We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel President to your Saves list
Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Starceviceva 1, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Split
Lisbon
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just stayed here for one night. The hotel is located in the center of Split, a walkable distance to many points of interest. The rooms are confortable and the staff friendly. The restaurant is also good. It was a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    37
    56
    29
    14
See reviews for
15
65
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I did a travel agent inspection of this property. 15 agents from all over the U.S. We all agreed this is the place to stay in Split. It's within walking distance (around the block) from the Diocletian Place. It has 61 double rooms & 5 suites. Free Wifi, Austrian decor with lovely lace curtains. The bathrooms are big with 2 sinks, jet jacuzzi tub, biget. Rooms have a mini bar, safe, parking is 100 kunas. The suites have waterbeds and are beautiful. No pool or gym.
The location is wonderful. It's old world elegance, yet very airy with modern ammenties. Not sure why this has such a low rating with TA. In fact, I'm shocked!
THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I do not know how anyone can complain about this great hotel. Just got back yesterday, I didn't want to leave. Friendly staff, great service, amazing rooms and outstanding location-just few steps from Diocletian palace. My friends all had fantastic rooms, but I had what I thought was a suite.

Room Tip: All friend of mine had deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. The hotel is downtown in Split, with good adjacent parking. We were greeted from our car on the street by the receptionist, who carried our bags into the lobby. Good service.

Being low season, they must have had many empty room as I was given a huge room which I believe was the honeymoon suite. Just for me.

It was an odd room. It was huge. It had an exercise bike. It had sofas. It had a jacuzzi - in the bedroom. Must be for newly weds. There was a tiny separate room with a toilet and another sink, but the only shower was in the jacuzzi, in the bedroom. It was quite a slippery up and down into the "shower". One glass panel was missing so the beautiful wood floor got wet as I showered - in the bedroom. The drain was blocked too.

The mini bar only had one bottle of wine in it. And egg holders. The room had suspended ceiling tiles and strip lighting like any modern office. Not too cosy. The styling was old.

The hotel wifi was almost non existent throughout the hotel but on the 3rd floor I managed to find an external fast, open connection. A colleague on the 2nd floor only found wifi by sitting next to reception.

Breakfast was not self service, being low season. We were brought bread, yoghurt, ham, cheese etc at our table. It sort of worked.

Friendly staff, good location, but somehow the hotel just missed the mark as a four star hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We arrived from the UK & were promptly met at the airport by taxi and taken to the hotel. At reception the receptionist said you are booked in for five nights. Good we thought, but then she said the hotel is full we have done you a favour & got you into a local hotel. We viewed the local hotel it was new and clean but with no dining room or any other facilities it was basic and when you have just been told by the receptionist that you have two choices sleep on the street or go to the other hotel. The booking had been made months before so we were shocked. We said we would want compensation and would report to our tour rep.
Everything changed a room suddenly by magic became available. It was not wonderful but better than the street. The television could only get one English language programme beamed in from Russia and we could not get the fancy shower to work and the mini bar was empty. Breakfast was O.K. but the hotel was primarily occupied by coachloads of Americans who arrived late afternoon and left early morning.
Location is excellent and for that alone it was probably worth staying there though 5 nights was too long.
Our tour organiser organised a swift refund from the hotel who had written to apologise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am sorry to share that my experience with this hotel was unfortunately not positive, in spite of the kind and proactive waiters and personnel that tried to solve the organisational problems we faced - even if beyond their tasks. Thanks to them all.
The reason is that the hotel seems mostly specialised in organised trips for large groups of vacationers, while we had to work for some conferences organised in the hotel, i.e. we had to spend long time queuing for a coffee at breakfast and waiting for food refurbishing, in addition to having no privacy or silence, for having no reserved spaces.
Compared to the price paid, the hotel is not really the best choice for individual business trip:e.g. rooms are quite outdated, not really clean, noise from the car traffic, poor wi-fi connection, elevator not working (maybe temporarily?) and no room service (you cannot even phone up the front desk for a coffee - there is no number in the room).

Room Tip: Problems with Wifi on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wasn't expecting much after reading some reviews and our prior hotel stay in Montenegro, but this hotel is actually quite nice. Was here 2 nights with a group. The rooms are very clean, a very nice size and nicely appointed, including a good sized bathroom and Jacuzzi shower.

The location can't be beat - it's walking distance to the downtown waterfront/Diocletian's Palace area.

Great wifi reception in the rooms was also an unexpected addition to our stay here.

Breakfast was OK - nothing special and offerings a little meager as compared to somewhere like Germany.

No complaints and would be happy to recommend for stay in Split.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Starceviceva 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Split
#19 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.