We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What he said” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Globo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Globo to your Saves list
Hotel Globo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lovretska 18, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Split
So. Cal.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What he said”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Like the previous reviewer, we are staying here as part of a Rick Steves tour. The hotel is easily the nicest hotel we have stayed in. The rooms are large, the beds are very comfortable and the staff is very nice.

It's about a 10 minute walk to the "riva", the waterfront but it's no problem.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again the next time I come to Split.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanagugic, General Manager at Hotel Globo, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank You very much for sending us review.
Really happy to hear that You had good time in our hotel and nice sleep.
Hope to see you very soon with some other group arrival.
Have a great day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    61
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
43
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here as part of a Rick Steves' tour. It's a business style hotel that's about a 10 minute walk from the top of the Old Town and another five minutes to the waterfront. The walk to the old town looks a little seedy, with walls covered in grafitti, but it is a residential area and I had no worries at all as a single woman walking by myself at night. I was in room 304, looking out the front of the hotel. There's a small Tommy market (grocery store) just across the street and a small mall another 10 minute walk in the opposite direction of the Old Town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanagugic, General Manager at Hotel Globo, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear,
Thank You for being a guest of Hotel Globo.
I'm glad You felt safely in our neighborhood and City of Split.
Yes, You have absolute right about graffiti, there is a lot of them in our City of Split and sometimes I can find them as a piece of art but unfortunately most of the time they make me feel sad because it makes ugly picture of the City with a nonsense sentences on the walls.
Hope to meet You some other time in our Hotel and wish You all the best,
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Navigating Split, even with a Garmin, is not an easy thing. After searching for a Rick Steve's sobe recommendation for an hour and not being able to find it, we literally stumbled/drove up to this hotel. The woman at the front desk was so lovely, patient, kind and accommodating, and made us feel at home after a hectic hour-long drive throughout the city. The rooms are good sized, great bathroom, comfortable beds and roomy safe. The downsides were polyester bedspreads and a garden-level room (they do have an upper floor). The complimentary breakfast buffet was one of the best I've had in Europe.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanagugic, General Manager at Hotel Globo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear,
Thank You very much for writing a review at Trip Advisor.
We are very happy that Rick Steve's gave a recommendation for using our accommodation.
Sorry to hear that You had trouble finding us, hope for the next time of Your visit it will be much easier.
Thank You for being satisfied with our service and hope to have a chance to see You again in Hotel Globo and serve You in upper floors room.
Have a great day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Hotel Globo is ideally situated in the city of Split, a 10-15 minute walk and your in the Old Town, or at the shopping centre or at the base of Marjan. It is also very close to bus station and police station.
There are plenty of shops, cafe's and bakery's near, as well as pharmacy's and local shops. Right opposite is a Tommy supermarket. You definitely won't be without!
The hotel is quiet, my room was ideal, it had blackout curtains, and the bed was great! I would have preferred a bath, but the shower was excellent.
The staff are polite and very helpful.
Breakfast is good, plenty to choose from, cooked, cereals, continental, juices and hot drinks etc.
The rooms were clean, towels changed daily. It could have been vacuumed daily, twice I did it myself why the cleaners were on lunch!
I had a pleasant stay and would recommend the Hotel Globo. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanagugic, General Manager at Hotel Globo, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sir,,
Thank You very much for Your review. I'm very happy that You enjoyed in our hotel especially because You stayed for a long period with us and You could check all our services.
I appreciate Your note on room vacuuming, even I have to admit it is part of daily routine and like you made point on room cleanliness you experienced, it is also part of it.
We'll do our best to improve our service on bigger level and hopefully You'll come back soon, I'll make a note to offer You room with bath so You can enjoy even more.
Have a great day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and courteous, and the breakfast buffet was great quality, however, my room was dilapidated and in need of renovations. The room size and the bathroom was big, but the furniture, carpet, and bedding were old and threadbare. The location was in a safe area and it was very easy to walk to the harbour area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanagugic, General Manager at Hotel Globo, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear,

Thank you for your review, and we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with a service in our hotel.
Probably you were staying in the room on one of the floors that isn't renovated yet, but we have that in plan for this winter, so we hope that you will come again to our hotel and stay in newly renovated rooms.

Best regards,

Hotel Globo Split
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Globo Split for two nights as part of a Rick Steves tour. While it claims to be a 4 star hotel, it is more of a 3 star, as expected for the tour. The surrounding area is a business area that is currently experiencing some tough economic times. There are a lot of vacancies in the surrounding buildings, so it is a bit of a quiet "desert." Proved not to be scary, though. The old town and the harbor are about a 15 minute walk, so the sights and the action is close.

A downside was the reception staff that smoked incessantly (seems normal for Croatia, unfortunately), so the lobby was not a very pleasant place to spend any more time in than necessary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanagugic, General Manager at Hotel Globo, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are so sorry for this inconvenience and on this occasion we would like to apologize.
Also we appreciate that you pointed out this problem so that we can properly take care of that issue.
Smoking is not allowed in the hotel and the employee who was smoking at the reception will be adequately sanctioned.
Please accept our apologize.

Best regards,

Hotel Globo Split
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

stayed one night at the end of may - had worried it was too far from port and sea front but was easily walkable. High standard and much better value than hotels in the bcentre of spli. Staff helpful

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Globo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globo

Address: Lovretska 18, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globo 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Globo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globo Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Globo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.