We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Judita Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Palace Judita Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
Narodni trg 4, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Split
Shawnee, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We got a little (a lot) lost trying to find the hotel. When we finally got close (2 hours late), we called the hotel and Andrija came and rescued us. He showed us where to park and delivered us by golf-cart to the hotel. He was giving us valuable information along the way. We were blown away when we got to the charming hotel and amazing room. There was a bottle of wine waiting for us and a bowl of figs. Marija checked us in and gave us the name of a wonderful restaurant to have an authentic, Dalmation meal. The breakfast was superb. Eggs made to order and fresh fruits, veggies, breads and cheese. Andrija made sure we ate a balanced meal each morning before venturing out. He was above and beyond any host we have ever had. The day we were returning our rental car, he walked with us to our car, showed us where to fill it with gas, guided us back to the rental car place and stayed until we had things started with the Hertz representative. Everything about this hotel was top notch!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    9
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
156
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, California, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here on a 25th anniversary trip to Croatia. Such fun to be picked up in an electric cart and whisked through the narrow limestone streets to the front door -- no cars in the city center. Each and every member of the staff could not have been more helpful and personable. We loved our room looking out over a picturesque Renaissance era square that had a gate at one end you could stroll through into Diocletian's Palace. Our breakfasts were delicious -- be sure to ask for an omelette, they make them light and filled with ham and bits of fresh veggies.

Room Tip: I would definitely make sure to have a room facing the square -- but it just may be that all rooms d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Booked this hotel very last minute because of an itinerary change. Very thankful that we did.

We booked it through booking.com and the next day we get email from hotel to welcome us and ask about our arrival time so they can pick us up from bus station. Andrija, who picked us up, gave us nothing but warm welcome and joy from beginning to last minute.

Room was spacious and elegant, service impeccable, breakfast delicious. The hotel itself makes us wanna stay longer :)

Great experience and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: our room with terrace was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at Palace Judita for one night, before heading for Hvar. I personally think we would have been quite happy to stay here for 2 or 3 nights. Although the main event is the Diocletians Palace, there are people watching opportunities, day trips etc, that could easily make Split a nice place to relax for a few days.

Specifically, the Judita Palace is a tiny (8 rooms I think) but impeccably done property, that instantly feels very comfortable. The reception could not have been warmer, with a welcome drink, a scolding for handling our own luggage, and a clear invitation to ask for help with absolutely anything we required. There is a golf cart that is used to help people get where they need to go, and for us, that was to the catamaran the next morning.

The room was very comfortable, excellent bed, fast internet, very good size. Even a heated floor in the bathroom, that would probably have been welcome if it had been a little cooler. There was a nice book in the room, with an interesting history of the property, even with a history of previous occupants of that very space, from centuries past. Loved it. The breakfast, and the breakfast room, was lovely.

Andrea (manager?) is in my opinion a big reason for the success of this property. He is genuinely warm and helpful, and bends over backwards to make your stay pleasant. We were thrilled when we were checking out - a sincere compliment about the homemade jam at breakfast (delicious - made by Andrea!) resulted in a generous care package to send us on our way. Now, back at home, we remember Split, Andrea, and Judita Palace with every delicious bite.

The only thing I would recommend, especially if you are staying a few days, would be to try to get one of the rooms, as in the picture, that actually looks out on to an open space. Since the hotel is built into an ancient building, wedged between other ancient buildings, it is inevitable that at least some of the rooms have no view. If natural light is important to you, then I think that could be a little depressing after a few days.

Room Tip: Room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Andrija and all you other guys at Palaca Judita, you are the best!!! You all made our stay at your beautiful hotel fun and a "home away frome home". The room was exquisite with a balcony facing the picturesque courtyard, and with a exellent weiw over the main "trg" of the old and lovely city of Split (which the hotel is located at). We will be back soon!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A small, yet superb hotel, perfectly located on a charming square in the heart of the old palace. The location couldn't be better; walking distance to everything of interest in Split. The rooms are very nice, but what really makes this hotel stand out is the staff. They simply couldn't do enough to make sure that your stay was a memorable one. Higly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel located in the Piazza of Split's old Town. This 8 room boutique hotel was recently renovated to high, modern standards. Beautiful materials, tile and beddings. The rooms are unique as they fit into the building's ancient structure. The reception could not have been nicer. Breakfast is fresh and ample. Staying at this hotel fits into the overall experience of old town Split. If you drive to Split, parking is reserved several blocks away from the hotel. You need to make your way to the small parking area and call the hotel so the hotel staff can pick you up in a electric golf buggy. Arriving in an old city without GPS proved finding the parking area was a challenge, and worth it. The entrance is a lovely courtyard on the Piazza, and the hotel is up a set of beautiful stone steps. Staff takes care of your bags - but be aware that there is no elevator. I recommend the experience highly!

Room Tip: Room 5 is lovely, but then they all are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Judita Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Judita Heritage Hotel

Address: Narodni trg 4, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel, a hotel for lovers of culture, is located in the renaissance palace on the main square of Split, next to Diocletian's Palace. It offers luxurious rooms and free parking nearby. These elegant rooms feature exposed stone walls, elegant furniture, parquet flooring, and luxurious bathrooms including bathrobes and slippers. All rooms are air-conditioned and free Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palace Judita Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Judita Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.