We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can't have the best ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brela Beach

Brela Beach
Brela, Split, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 52 attractions in Split
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Omsk, Russia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“If you can't have the best ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The sea is crystal clear, but after visiting many Mediterranian resorts (in Greece, Italy, Turkey, Spain, Tunis) I was extremely disappoined with beaches in Croatia (Split and Makarska in particular) - narrow stretches of pebble / stone and what is even more disappointing - more people there than space (as a result, people use every horizontal surface to sunbathe - benches, paths, roadsides). But Brela beach is better - less crowded, less expensive than Makarska beach (around $ 5 or 25 kuna for a sunbed or umbrella, in comparison to 40 kuna in Makarska), free showers, more relaxing atmosphere.
I wonder why it's listed among Split "things to do", it's 50 km from Split and just 13 km from Makarska and in fact it's a part of Makarska Riviera!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Devon
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
212 attraction reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
435 helpful votes 435 helpful votes
“The sea is wonderful here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Indeed, the sea everywhere in Croatia is wonderful. OK, may be I am biased but this is the seventh trip to the country, over ten years, and water quality does always seem to be good. I am not sure what a previous reviewer meant about "fuzz" around the Brela beaches; yes, there are some kitsch souvenir stalls but that is minor. On the last evening of August, visitor numbers seemed to have declined and we look forward to a quieter early September.

The only downside is that some of the beaches are made up of larger pebbles and, therefore, harder to get into the sea.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nara
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not the romantic bay I had pictured”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The beaches in Brela are nice, but not as spectacular as nearby Hvar (and I suspect other islands in Dalmatia). We were kind of disappointed by all the fuzz around this beach. In August it was also overcrowded and noisy. The water was undoubtedly clean, no complaints about that. We stayed in the camping, which was a but out of town, because in Brela there were millions of tourists roaming around in the evening, kind of a lunapark felling, with games for kids, bright lights, shops. We could not even drive through. I did not find it particularly romantic, although it may be practical for families as the beaches are easy to access and equipped.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“incredible water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

One of the things I noticed about the beaches around Split was how clean the water is. Brela was no different. Although not the really big areas you might think of as a beach, the areas here are quite nice. The water was refreshing and cleaner that I have ever seen anywhere. It is nice to know that the water quality is so good it is drinkable .....

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Brela beaches are amazing. Nice clear water, many things to do and friendly people all around.
We stayed outside the Brela, almost in Split. But we found brela most attractive place during our Croatia visit.
Just one advice for people visiting Brela by car:
Be careful, Brela is crowded and its not easy to park car near sea.
And even if you find the place, be sure not to leave your car beside the road where the chain is.
This places is reserved for locals or their guests. We left our car beside the road, because chain there was left on the road unlocked. But when we arrived, the chain was locked and our car too. Next day, we park our car little far from the beach, because there was no chains and no problems with irritated locals.:-)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brela Beach also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Brela Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brela Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brela Beach to your Saves list