We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal, but way too crowded in the summer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brela Beach

Brela Beach
Brela, Split, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 111 things to do in Split
Attraction details
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Phenomenal, but way too crowded in the summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The beauty of the nature at the brela beach is incredible. But I would suggest visiting it in june or september, so you can take it all in. Definitely too crowded in the peak months

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    23
    10
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratov, Saratov, Russia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“well worth its reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Come earlier, we arrived at about 2pm - and we could hardly find a parking space. the beach is very nice, with beautiful pines

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omsk, Russia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“If you can't have the best ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The sea is crystal clear, but after visiting many Mediterranian resorts (in Greece, Italy, Turkey, Spain, Tunis) I was extremely disappoined with beaches in Croatia (Split and Makarska in particular) - narrow stretches of pebble / stone and what is even more disappointing - more people there than space (as a result, people use every horizontal surface to sunbathe - benches, paths, roadsides). But Brela beach is better - less crowded, less expensive than Makarska beach (around $ 5 or 25 kuna for a sunbed or umbrella, in comparison to 40 kuna in Makarska), free showers, more relaxing atmosphere.
I wonder why it's listed among Split "things to do", it's 50 km from Split and just 13 km from Makarska and in fact it's a part of Makarska Riviera!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon
Top Contributor
491 reviews 491 reviews
244 attraction reviews
Reviews in 220 cities Reviews in 220 cities
489 helpful votes 489 helpful votes
“The sea is wonderful here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Indeed, the sea everywhere in Croatia is wonderful. OK, may be I am biased but this is the seventh trip to the country, over ten years, and water quality does always seem to be good. I am not sure what a previous reviewer meant about "fuzz" around the Brela beaches; yes, there are some kitsch souvenir stalls but that is minor. On the last evening of August, visitor numbers seemed to have declined and we look forward to a quieter early September.

The only downside is that some of the beaches are made up of larger pebbles and, therefore, harder to get into the sea.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nara
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not the romantic bay I had pictured”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The beaches in Brela are nice, but not as spectacular as nearby Hvar (and I suspect other islands in Dalmatia). We were kind of disappointed by all the fuzz around this beach. In August it was also overcrowded and noisy. The water was undoubtedly clean, no complaints about that. We stayed in the camping, which was a but out of town, because in Brela there were millions of tourists roaming around in the evening, kind of a lunapark felling, with games for kids, bright lights, shops. We could not even drive through. I did not find it particularly romantic, although it may be practical for families as the beaches are easy to access and equipped.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brela Beach also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Brela Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brela Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.