We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crystal Clear Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brac Island (Otok Brac)

Brac Island (Otok Brac)
off the coast of Split, Split, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 53 Attractions in Split
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crystal Clear Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

From Split to Bol $12CAD Ferry ride (45 min ) Jadrolinija $10CAD Bus ride (45min)* don't take a cab it cost $10 per person. We liked this beach because it was clean with great waves and can get very deep. No need for swimming shoes even though it's not sandy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    78
    19
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“crystal clear water, pine trees coming down to the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

During our 3day stay at the Dalmation coast, we enjoyed a daily excursion to the island of Brac.
Wonderfull beaches!! We swam in a perfect small beach near Splitska; crystal clear water, pine trees coming down to the coast. We also visited (and swam in) the famous Zlatny Rat; it is a unique place, no doubt, thus attracting millions of tourists (like us) so it is over-overcrowded..... We made a short stop in the village of Skrip - nice stone houses and an old church. The view of the nearby islands from the the top of the mountain was breathtaking. We also liked the port-town Supetar.
The ferry-tickets from Split are rather expensive (especially for the car), but it's worth, if you can afford it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My Grandmother's family came from this island so I decided to visit it and explore. I would have liked to explore some of the other villages but I spent most of my time exploring Postira where my family is from. The island itself is beautiful and scenic.

I visited in December and it was pretty warm. I had to take my jacket off while there.

Postira is gorgeous. Very mediterranian. Old stone buildings make it a very picturesque place to visit. There are 3rd century church ruins and 5th century monastery ruins which are very cool to see! The locals are friendly. In the off season there aren't any restaurants open so don't expect to eat there unless you know someone who lives there or you buy something from the market/shop.

It might be different in the bigger villages like Supetar or Bol. I'm sure they have restaurants open all year round. I have many plans to visit and explore the entire island and I can't wait for my next visit!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Liked athmosfare. Sea water was clear to swim and people ok. In some days couple showers but generally quite warm. Also cheaper than in Greece. Mostly people from continentall around. Good with children and not so much for young adults to party. Probably in ten years this place will be ruineid with overselling door mens and shops but luckily not today yet and one can be relaxed on your own.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go to Supetar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The town of Supetar is the port of landing for the ferry from Split to Brac.it is a beautiful island with wonderful views and lovely stone homes. there is plenty to do ranging from beaches to great restaurants, historic sites and some shopping. look for traditional coral jewelry or filigree silver designs. Plan to spend a few days and relax!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brac Island (Otok Brac) also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Brac Island (Otok Brac)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brac Island (Otok Brac), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.