We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Slavija

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Slavija to your Saves list
Hotel Slavija
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Split
New York City, New York
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a treat! We were part of a group with stopover in Split. The group stayed in hotel for 3 nights. This small hotel is in hart of Old Town! You are treated like family from the reception staff to the lovely lady in the kitchen and housekeeping. Everybody smiles a lot, not just to the guests of the Hotel but to each other, and for me this was the first sign that this place is just awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    61
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
43
75
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very good location, a large and comfortable room and a friendly and welcoming staff, always ready to make our stay the best possible. Especially the two receptionists, with their kindness and hospitality, were always ready to suggest tours and activities to make our stay even better!

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room on the ground floor, as the hotel has no elevator due to its location with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed briefly at the end of a tour, and found the hotel just wonderful. The staff are cheerful and helpful and the room was great. Just wish had more of a chance to use the private balcony. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was our second time in Split...This outstanding hotel with great location has wonderfully and helpful staff. I loved this uniquely historic and modern facility. It is easy to reach anything from the hotel. Once You enter receptionists provide all informations, help You with anything you need. Rooms are modern and whole hotel has been recently refurbished. I had beautiful experience... Next time we come to Split we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Room on the top floor has wonderfull terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our first time in Croatia and first time in Split. We decided to stay in this hotel for 2 nights because all the reviews were really good and price reasonable.
I am a passionate traveler, so I have stayed in the hotels around the world but I have never in my traveling history met receptionists like ones in hotel Slavija. These people really love this place. We were told the history of a Hotel along the history of the building, offered all information’s regarding buses and ferries from Split… They really answered all our questions so we did not even need to go to the tourist office..
Really great team work… and hotel definitely has a soul.

Room Tip: We had one on the 4th floor, really romantic with private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This little haven is placed in the center of town, better to say inside the Diocletian’s palace, close to everything (not even a 5 minute walk to ferry port and bus station). So if you want to enjoy Split this is the place to stay. This place is actually monument of culture… I couldn’t believe when I was told the history of this place.
We were looking for accommodation in Split over a month, and I must say it is too expensive in all the hotels there. Hotel Slavija gave us a 15% discount on room rates; it was 15% less than on Booking.com and Expedia… So if you want to save money contact them directly.
After checking in we received a map of town, map of Palace, had a private walking tour around the palace (and this was almost half a price than the local tourist guide office offered us).
After reading about Hotel I saw that lot of people complained on breakfast, Wifi or noise, I must say we only had great experience. The breakfast was really good (this is a 3 star hotel, so for this type of Hotel they are more than ok, it was great.. We did not have a problem with noise, we know that Split is Mediterranean town so for the place in hart of this town we know what to expect, but I must say that the noise is definitely not a problem. (If you wish to avoid noise you can stay in Hotels that are far from the old town like Radisson Blue, or Meridian…)
I would recommend this Hotel to everybody. The staff is great and really keen to help and they do try to make your stay really enjoyable. Location is unbeatable. Split itself is like a journey to history lesson but not boring jet exciting and lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel within the walls of the old city palace. The staff is extremely helpful. They are trained guides for the Palace and will take you on a tour. Marjan went out of her way to help us with renting a car, transport to and from the airport, restaurant recommendations, etc. We stayed there for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip and returned for a night at the end. It was like coming home! We would recommend reserving the rooms with terraces. The only drawback to being in the Palace is the noise from the streets below. Bring ear plugs to sleep!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Slavija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija

Address: Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Split
#2 Business Hotel in Split
#13 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija is type of a heritage hotel due to its location, history and protection by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO. The Diocletian's Palace was built in the middle of the 3rd century AD, while the Hotel Slavija was built inside its walls, above the Emperor's western baths. Therefore, it can be concluded that the building of the hotel influenced the protection of the Baths from the devastation. With time the building of the hotel expanded, and from the Baroque palace it became today's Hotel Slavija. Hotel Slavija is under the protection of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and in part is protected by the UNESCO. The location in the very center of the town makes Hotel Slavija an ideal choice for a stay in Split, surrounded by all relevant historical buildings of the city of Split, including the Temple of Jupiter, the St. Duje Cathedral, the Milesi palace... It is ideal place for both business and pleasure travelers because of its location. Hotel is situated in the very center of the city and is but a few minutes walk from all the major attractions as well as from the main bus terminal, airport shuttle terminal, railway station and ferry. The hotel has 25 rooms and each room is air conditioned, with private bath, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection and direct dial telephone. Some of the rooms are with terraces and Hotel is especially proud to present them because, terraces are rarity in the old part of Split. In the lobby of the hotel is Internet Hot spot, which is free for hotel guests. We also provide faxing, copying, printing and scanning, as well as laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Slavija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Slavija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.