We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel with excellent reception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Slavija

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Slavija to your Saves list
Hotel Slavija
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Split
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“good hotel with excellent reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel and were very pleased with it overall. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is well located and the reception staff were extremely helpful in helping us secure out tickets for the boat to Hvar. They sent someone to get our tickets at 7am for the days ferry without any extra charge. Over and above helpful service in my opinion.

It was a bit noisy at night but not enough to prevent a good nights sleep. Very impressed with this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: get a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    61
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
43
75
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were on a small group tour and did not know ahead of time which hotel we would stay at in Split. At the same time, we knew that some hotels here are located within Diocletian’s Palace, a 4th-century UNESCO-protected cultural monument. Imagine our surprise and delight when our guide led us to Hotel Slavija, a modern establishment tucked right into the walls of this 1700-year-old Roman ruin! The location is outstanding, being right in the centre of Split’s most famous landmark, near the Roman Mausoleum and Temple of Jupiter. Outside the Palace walls, you are just a few metres from the Riva, Split’s attractive waterfront promenade.

Both our rooms were a very generous size, each with beds for three. While the fixtures, bedding and decor are ultra-modern, the walls in some rooms have been finished to reveal the (seemingly?) original stones and bricks. Super-fast wifi is included in the rooms and was a treat after several days of slow connections at other venues. Bathrooms are a good size and well stocked with the usual amenities including a better-than-average blow dryer. Breakfast is served in a relatively small room just beyond the reception desk. It is primarily a continental breakfast, with fewer hot foods than we’ve seen at other venues in Croatia. We hope to return to Split and will definitely stay again at Hotel Slavija.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bra, Italy
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Have been travelling w my husband for a past few weeks from north to south of Croatia. We've booked a room online in Slavija, Split, and what a fantastic surprise! We've been in the middle of everything, enjoyed the true Mediterranean-city atmosphere. It tends to get a bit loud at night 'cause all the most popular bars in the Diocletian's palace are nearby, but the windows and the AC made it all go away when we finally got back to our room to get some sleep.

The staff at the reception are the most kind people I've met since we got here, very helpful and honestly willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They even helped us with the ferry itineraries, weather forecast, suggestions on what to visit. One of the receptionists offered to arrange buying the tickets for us the next morning to avoid waiting in a line, so we were able to stay in bed longer in the morning. Rooms and the common areas are very clean, I think we got our money's worth here. Would definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland
1 review
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I received endless amounts of help from the staff at the front desk, from getting around and enjoying to making sure the remainder of our trip outside of Split went smoothly. Location was also right in the middle of the action (not wild, but lively). Rooms were very nice and clean. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankee in Cambridgeshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel right in the middle of the Palace. Converted from a newer palace built in the guest quarters area, this building has been totally refurbed from the inside out for a great spot. We stayed in a double on the third floor that had a second bed room and a full terrace for enjoying the evening air! What a delightful surprise in this hotel right in the middle of everything. The staff were super helpful and everything was very good. Well worth the extra costs. Parking is about 10 minutes walk away at the train station which is quite reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Is this a "pop up" hotel? It is in a great location and I really loved the modern, minimalist interior but it seemed sort of temporary. Anyway, we had a terrace room, which was quite large with a great, big bed and adequate but very clean white bathroom. The staff were very friendly - apparently they are trained to be culturally and environmentally sensitive. They organised a tour guide for us at what seemed to be a very reasonable price and a lift to the airport (were we ripped off by this? So what, a very nice driver.) They carried breakfast up to our room so that we could eat on the terrace which was lovely. I went down to the breakfast room, which was a little dingy, and there wasn't a great choice of food available. However, the location right in the old city is unsurpassable and you can always go out to eat. There was air conditioning in our room. Fortunately, we didn't need blankets as I noticed that the duvets in the cupboard didn't seem to have covers. We were on the 3rd floor, our cases were small so this was not a problem for us but maybe for others.

Room Tip: Go for a terrace room ... it adds a bit extra and is a lovely place to eat your breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Loved this place. The location was great right inside the palace which was confusing because I did not think there were hotel in the palace :). But, the interior was beautiful and modern, and clean. and, they had a great breakfast. I just wished they had some mini fridges as traveling with a little one, it would have been nice to store drinks/cold water.....

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Slavija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija

Address: Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Split
#2 Family Hotel in Split
#13 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija is type of a heritage hotel due to its location, history and protection by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO. The Diocletian's Palace was built in the middle of the 3rd century AD, while the Hotel Slavija was built inside its walls, above the Emperor's western baths. Therefore, it can be concluded that the building of the hotel influenced the protection of the Baths from the devastation. With time the building of the hotel expanded, and from the Baroque palace it became today's Hotel Slavija. Hotel Slavija is under the protection of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and in part is protected by the UNESCO. The location in the very center of the town makes Hotel Slavija an ideal choice for a stay in Split, surrounded by all relevant historical buildings of the city of Split, including the Temple of Jupiter, the St. Duje Cathedral, the Milesi palace... It is ideal place for both business and pleasure travelers because of its location. Hotel is situated in the very center of the city and is but a few minutes walk from all the major attractions as well as from the main bus terminal, airport shuttle terminal, railway station and ferry. The hotel has 25 rooms and each room is air conditioned, with private bath, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection and direct dial telephone. Some of the rooms are with terraces and Hotel is especially proud to present them because, terraces are rarity in the old part of Split. In the lobby of the hotel is Internet Hot spot, which is free for hotel guests. We also provide faxing, copying, printing and scanning, as well as laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Slavija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Slavija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.