We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it would be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellevue Split

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellevue Split to your Saves list
Hotel Bellevue Split
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bana Josipa Jelacica 2, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Split
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“it would be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Without air conditioning is no possible to stay in summer, because the rooms are at the highest floor. Service is good, but in the average. The location is central and is perfect to visit downtown, is ther a parking free for customers too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    33
    25
    11
See reviews for
8
33
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for just one night while travelling to Hvar. The hotel is very old and basic. We had no air conditioning, just a fan at the foot of the bed and it was impossible to sleep with the heat. The walls are very thin so we were also kept awake by the tv in the next room. I would only stay here if location was my top priority and I did not mind going a night without sleep!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights when we were visiting Split in October. It was interesting, very old and last century looking... the window looked down onto the cobblestone streets, and had a wrought iron casement to prevent you falling out.

The problem is that it was SO noisy it was hard to get to sleep, and due to the location close to the church, the church bells tolled throughout the night and early in the morning, so it was hard to get rest.

The breakfast buffet was ok, and it was very central to walking around the old part of split (the part that used to be a Roman fort). However it was overpriced for what was offered, and I would not stay there again.

Next time, I'd prefer to even take a taxi, just to have a clean, quiet, modern room. But it was certainly interesting.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Back to the 1970s in style. A grand old hotel with ultra friendly staff. If you want to say in the way that our parents did, surrounded by a feeling of being back in the 1970s (all comments intended positively in my view) then this is a great location. Right on the sea front at Split, minutes walk from the action but way from too much noise. In the UNESCO protected area so they havent been allowed to fit air conditioners - on hot nights you may have to leave the windows open but its away enough from the crowds that this is hardly a big deal. Bar and restaurant downstairs are straight out of the 1960s or 1970s and are wonderful. Staff are ultra friendly, the hotel is clean and is as far from a Novotel as you could possibly want. My children also loved it for all the same reasons.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

There are MANY negative reviews here about the Bellevue but after spending a couple of nights here with my partner, we found it to be so much better than the reviews would have us believe. The only bad thing we had say about it was that there was no airconditioning, which wasn't so bad for us with the fan and window open. The church bells at 6am didn't wake us up even with the window open, and the concert that went on almost all night in the port didn't really bother us either (might depend on your taste in music though!). The hotel was clean, comfortable, had a wonderful shower and the breakfast was decent. The staff were actually really friendly and very helpful - I became quite sick and needed a doctor quickly, so the man at the front desk helped us out in getting to hospital since it was a Sunday and normal clinics were shut. Very grateful for the assistance we got! Also the hotel has free internet (not sure about Wifi), and the location is fantastic. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Sorry my poor English.We spent a night at Bellevue on Aug 11th 2010.Temperature was about 35 degrees in day time. It was humid and hot even in night time, there were no air-conditioning.Most everybody in our groop couldn`t sleep well without air-conditioning and uncomfortable old tiny bed.We stayed in 3rd floor, most of rooms in 3rd floor has only a very tiny window high above the wall.Bathroom was old and nasty, it needs renovation.Some of tour member said had dirty towels and dirty sheets.The elevator was old and scarely.Breakfast was terrible and restaurant staff were unfriendly.Bathroom at 1st floor near by the restaurant was dirty and stinky.Location was perfect, only 5 minutes walk to Split sightseeing.If we go Split next, we won`t stay in Bellevue.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Very basic hotel and old but the rooms were clean and the shower was hot and had decent water pressure. No air con but if you opened the window and used the fan it was ok. However, I stayed there on a Friday night and it was incredibly LOUD. I got zero sleep. The noise didn't die down until after 3am. I even shut the window and that made no difference.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellevue Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Split

Address: Bana Josipa Jelacica 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellevue Split 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellevue Split, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.