We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Split

Old Split
Ulica Knezova Nelipica 1A, Split, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 52 attractions in Split
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: To experience and enjoy Split entirely, it wouldn't be absolute and perfect without sailing to the neighboring islands and experiencing its unique natural beauties. We offer you an unforgettable day at our new mega catamaran Summer Blues, and above all, we have prepared enough food and cold drinks so your soul and our blues can be tied forever.Summer Blues excursion includes: attractive catamaran ride to the neighboring islands of Brac and Solta, swimming in the isolated bays and lagoons with clear blue sea, music entertainment together with the animation on board, good food and drinks will complete this excursion into unforgettable experience and memory of Croatia.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
166 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Lovely town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Not a very complete or working old town, but fabulous none the less. I loved the market and ruin areas set up as café/bars. The vibrancy of the town at night was fabulous. We were entertained by a talent competition in one square and solo artist in another.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    123
    18
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“the reviews are true: this place is beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I will not repeat what others have said before me, but will only emphasize their essential points: this place is beautiful and, without a doubt, worth visiting. Take a few days to ramble through the old city. Get lost and find great bars and shops and places to eat. Take in the night life, which is wild in the summer months. And go on the tours to learn the history. This place is lovely and will appeal to people of all ages.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Everything. Great place to visit, the market is very vibrant and has fantastic wares, good shopping and the ice creams here are to die for. Very modern yet in keeping sea front where you can relax and soak up the sun. Party nights at the retro bats that turn into open air clubs are amazing and go on until the wee small hours. We only had to walk 50 yards to get back on the boat for a few hours of sleep.
Would love to return and spend longer here....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great for history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a day to see Split which is not enough but we were on a cruise and had to be back on board in late afternoon. We walked all around the ancient city and were amazed at the history here. We did not have enough time to tour so we just looked around, and found a large market with food, fruits and veggies, as well as people selling clothing, shoes, art, old items, etc. we wondered through here trying different foods and buying local art which is a favorite thing for us. Well worth the visit, and I think a couple of days exploring the city would probable cover most of the attractions, but to interact with the locals in the market was the best part.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Another beautiful old town on the Adriatic coast. Easy to walk around and definitely worth a look if you're in Split.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Split also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Old Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Split, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Split to your Saves list