We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All talk, no action.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jadran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jadran to your Saves list
Hotel Jadran
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sustipanski put 23, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Split
Marseillette, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“All talk, no action.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Bad position, in a dark park without any public illumination. The prices of the rooms are too high if compared to their quality.
There is not wireless in the rooms, only a cable from the reception that you must link to the computer, but it does not work.
If you want to sleep quiet, do not take this hotel. Some rooms are separated each other with a simple door (they were a greater single room, now transformed in two rooms).
Another great problem is the light, up all night: it comes from the corridor, due to doors that are partially made with a glass. Impossible to eliminate the problem.
The breakfast was ridicolous, but expensive.
Last but not least: there was any bar in the room, neither hair dryer in the (too small) bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    10
    12
    6
See reviews for
7
15
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel is a pleasant walk along the harbor to old town. There are two hotel Jadrans right next to each other. Originally built in communist era for training the Olympic Water Polo team. Perhaps one of the hotels was for athletes and one for coaches? Our rooms felt like they were for the coaches as they were quite comfortable with nice balconies overlooking the pool and sea and very efficient air conditioners, flat screen tv, desk. Breakfast was good with boiled eggs, yougurt, bread, cheese, meat etc. Drink machine to push a button for various kinds of coffee or water for tea. Breakfast guy was very efficient and friendly. Wish I could say the same for the bleached blond who was staffing the desk when we checked in. After a quick glance at the computer screen she said we didn't have a reservation (there were 13 of us). She didn't try to find it, just sent us next door to the other Hotel Jadran. They didn't have us either. We went back to the first lobby and I had our fabulous driver Vojko, call our travel agent (Mitja from Roundabout Tours in Ljubjlana Slovenia - he does a great job). He called the hotel and talked to the manager there. Magically our reservation appeared. In spite of that hiccup, I would stay here again. Hotels closer to old town split are very expensive. Service gets an average rating of 3 - 5 for the breakfast guy and 1 for the bleached blond receptionist.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was here just 1 night but hotel is great. Everything is totaly new,newly equipped,fantastic staff,
(Mr.Mladen).Restaurant with sea and pool view, park all around,flowers.
We are sorry we could not stay more.
Thanx , see you next year.

Room Tip: Please, take the see view. All rooms are new but the view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is well located over the sea, and is very quiet. The staff was always very helpful, they spoke English and we had a good time. Breakfast was a buffet and well served. This is great hotel because has associated a spa and a swimming pool. You may also enjoy a small beach by the side, that has a comfortable bar.

Room Tip: Suggestion: ask for a room with balcony over the swimming pool and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Please make changes of link for reservation throughout Booking.com. Link is for wrong Hotel.
You must put link for Hotel Jadran Split, not Hotel Jadran Zvoncac.
I spent very good time in Hotel Jadran, Hotel is just near the sea, from city centre is just 10 minutes walking by the sea.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side with sea view and balcony are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

When I booked this hotel, which looked very nice on the internet for the rate of 90 eur/night/2 people, i thought, would be a good deal as hotels in center of Split were expansive. However, this hotel is the reflection of the communist era. Once this hotel has been very nice, in 70's but does not meet any of the standards these days. Everything from the reception, rooms, breakfast area is very outdated and uncomfortable. It need serious investment to make it up to today's standards. Staff is unfriendly and the breakfast very poor. Very cheap items provided, nothing that you would expect when you pay 90 eur/night. Also it is far from the center. I dont mind the walking, but the area that you go through is not so nice, One walks through a construction site along the water front. Plus the area is very smelly, one smells sewage, and garbage all over. Nice part is that the hotel is on the waterfront and one can enjoy a refreshing swim in the sea. The water had fantastic temperature in August. We have survivied, but would never return to this place even they would be asking 10eur/night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Jadran for 9 nights in August and arrived with some trepidation after reading the bad reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised to find a clean (and ok, basic) hotel, with great views of the sea and pools. The staff were very friendly and the room clean with a bathroom that was fine (i.e. a glass door to the shower - no dreaded shower curtains!). We were travelling with my 5 year old son who loved the kids pool that was large and of uniform depth (up to his waist) which made it really safe for him to explore it whilst still being able to touch the bottom. There were no sun loungers round the pools and swimming lessons were going on some of the time, but we just headed to the bathing platform round the corner and laid out our towels along with the Croatian families enjoying the beautiful clear water.
We ate at the restaurant a couple of lunchtimes and the food was good and reasonable. The breakfast buffet didn't look up to much so we usually went out for breakfast.
In short, if you want a proper Croatian experience and not a usual Costa del beach holiday, come here. Any ex-travellers like ourselves would recognise an authentic gem of a hotel at rock bottom prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room - ours was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jadran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jadran

Address: Sustipanski put 23, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jadran 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is situated at one of the most beautiful cove peninsulas of Split. No matter if you are coming to Split on business or you are on a tourist tour, Hotel Jadran is only a few minutes walk from the most mportant sites, and just a few steps from the sea and beach. Whether you are coming to our hotel as a tourist or you are here on business, we are convinced that you will be very happy with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jadran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jadran Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jadran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.