We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Slavija

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Slavija to your Saves list
Hotel Slavija
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Direct booking discount
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Split
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excelently located small, stylish hotel in the heart of old town. Couldnt be better located. Rooms are clean, spacious and decorated with good style. Some upper floor rooms have even own balcony so ask for them. I stayed at 3rd floor and they gave me two rooms with a big balcony - nice luxury for just one person :)

Downstairs are few bars so especially on the weekends there could be some noise. (didnt bother me...) I would warmly recomment this hotel to younger people or people who dont mind little music on late hours. Altough i believe rooms on the other side of the hotel are more peaceful. Maybe not the ideal hotel for large families with babies or older people (there´s no elevator)

Room Tip: Head for rooms with own balcony (3th & 4th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    57
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
41
73
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I needed a hotel for a stopover in Split before flying home following a holiday in Hvar. As it was only for one night I wasn't too fussed about where I stayed so I just quickly booked what I thought was cheap and convenient for a days sightseeing at Diocletians Palace and for the airport bus early the next morning. What a lovely surprise when I arrived! The hotel was in a fantastic location, actually inside Diocletians Palace (on top of what used to be the Emporors baths) and only about a 10 minute walk from the ferry terminal and airport bus stop. I arrived early in the morning and went straight to the hotel hoping they would have a luggage room I could use until check-in and was advised my room was ready for me already so I could go straight in to leave my luggage and freshen up. The room was lovely. It looked like it had been recently refurbished - very modern but with parts of the original Palace walls still showing which was a great effect. It was spacious and the bathroom looked very new and clean. The breakfast room was fairly small. It was plenty big enough for the number of people using it when I stayed but I imagine in peak season it might get crowded. The lady on reception (Marjianna) couldn't have been more helpful, suggesting tours to go on and things to see - she clearly loves her city! If I ever go back to Split I will definately book to stay at Hotel Slavija again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this very nice historic little hotel, close to the waterfront, and in the middle of Diocletian's Palace.
Walk out the entrance and around the corner, and you are in the middle of where travellers come from around the world to see .
The rooms were spotless, and the beds comfortable, but we missed having a fridge and tea/cofee making facilities in our room.
Friend's had a big room and terrace on the 4th floor, but had to walk up 3 flights of stairs. We were happier after moving to our second room, No. 102 with a terrace.

Room Tip: 102 on the 2nd floor if you don't like stairs. 4th floor for larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, London UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Two nights in Split really wasn't enough. The old city is superb for sightseeing and nightlife and the Slavija is right in the heart of it. Not cheap (we paid £100 a night for a double) but our room was spacious and comfortable. Shame about the noise from the nearby bars (even we wanted to sleep rather than drink at 1.30am on a Monday night!!) and some issues with the bathroom (no sink plug, broken shower head bracket) that the maid should have spotted.
We'll return to Split but on the whole I think we'll choose to stay in an apartment for half the price or less!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Staff are charming, the woman on reception could not have been more helpful, told us of restaurants were the locals ate, offered us breakfast on our roof terrace, although we were eating at 07.00! All with a big smile. Location fantastic, the whole hotel spotlessly clean, fantastic experience after leaving a very 'faded' hotel on Hvar for the same money! We just wish we hadn't had to leave so early for the airport as the breakfast was a feast!

Room Tip: We had a room with a roof terrace on the 4th floor which was fantastic. Terrace not chic but with g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hotel Slavija is one of the few hotels within the walls of Diocletian's Palace, and it is my favorite.
Hotel closed to bus terminal, ferry port,....
Great WiFi...
Good breakfast.
I stayed there for 5 days and I really had a nice time....
Staff is friendly and wish to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My stay at Hotel Slavija was absolutely the best experience I've had at a hotel or B&B. Before our trip began, Mirjana was exceptionally responsive in answering our many questions and changes in plans. She went out of her way to investigate the activities and tours available during our visit. Once we arrived, her assistance continued to be invaluable. The location of the hotel was perfect, in that we could walk out of it and literally be meters away from shops, cafes, and beautiful water. The size of our room was larger than we expected and led to a terrace where we could watch the activity below. The experience we had there was wonderful and I definitely look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Slavija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija

Address: Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Split
#2 Family Hotel in Split
#13 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija is type of a heritage hotel due to its location, history and protection by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO. The Diocletian's Palace was built in the middle of the 3rd century AD, while the Hotel Slavija was built inside its walls, above the Emperor's western baths. Therefore, it can be concluded that the building of the hotel influenced the protection of the Baths from the devastation. With time the building of the hotel expanded, and from the Baroque palace it became today's Hotel Slavija. Hotel Slavija is under the protection of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and in part is protected by the UNESCO. The location in the very center of the town makes Hotel Slavija an ideal choice for a stay in Split, surrounded by all relevant historical buildings of the city of Split, including the Temple of Jupiter, the St. Duje Cathedral, the Milesi palace... It is ideal place for both business and pleasure travelers because of its location. Hotel is situated in the very center of the city and is but a few minutes walk from all the major attractions as well as from the main bus terminal, airport shuttle terminal, railway station and ferry. The hotel has 25 rooms and each room is air conditioned, with private bath, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection and direct dial telephone. Some of the rooms are with terraces and Hotel is especially proud to present them because, terraces are rarity in the old part of Split. In the lobby of the hotel is Internet Hot spot, which is free for hotel guests. We also provide faxing, copying, printing and scanning, as well as laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Slavija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Slavija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.