We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mountains and sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marjan

Marjan
West of Split, Split, Croatia
Improve this listing
Visit Marjan like an insider
Top Rated
$55*
and up
Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or...
Ranked #5 of 111 things to do in Split
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Crawley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“mountains and sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

amazing views of the mountains, the Diocletian palace and the sea..we went up on the tuk-tuk..it was a nice pleasant ride to the top..u can wander around for some time and return to the old city in the tuk tuk..

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    126
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful-my favorite in Split.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It was a bright sunny day to over look the city in Marjan.
We did research before we went there, apparently there is nothing much to see if you go to the top so we didn't go all the way.
We stayed where the cafe was and sat on one of the benches and enjoyed the beautiful view.

My Croatian friend told me there was a serial murder case in Marjan, but the suspect was caught last month. Still, don't go at night unless you're with a group of people.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omis, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“green oase like part of city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Marjan is beautifull mount full of mediteranian and adriatic flora. It like big park for many activies. So close the city but still with a pit of wildness.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
383 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Really nice and relaxing place to be! From the top you get to see the skyline of beautiful Split city!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect place to have a quiet moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Split is a vibrant city and there is lots to see and do around. But if you have some extra time or want to recharge your battery, Marjan park is the perfect place to go. We did two hikes, one is from the old town and follow the sign to Marjan park. After climbing up many steps in a residential neighborhood, we reached the best viewing point of Split old town. Then continued on to the top of Marjan hill where we were rewarded with 360 degree view and shared it with primarily the local walkers, cyclists and joggers. We also took another walk from the end of the peninsula to the ancient hermitage that was built in the limestone rocks and watched many rock climbers trying out their skills. The park is protected for recreational use only so most part, there are no cars. Great place to walk and bicycle and to be away from most of the tourists.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marjan also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Hvar Island, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Marjan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marjan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.