We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day excursion to Blue Cave and Vis town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portal Day Tours

Portal Day Tours
Trg Republike 1, Split 21000, Croatia
0038521360061
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #10 of 48 activities in Split
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Split excursions is part of Portal Travel agency, which is one of the leading organizers of day tours in the greater Split and Trogir area. We organize day excursions for groups, private tours and shore excursion to the most beautiful sites in Croatia and surrounding areas which include: NP Plitvice Lakes, NP Krka Waterfalls & Sibenik, Dubrovnik, Mostar and Međugorje, speed boat excursions to Hvar and Blue Cave, city tours of Split, Salona and Trogir.
Solna, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Day excursion to Blue Cave and Vis town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Together with some friends I went on a day excursion to Blue Cave and Vis Town with the travel agency Portal in Trogir. Since there were 10 of us we rented a speed boat with skipper and we asked for our special skipper of choice, Zrinka. We spent a full day at sea starting with the Blue Cave on the island of Bisovo. The light in that small cave is spectacular in the morning, too bad you are not allowed to swim in there. After the Blue Cave we stopped for a swim in the cristal clear water outside Vis town. In the afternoon we stopped in Vis town to have lunch in a restaurant recommended by our skipper, Restaurant Val. If you ever have the opportunity to go there, just do it! We had a lovely meal, different dishes, all selected by our host, Luce, the owner of the restaurant. In the late afternoon we had a small stop in Hvar before we returned to Trogir to see the sun setting behind the skyline of the old medieval town.

I always contact travel agency Portal for excursions in the surroundings since they have proved being trustworthy, knowledgeable and very friendly. I am looking forward to going back next summer to see what new excursions they will offer to me and my friends who will be visiting men.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortalTeam, Manager at Portal Day Tours, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
It`s great to read that you had a good time on this trip. It is our pleasure to know that we at Split Excursion exceeded your expectations. You and your friends are always welcome by us and we would be glad to help you in organizing your next visit to Croatia and to offer you some of our other excursions. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    13
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing journey !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Nothing to say exept I had a wonderfull day ! I did the excursion to the Blue cave and island Hvar and I found it just perfect. The guide was really kind and helpfull and this excursion gives you the opportunity to see a lot ! You would need at least 2 days by your own. The next day I took part in the fish picnic excursion. I had a great day too ! Waht's more the fish we ate that day is one of the best I've ever ate !!!!

Thanks to the whole team !!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortalTeam, Manager at Portal Day Tours, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We want to say a big thank you for your nice review and kind words. The attractions on this excursion are truly outstanding with its curiosities and beauty and we are glad that you enjoyed them and that you enjoyed the fish on the fish picnic.

Kind regards,
Portal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarvisio, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect day on Hvar and Pakleni islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visited Split for 3 days, and one among other things we really wanted to experience was visit island Hvar we've never been before, but heard a lot about it. And now I know why. The journey with ferry from Split takes 2,5 hrs, what was not really suitable for us and also it landes in Stari Grad, not in Hvar town. We've checked on web for faster way or day tour. So we found Split excursions web site and it was really easy to make reservation. The boat picked us up infront of Radisson Blue hotel as arranged, and Mario, our skipper was there on time. After short pit stop on Brac Island we arrived in Hvar town. Hvar harbour was full of boats and arrival by speedboat was really spectacular. Our guide was already waiting for us. She took us on very interesting walking tour through the old town. After tour we've had plenty of free time. We walked up to the fort from where we made amazing photos of harbor and surrounding islands. After nice walk and coffee we went for swimming and had lunch on Pakleni islands. Beautiful nature, relaxing and not so busy like Hvar town. For us this was our best day spent in Croatia and we definitely can suggest this trip and Split excursions company.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortalTeam, Manager at Portal Day Tours, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are happy to read that you had such a good time with us on the trip to Hvar and Pakleni Islands and that we have provided you with most convenient way to visit your desired destination-Hvar. We always try to ensure that our guests have the best possible time with us and to make our excursions as much convenient for them as possible. It was our pleasure to organize this excursion for you and make it a memorable one. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Kind regards,
Portal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable Plitvice waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Since our friends told us so much about Dubrovnik, we wanted to visit Croatia this summer. My husband and I like to travel and we wanted to see as much as we could in the short time. Since we were staying on the coast in the beautiful city of Split we wanted to see more of the inland's. We found this agency in the center of Split and the two very friendly and nice girls offered us several excursions. So we ended up at Plitvice lakes having wonderful time. The beauty of the lakes and amazing waterfall is stunning. But it wasn't only the beauty of the nature. Our guide, I think his name was Ernesto was charming and funny young guy, with great sense of humor. We really had a great time. I hope we will have an opportunity to come back and see more, Croatia is absolutely amazing! Oh, and not to forget the food and vine are absolutely fabulous !!! Guys go there its really worth it, I would recommend it and hopefully go there again to try some other places they were offering.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortalTeam, Manager at Portal Day Tours, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for nice review, we are pleased to have you as our guests.
Your honest opinions are valuable to us, and we appreciate your having taken the time to post your impressions of your excursion to National Park Plitvice Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A frightening experience with Split Excursions...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Split Excursions: Blue Cave and Hvar Island (August 2012)

