We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great octopus salad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Allegria, split

Allegria, split
Bajamontijeva Ulica 2, Split, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 213 Restaurants in Split
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great octopus salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A nice restaurant, with pleasant courtyard seating and a wonderful octopus salad. Centrally located near all the old city attractions in Split. We had a great lunch. Probably should have had dinner there too, because the place we chose for dinner, next door, didn't meet expectations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Quiet Setting, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We found this place tucked on a corner down one of the side streets in the ruins of Diocletian's Palace. A quick inspection of the menu suggested we would all find something we'd like to order, and at very competitive prices. We were seated immediately on the quiet back courtyard. Starters were warm carrot soup and a refreshing mixed salad. Then the mains: a Caesar salad with a generous amount of chicken; risotto with grilled Mediterranean vegetables and fresh soft cheese; and a mountain of steamed mussels with the local Buzzara broth/sauce. All came to the table with speedy and attentive service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“New management making its mark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spend five nights in Split in September, eating out each night. We ate here twice. The service was excellent (we even asked about the recipe once and the manager came out and wrote it out for us), the food subtle (not bland) but inventive and delicious. A change from the solid but predictable Croatian menus (how many Croatian restaurants have opened near you recently - the market is telling you something). The back courtyard is quiet or the alley seating buzzy. Both are fine. One of the better meals we had in a 5 week trip through Europe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, very nice staff but very poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a shame the food lets this place down everything else was fine. Very attentive staff, Ok wine list and lovely setting but the food was worse than the average tourist trap restaurant. OK so we had lunch earlier the same day at DVOR and probably not fair to compare.......

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Split's eateries have a reputation for high prices and surly service. Not this charming restaurant! Allegria features Croatian and Italian food in a hidden courtyard, good but short wine list, friendly service and, when we were there, a classical guitarist playing softly in the corner. We were enchanted. This place is worth seeking out if you are hoping to escape the cruise-ship mobs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allegria, split also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Allegria, split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegria, split, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.