We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely disappointing experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel President to your Saves list
Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Starceviceva 1, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Split
Adelaide, South Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were part of a small group tour so didn’t have a realistic option to check out and find alternative accommodation. As travellers for 30 years on all continents & in hundreds of hotels we rate our room amongst the worst 10% of hotel rooms we have experienced. In so saying we suspect that we got the short straw as the hotel was full [large tour groups had arrived earlier] and the room we were assigned in the front section of the hotel may have been allocated as a last resort. We do know that at least three other rooms were judged unacceptable by various travellers whom we observed visit the reception desk in rapid succession to try for better accommodation. Staff remained positive under pressure but were unable to meet these demands.
Our room: of the four globes in the ceiling light only one worked. Of the three in the bathroom again only one worked. The shower screen needed to be jammed in place as the seals were stuffed and the floor flooded. We made temporary ‘repairs’, undone each morning by the room attendant! The bed & one bedside table just fitted between the two walls, giving only leg-width room between one wall and the bed. Other furniture was in poor condition. Some blinds were broken and sections dangled down. The room safe [at least there was one] didn’t work. After we investigated we found it was missing its batteries. An approach to the front desk resulted in a “Sorry, we don’t have batteries” response. But we were trusted with the master key which we then had to carry around for three days - a minor point but annoying all the same.
And outside the room? Well, some staircases are missing sections of handrail; more blinds are broken and hanging in disrepair. The breakfast room is quite smart and attractive, located in a rear section of the hotel. But the meal was poor: e.g. “I’ll have to go to the basement to get tea bags for you.”; ‘fruit’ comprised a small, almost empty bowl of discoloured sliced apple with a sign saying something like: Guests are forbidden to remove fruit from the dining room [or words to that effect]. The water for hot drinks was tepid and one had to request hot water for tea etc.; and hot foods were just warm or cold, that is if the platters hadn’t been left empty. Get the drift?
The section of the hotel we stayed in requires extensive upgrading. We have subsequently checked the hotel’s web site. The photos of the rooms provide a very positive image, bright, clean, well furnished. Although the floor plan of one of the categories resembles our room, beware, none of the carefully crafted, selective, professional photos, came close to identifying the shortcomings we experienced. This hotel is definitely not recommended.

Room Tip: Colleagues reported reasonable rooms at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    37
    56
    29
    14
See reviews for
15
65
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maribor, Slovenia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is suitable especialy for those who are looking for good strating point of exploring Split downtown and visiting some famous heritage locations like Dioklecijanova palača. The famous Splitska riva is five minutes walk from the hotel. When I visit places I always check local food markets - the biggest in Split is 3 minutes away from the hotel. Rooms are relatively small but very nice and clean. Beds are IMHO too soft so the sleeping quality was not the best. I didn't eat at the restorant but breakfast should be more rich for 4-stars hotel. If I'm totaly honest the rating is more like 3/4 but because of the city, heritage and atmosphere I'll rate it with 4.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent two nights in in this supposedly 4 Star hotel which was a huge disappointment. The rooms were cramped (we were part of a small group) although clean, amenities almost non-existent, staff generally surly, and the breakfast dreadful (hot water for tea was so tepid that my tea bag wouldn't bleed color!). When we politely asked the staff for hot water, we were told it had been put out hot at 7 (it was only 7:30 when wew asked)! It reminded me of 1970 Soviet Union--gruff and surly staff, or post-wall Eastern Europe. So if you harken for those days, be our guest--but don't be fooled if you want a lovely experience. You won't get it here.

Room Tip: Based on other reviews, ask for a room with seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Hotel President is within a 5 minute walk to the Riva and a 10 minute walk to Diocletian's Palace. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly; and the hotel has a modern feel in that there have been a lot of upgrades in the lobby, lifts, corridors & rooms. The rooms, though, are incredibly small - even by European standards. We had just finished 8 day sail along the IDalmatian coast and our standard room was no larger than our cabin on the sail boat. And, there was a weird smell in the bathroom, along with some kind of leak behind the toilette. When we mentioned this to the staff they said they would look into it. Since we checked out after one night I don't know what happened. Finally, some friends of ours had a room with only one half of a shower door in their bathroom. When they brought that to the staff's attention they were told nothing could be done until the following day, and there were no other rooms to which they could transfer. All in all, if space is an issue I recommend trying to find other accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had two nights here as part of our Croatia and Slovenia tour. This was our favourite hotel as we were given a lovely big room with extra seating, nice furnishings, a large bed complete with bedposts and free WiFi. We found the reception staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast was OK too. We didn't have other meals at this hotel so we can't comment on the impressions gained by other reviewers. Some other members of our tour group weren't as impressed with their room as we were so we may have just been lucky on this occasion. The hotel is a pleasant walk down to the water and along the promenade with plenty of shops along the way.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location and very clean,but getting rather tired and needs a refit,good size rooms but mattress very soft and you fall to the middle.light bulbs missing in Bathroom,bedside lamp,and above dressing mirror,managed to get bulbs changed in bathroom but gave up after 4 attempts to get others changed.Asked for an other glass in bathroom and ended up with a wine glass.Breakfast very disappointing,restaurant looked like it was set up for a wedding,large round banquette tables no tables for 2 so ended up the 2 of us sitting at a 12 seater table.coffee and hot water urn were not plugged in resulting in luke warm coffee and tea bread stale,and whole area lacked atmosphere

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Good location,central to city.Bedroom adequate bed comfortable bathroom good size air con good however safe would not work shower nozzle broken and less than satisfactory toiletries,also other items in disrepair such as window blinds.We were in a small tour group with set meals which left a lot to be desired.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Starceviceva 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Split
#19 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.