We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in old city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Slavija

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Slavija to your Saves list
Hotel Slavija
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location in old city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Is this a "pop up" hotel? It is in a great location and I really loved the modern, minimalist interior but it seemed sort of temporary. Anyway, we had a terrace room, which was quite large with a great, big bed and adequate but very clean white bathroom. The staff were very friendly - apparently they are trained to be culturally and environmentally sensitive. They organised a tour guide for us at what seemed to be a very reasonable price and a lift to the airport (were we ripped off by this? So what, a very nice driver.) They carried breakfast up to our room so that we could eat on the terrace which was lovely. I went down to the breakfast room, which was a little dingy, and there wasn't a great choice of food available. However, the location right in the old city is unsurpassable and you can always go out to eat. There was air conditioning in our room. Fortunately, we didn't need blankets as I noticed that the duvets in the cupboard didn't seem to have covers. We were on the 3rd floor, our cases were small so this was not a problem for us but maybe for others.

Room Tip: Go for a terrace room ... it adds a bit extra and is a lovely place to eat your breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    63
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
45
78
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Loved this place. The location was great right inside the palace which was confusing because I did not think there were hotel in the palace :). But, the interior was beautiful and modern, and clean. and, they had a great breakfast. I just wished they had some mini fridges as traveling with a little one, it would have been nice to store drinks/cold water.....

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My mom and I recently toured through Croatia. This was by far the best hotel we stayed in. The decorations were amazing, and so was the location - but what really stood out was the service... we didn't experience anything else like this in the rest of the country. The staff was beyond accommodating, we will remember our time here fondly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, CO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I'll echo the earlier reviews. This is is a great small hotel, in the center of everything with an outstanding staff. We spent 3 nights here and their assistance and recommendations from restaurants to sea kayaking outfitters was spot on. They went out of their way to be helpful when it came to procuring ferry tickets to longer term parking for out car. The rooms are comfortable, not lavish but with good A/C at the end of a hot September day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife & I stayed for one night before our cruse & one night on our return.
The Hotel is situated in the heart of the walled city & great location for getting to a resturaunt & shops. The staff are so very helpful especially Mirjana who gave us such great advise & was a credit to how a receptionist should be, thank you to all the staff for there attention in making us very welcome even though it was for just a short stay, We will be back !!
The rooms are very well equipped & comfortable.
The Taxi driver was able to come to the hotel lobby on our departure to the airport which was a great help, this is the only thing which could be a problem for some if you catch a bus from the airport, but it is easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel Slavija made me feel so welcome!
After having a great first stop in Dubrovnik and spending four days here at Hotel Slavija made me want to come back not only to the hotel but Split!
Which I did after spending a week island hopping with the fantastic MedSailors!
I stopped by to see if they had a spare room for three people(I met whilst sailing). Unfortunately they had no room as they were fully booked! However that did not stop the wonderful ladies behind the desk from ringing round a few hotels and hostels and found us a place to stay within 10 minutes!
Plus their knowledge of Split was brilliant and all good recommendations for restaurants, bars and activities so I felt in safe hands.
Would definitely go back!
Many Thanks
Lawrence

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our stay started out with a small snafu when the driver I set up through the hotel didn't arrive, thankfully there are plenty of cabs out front the airport. Just be aware that because of it's great location in the middle of everything, a cab can't just drop you off at the front door. Our cabbie pointed to a store and said "Right!", which was actually not the case, when it's a bit of a maze to actually get to, thankfully most people are very helpful so it didn't take long. The wifi in the hotel worked great, our room was clean and accurate to online description. The hotel is surprisingly very well soundproofed, just be aware if you are a very light sleeper/early to bed person you are in the middle of everything (I had a small travel fan so I didn't hear anything!) It was so nice to be steps away from great restaurants, cafes, bars and so much gorgeous history!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Slavija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija

Address: Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Split
#4 Family Hotel in Split
#12 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija is type of a heritage hotel due to its location, history and protection by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO. The Diocletian's Palace was built in the middle of the 3rd century AD, while the Hotel Slavija was built inside its walls, above the Emperor's western baths. Therefore, it can be concluded that the building of the hotel influenced the protection of the Baths from the devastation. With time the building of the hotel expanded, and from the Baroque palace it became today's Hotel Slavija. Hotel Slavija is under the protection of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and in part is protected by the UNESCO. The location in the very center of the town makes Hotel Slavija an ideal choice for a stay in Split, surrounded by all relevant historical buildings of the city of Split, including the Temple of Jupiter, the St. Duje Cathedral, the Milesi palace... It is ideal place for both business and pleasure travelers because of its location. Hotel is situated in the very center of the city and is but a few minutes walk from all the major attractions as well as from the main bus terminal, airport shuttle terminal, railway station and ferry. The hotel has 25 rooms and each room is air conditioned, with private bath, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection and direct dial telephone. Some of the rooms are with terraces and Hotel is especially proud to present them because, terraces are rarity in the old part of Split. In the lobby of the hotel is Internet Hot spot, which is free for hotel guests. We also provide faxing, copying, printing and scanning, as well as laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Slavija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Slavija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.