We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Luke Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St Luke Residence to your Saves list
St Luke Residence
Kraj sv. Luke 29, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 109 Split B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The place was actually very easy to find, just a little up the pedestrianised area. I emailed Nik in the morning saying "sorry, i should've written earlier! anyway, we're on the 6pm boat so we'll see you 6:30ish" - as we came up the alley, he came down the stairs, "hello!" - a great welcome as he showed us around the place and told us all we needed to know (i tried to interrupt to say "don't worry, we're only here one night and off in the morning" but he likes talking :-) ). He ended up accidentally giving us the wrong key, but dashed round to sort it out and apologised profusely. A really wonderful man and you could see that everyone there was very happy. The building is fantastic too, the view from the penthouse balcony was sensational. We went to a great little restaurant around the corner too, wonderful. And we mentioned we needed to be at the airport in the morning, he knocked on the door 5mins later, "sorry to disturb but i called my brother, he will come and take you, no problem".

You can see, he had a real passion and concern for his guests, and would do everything to make them feel welcome. And the quality of the furniture and fittings was great too. We'll certainly look him up next time we go to Split.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

What a great place to stay. A brilliant location, lovely clean and modern rooms, amazing hospitality from the owner and great value for money. Would highly recommend if you don't fancy a hotel but want a central location.

Ps loved the complimentary fruit every day!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed 1night but if this great property had been available for another night it would certainly have tempted us to stay longer in split. Niksas the owner is passionate about his place and rightly so, the room was nicely decorated with great quality fixtures and fittings (shower fantastic !) and the always available fresh fruit, drinks and biccies a lovely treat. Another bonus during the Olympics was the British Eurosport tv channel - the only one we found in Croatia. All on all a great place to stay with a great owner!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Can walk from Ferry about 10 minutes through the town centre. If you take a taxi they have to drive around town centre and the fare is around 85-90 Kuna. The owner does not stay at the premises so he may not be there, you may need to call him nearby, so make sure you have his contact number. Nice rooms and great location, restaurants and old city are all close by and in walking distance. Even the beaches can walk in 15 minutes. The Bell tower is worth walking up for great views, if you are scared of heights it may affect you as the top half is steel steps through the centre. There are a lot of shops and restaurants nearby where you can buy some food..like pizza's, bakeries and ice cream shops. Must recommend the Kobana Marjan restaurant which has great food and moderately priced.

Room Tip: make sure you have contact details of owner, watch out for taxi fares
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It's two minutes walk to the waterfront Riva and another two to be inside the walls of Diocletian's Palace. The ferry terminal is within easy walking distance. There are excellent traditional Croatian restaurants in the little streets nearby. There's a well-stocked supermarket just down the street. And yet St Luke is a quiet refuge on a small no-traffic street. The position is perfect. And Niksa the host is rightly proud of the renovations to this very old house. We stayed, as a couple with our adult daughter, in the top apartment with a private small top terrace looking out over the rooftops to the sea. Niksa is an enthusiastic, helpful and very generous host. I don't think we could have found anywhere better suited to us for our few days in Split.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

St Luke is nearly perfect residence in Split.

While I was moving my luggage along the coast and wondering where St Luke was, I heard a man shout across the street, "Are you Cheng from Hong Kong?". He waited us for hours and afraid that we lost our way. We are thrilled! A very nice owner.

If you have sometime to hear more, please do listen to Niksa. He has many lovely stories about the city, the history of the St Luke, the religions, architecture and so many other things.

How about the residue, bed, toilet? Take a look at my photos. They tell the truth. Lucky that we made the right choice!

Room Tip: Take the top room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

St Luke's Residence is a wonderful little boutique style hotel very close to all the important sites in Split including the bus station, port and Diocletian's Palace. It's the perfect base from which to explore split and is a wonderful, quiet retreat to which you can return each day to relax. The place has been wonderfully renovated with great care and using the best materials. Every detail is thought of from the high thread count sheets and memory foam mattresses to the organic towels in the bathroom. The host, Niksa, is wonderfully charasmatic and welcoming and took great pride in treated us as valued guests, and not just customers. This was demonstrated by the reception room that was availble to all guests that included complemetary fruit juice, wine, coffee, all types of tea and an impressive spread of organic fruit and pastries.

It's a hidden gem and we can wait to return there again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Luke Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Luke Residence

Address: Kraj sv. Luke 29, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St Luke Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Luke Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.