We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably best in the low season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brac Island (Otok Brac)

Brac Island (Otok Brac)
off the coast of Split, Split, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 53 Attractions in Split
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming
Attraction details
Gjovik, Norway
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Probably best in the low season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed a total of five nights in Bol, and included a visit to Supetar.
Brac island is a very picturesque island with a quiet way of life. From what I understand, its neighbor Hvar is more busy, as it is a party destination. The reason behind choosing to have our vacation on Brac was because were intrigued by the idea of staying in a small village without a whole lot of attractions that are "obligatory" to see and do. Bol proved to be a quiet town, especially in the daytime when the tourists are on the beach. Even in the evenings, Bol is rather quiet compared to other popular destinations in the southeastern/southwestern Europe, and never once did our stress level increase. However, we visited in what's considered the low, or medium season. You can not expect Bol to be quiet when the high season kicks in, and the amount of day tourists increase. Our host said that numerous boats travel to Bol, so that the tourists can visit Zlatni Rat, and that this makes Bol a rather busy, and stressing town even in the daytime.
Would I recommend Bol? Definitely, if you travel in the low season, that is. Not only will the town have a quiet vibe, but the beaches surrounding Zlatni Rat will be almost empty. Now that's relaxing.

As for Supetar, we just went here so that we could do something else for a change. From what I gather, it's slightly larger than Bol, more touristy, but doesn't necesarilly offer more in terms of activities (apart from water sports). Not really worth it as a day trip, in my opinion, although the bus ride to and from is rather nice.

Go and visit Brac before it's destroyed by mass tourism.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    78
    19
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great place to chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We can to Bol on the island if brac in July. The weather is great being in the high 20's with a cool wind which means you're never too hot. There are many places to eat sea food and grilled lamb. Typically with Croatia there are no sand beaches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Take the Fish picnic boat!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Took the fish pinic boat for a nice 1 hour ride then jumped off boat for a swim. They provide floats if you want one. Then off to another island for a delicious lunch of fish or chicken and time to swim or sunbathe. Bring drinks as none are provided while on the boat. Owner is wonderful, speaks English very well and the price us right

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Splendid scenery and beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went to brac island from split ferry pier , the ferry took and hour and was cheaply priced. The ferry lands at supertar and if you want to visit the glorious golden horn beach it's is in the town of Bol on the opposite side of the island , you have two choices to get there taxi or bus the taxi is going to cost 400 kuna each way and the bus 40 kuna p/p !

The route to Bol is one of the most special scenery trips we have enjoyed the views are spectacular and the golden horn beach superb, it will cost 150 kuna for two sun loungers under a brolly. The sea is a gorgeous aqua colour which you just have to swim in ! On the beach is a cocktail bar where we enjoyed the best piña colada ever !

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“First island to visit in Croatia.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was the first island in Croatia on our tour. It was beautiful and just wonderful to be on an island that is relatively unspoiled but still had modern amenities. This island also had some great places to eat!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brac Island (Otok Brac) also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Brac Island (Otok Brac)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brac Island (Otok Brac), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.