staff do everything possible to make your stay a special one. You can tell that they don't just leave you to "figure it out" as our stay was short and we wanted to make the best of our every moment in Split.

We arrived by car but needed to turn the car in on our arrival. Instead of just giving us directions, Drago went with us to the Avis office. Our stay was in the annex which required a bit of a walk with the luggage...they insisted on transporting all the luggage.They organized all our transports and supplied us with all we needed for our departures (both airport and ferry information/tickets which was tricky as we were off season). That's the kind of service they offer. All being friendly and warm.

Our suite in the annex was modern and lovely and well appointed. Free wifi was greatly appreciated. It situated within the city walls. Dining at the hotel, in the courtyard was fabulous in every way. It was a special meal with great service. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful.

We had been warned away from Split as being overrun and commercial but we found coming later in the season and being situated within the city walls to enhance the charm of the city. We unfortunately could not stay longer due to the abbreviated, off season ferry schedules.

All in all, the Hotel Vestibul was a worthy stop even though it was one of the more pricy accommodations on our tour through Croatia.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind words.We are extremely pleased that you had enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Vestibul Palace and Villa Dobric. Hopefully there will be opportunities in future for your longer stay. We would be honored to welcome you again.
Kindest regards
Mariana Roso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This extremely cute city hotel is the best option in the historical city of Split. You will be woken up by the church bells and maybe by some happy singing tourists at night, but that all blends in with the charm of sleeping in this ancient palace. And you can expect some more musical notes, from the talented a capella singers, during breakfast on the terrace.
Hotel service is extraordinary! You feel immediately at home and they will do anything to enhance your experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

unique location within the walls of the place...modern rooms inside ancient walls. Fun and helpful staff. If you have a car you must learn in advance what to do with it, there is no parking within the walls.

Room Tip: only 7 rooms, all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here for two nights - in the vestibule. We were greeted from outside by the smile and humor of Drago, who was running the front desk at the time. His very welcoming introduction set the tone for the rest of our stay. The hotel decor was luxurious, modern and classy. The staff's service (from check-in... to coffee in the morning... to a drink in the evening... to dinner reservations... to an inquiry on a boat charter... to assistance with our bags upon check-out) was top notch - five star service. "Apartment rooms" are available all over town for less money, but the experience we enjoyed at Hotel Vestibul Palace was unforgettable

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The staff really makes it for this hotel (apart from the clean & modern fittings and central location in the palace). They are happy, friendly and welcoming. We booked a room in the annex section which is a short walk from the reception and the staff helped us with the luggage. They did some introduction to the palace and told us where the good restaurants were on the way to our room. Breakfast was lovely & included locally made cheese & ham doughnuts. Would recommend this hotel anytime!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Following our journey from Zagreb, we stayed only one night in this hotel. However, it is part of the ancient palace of a former Roman Emperor and it has been absorbed into the fabric of the building in a splendid manner. It is quite new and we found the service and facilities of the hotel to be very good. Unfortunately, there is no elevator in the building, so it is necessary to walk up a couple of flights of stairs to the room which is a really good about four star plus standard. The staff here were excellent and always helpful with luggage and suggestions.
We would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: The larger rooms would be very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vestibul Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vestibul Palace

Address: Iza Vestibula 4a, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Split
#4 Business Hotel in Split
#5 Romantic Hotel in Split
#6 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vestibul Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury boutique hotel in the heart of 1700 year old Diocletian's palace. 11 Unique rooms will give you a one of a kind experience of sleeping in the emperor's chambers! City Center, City Hotel, Luxury Hotel, Boutique Hotel, Luxury Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vestibul Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vestibul Palace Hotel
Vestibul Palace Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vestibul Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.