Use caution when booking your Blue Cave/Hvar Island adventure with Split Excursions.

It was very windy the morning of our trip. I was surprised to find out that our trip was going ahead as scheduled. Unfortunately, It is a trip that we will never forget… for all the the wrong reasons. The seas were extremely rough with 2-3 meter swells. The guests were not offered life jackets and to my horror I later learned that there were only 2 life jackets on board. Many of the 10 guests were injured with bruises, sore backs, etc. following hours of being banged around in the boat.

If that wasn't enough, we ran out of fuel. Luckily this happened when we were between the island of Šolta and Brač where the seas were significantly calmer. Had this happened 10 minutes earlier we would have been in serious trouble. I am not sure how we would have been rescued given the condition of the seas.

When we returned to Split I was very angry that Split Excursions would endanger our lives by going out in such high winds. After being told by the manager that we all can make mistakes, he finally agreed to reimburse my money.

Please follow your instincts. If you think that the weather is dangerous, please do not proceed on this trip. The staff at Split Excursions is not looking out for your safety. Before purchasing your tickets, please ensure that your money can be refunded if the weather conditions are poor. Do not board the ship if there are insufficient number of life jackets.

My husband and I will never risk our lives like that again. The trip would have been amazing had the weather cooperated. Be safe!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortalTeam, Owner at Portal Day Tours, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write your opinion and we are really sorry that your trip wasn’t what you expected to be.
We would like to apologize because of this set of circumstances.
Since the beginning of our business, in 2005, safety of our guests is our primary concern and it has never been disputed. We don’t want you to think that there wasn’t enough lifejacket on the boat, because our boat have all legally necessary safety equipment (including 10 lifejacket) and our company fulfills all safety requirements provided by Croatian laws, which we can easily prove. Probably you have seen only the lifejackets for children that are not storaged with other lifejacket i.e. under seats.
For our trips we use only fully equipped boats with all necessary safety equipment, and in this particular situation the captain estimated that there was no risk and that the lifejacket where not needed, so lifejackets remained under seats. If any guest requested them, they were easily reachable under seats. But the lifejackets were not requested by any guests on board.
For every boat trip we carefully monitor the weather forecast and for this particular day the weather forecast was suitable for the boat trip, but during the day it changed and that was unforeseen and unexpected and we did everything we could in that unpredicted situation.
We consider our biggest failure that we ran out of fuel, situation that happened for the very first time to us and only that one time since starting our business. And for sure it won’t happen again.
After your return from the trip we refunded you the total amount you paid for that trip. Also, next day we contacted all other guests from that trip and met them in person to inquire about their impressions. We tried to contact you to, but we reached only your husband by phone and he explained that you have already left Split. We wanted to apologize once again and to offer you any assistance and help during your stay in Croatia.
We are very sorry that you have had a bad impression about this, otherwise, nice and very popular excursion.
If you ever decide to come to Split again, we would be pleased to welcome you on some of our excursions or on this same excursion, to Blue Cave, so you can get real experience of that trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portal Day Tours also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Portal Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portal Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Portal Day Tours to your Saves list