We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there, if your a foodie.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Consul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Consul to your Saves list
Hotel Consul
Trscanska 34, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Split
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go there, if your a foodie.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are ok, 3 star with a good location. The restaurant is awesome! Basic Croation fare at great prices! Think veal, steak, seafood, and the prices are super reasonable. Best of all the staff are super!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here June 20 2013 for 1 night and with 37 degree heat, I was a bit disappointed that the air conditioner worked intermittently the while night. The in room temperature ranged from 29 to 22 . While the low end was manageable, 29 was a bit much. At breakfast the next day I overheard a few others comment on having had the same experience. I advised them at checkout and they apologized and said they would take a look at it.

The location is good, only a 15 minute walk to the waterfront area. Ivanka was very helpful when I arrived and recommended I dining at Konoda Varos and I was not disappointed. Had a fabulous green pasta with seafood, 1 glass of wine (very large glass) and a fabulous salad to start (greens, red and green cabbage, vegetables drizzled in light dressing) all for $16 US. I was very impressed and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in Sept 2012 for 3 nights. Our room was large with a large plasma TV and bathroom but that is where the good stuff ends. The moulding for the ceiling was on the floor as they were remodeling the room, there were no bedside tables nor bedside lighting, the decor was ugly, the a/c barely worked and the breakfast was adequate, nothing special. We requested hangars, bedside tables, a converter plug. None of those things materialized. The staff was friendly but they need better training in customer service. And yes, it is a 15 min walk to the main part of town from the hotel but it is on a quiet street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mali Losinj, Croatia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

In the center. Close to everything. Good price. Huge plasma TV in room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

it was marvellous. I simply must agree wiyh this. You will surely like it. The ladscape is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

Small hotel, with friendly & helpful staff. My room was small but adequate. Very clean. A/C worked. It's about 15-20 minute walk up from the harbor, Diocletian's palace, old town, etc. On a quiet, mostly residential street. The breakfast is above average.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Somewhat out-of-the-way location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

Hotel Consul is a small hotel with an excellent family suite at a good price. The staff are very friendly. It is close enough to the old town for easy access (even my 4 year old managed to go in and out of town several times in a day), if you do need to get a cab home, then it is a very reasonable price.

We were pleasantly surprised by the extensive menu and the quality of the food was excellent, well worth spending the evening at the hotel.

  • Liked — Good value, great food
  • Disliked — Access by car was a little restricted, but luckily it is a quiet road
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Consul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Consul

Address: Trscanska 34, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Consul(***) is a small, family hotel located near the city center. In the hotel, our polite and professional staff, ready to fulfill and surpass all your needs and expectations look forward to welcoming you. The atmosphere of the restaurant can be conjured up in your own home, office or any other place of your choice. Besides the diversity and the quality of our richly experienced offer, we are at your disposal when organising, creating and offering this sort of occasion. See you :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Consul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Consul Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Consul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.