We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Peristil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Peristil to your Saves list
Hotel Peristil
Poljana kraljise Jelene 5, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Split
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Located within Diocletian's Palace, this hotel put us in the heart of Split. Just blocks from the Peristil, this hotel is tucked into a corner, giving guests some distance from the main action while providing easy access. Though our room wasn't large, we found it very comfortable. The windows provide terrific soundproofing, and the bed made it easy to get a good night's sleep. This was the only Croatian hotel to have a true double bed; all the others were twin beds (and most often made as separate beds).

The hotel staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly. In addition to carrying our luggage to our third floor room (two very heavy bags), they provided information on tours, restaurants (helping us make reservations), laundry service, and ferries. They also printed a document for us.

Breakfast, instead of the buffet so commonly offered, was ordered from a modest menu. While the number of offerings was small, the quality was excellent: eggs and omelettes made to order, fresh bread, yogurt, fruit and cereal. Capuccino to order. And breakfast was available until noon (or, as our check-in person told us: until you wake up)!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    73
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
158
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangamata, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Small hotel with character and genuine heart. We were made to feel most welcome and treated like VIPs but suspect that's how all the guests are treated! Took care of our bags (very early arrival) and again after check out (very late departure). Most impressed to find a pair of trousers we left in the room by accident had been rescued and put with our bags ready for pick up. Great breakfast and nice evening meal too. Room 304 nice with extra sitting area and palace wall incorporated. Great location close to everything. No lift but porter took care of bags so its not a problem.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Arriving in Split late in the day without a reservation, Tino offered us a room for one night. Wanting two, since the next was a big anniversary, he found us a room in their secondary apartment location for the second night at the same price, including breakfast and free offsite parking. The staff helped us move locations, and in the form of true service on the morning of our departure, loaded the car with our luggage and drove it the car ferry line while we had breakfast. When we finally went off to buy the ferry tickets, our little red rental car was 3rd in line. Highly recommended for the location, rooms and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We were so pleased to stay at Hotel Peristil during a recent visit to Split. The hotel is so central and within easy walking distance to all the key attractions, being located within the walls of the old city. Short walk also from the port, train and bus station. We had a beautifully furnished and very comfortable room on the second floor. Breakfasts were very tasty with options provided, but the omelettes are a definite winner. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

To begin with the Peristil is in a prime location, just inside the walls of Diocleitian's Palace through the Silver Gate. It's a fine place from which to explore the city and a convenient retreat when a little rest is needed.

My room was clean, comfortable and nicely appointed, with AC which was needed in the evenings.

The food from the dining room was delicious -- wonderful seafood, literally caught that day.

But what made the experience special was the genuine hospitality of the staff. They quickly learned my name and asked about my day and needs. I enjoyed talking with them and felt very much at home. They also provided transportation from the hotel to the airport at a reasonable cost.

Split is a bustling tourist town well worth a visit -- if you want to see the city but not feel like one of a host of visitors, I highly recommend a stay at the Peristil

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

an easy walk from the airport taxi just inside the eastern (silver gate) palace entrance. a small, cozy hotel... perfect location and service. to stay within the walls of an ancient Roman Empire palace... OMG!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokitika
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Amazing hosts in a beautiful city. Hotel is just inside the walls of the old city. Highly recommend this hotel for service and location if you want to check out the old city and the markets.Absolutely amazing place

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Peristil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peristil

Address: Poljana kraljise Jelene 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Split
#5 Business Hotel in Split
#5 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Peristil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peristil Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Peristil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.