We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystique trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Judita Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Judita Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Narodni trg 4, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Split
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mystique trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Fantastic staff who make you very welcome, nothing is too much trouble.
Bedrooms all individual, spotlessly clean, fully appointment with extras for comfort and enjoyment.
Beds very comfortable, breakfast excellent. The whole experience for the 6 of us has exceeded our expectations. Truly memorable and a great start to our holiday. Location is in the heart of the old town with everything only a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    12
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
168
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Judita Palace is a high quality boutique hotel excellently situated in Split's old town square at the entrance to Diocletian's Palace. The rooms are charming and spacious set in a small historic Venetian palace. What sets this hotel apart however, is the wonderful attention given to guests by Marija and Andrija. They were both effortlessly charming and made our two days in Split feel like we were in a OO7 film set - brilliant!! The cost may seem high for Croatia but absolutely worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Beautifully renovated palace. Although it is located on the main square in the middle of the old town, it is very quite and has all modern amenities such as beautiful bathrooms, very comfortable beds, aircon etc. Marija and her staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast is excellent, everything is spotlessly clean and pleasant. Just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August as part of our trip to Split. Good things: Location, very central on busy central square, close to port and riva where most people arrive by boat/taxi. I would echo other comments about high stairs being an issue if you had mobility problems. Luckily, the staff were very helpful getting our suitcases up to reception from the courtyard. Good sized room with very comfortable bed & pillows, and bathroom with good shower. (However, the sleep quality was let down by the air-con, see below). Friendly and charming reception staff, also helpful by email before we arrived. But the place was let down by the following points: It was hard to keep the room cool without having to endure a very strong cold draught whilst in bed because the noisy air-con was right over the bed. The room was big, so it was a pity the air-con could not to located elswhere. The safe was ridiculously tiny: barely big enough to hold a few papers and too small to hold a net-book or ipad. This made it farly useless. Very limited toiletries for a 4 star: some shower gel and shampoo in worn-out looking holder, no soap, tissues, cotton-buds, shower-caps and so on. There was inadequate storage space: a wardrobe and table but no drawers. So it would be difficult to unpack for long stays. The lighting was not great and there was a very bright green emergency light over the door which made it hard to sleep. Eventually we managed to block some of the light by placing some dark and elasticated men's underwear over it. The breakfast was poor, all show, e.g. a big fruit display which was all unripe. There was bread but no pastries. It is a very small hotel 4 star but the service at breakfast was terrible. For example, it took ages to get a coffee and was hard to get a refill. This could be easily rectified by employing someone efficient to serve the breakfast. Overall at 195 Euros per night it was poor value. Also, beware of long cancellation period if booking via the hotel booking websites. Usually the cancellation period is up to 24 or 48 hours, but in this case it was 7 days. Note, I only rate the service average because the shambolic situation at breakfast. In fact the rest of the staff were great.

Room Tip: Beware the long cancellation period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Split is usually regarded as a ferry port to the islands and not as a destination in its own right but I had read about Diocletian's palace and the attractive old town and thought that it would make an interesting overnight stop. Croatian hotels, with the very rare exception, are either small and basic or huge and basic. Upmarket European style properties are not exactly thick on the ground. Judita Palace is certainly small but it is very comfortably fitted and the service was outstanding by any standard. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was organised with charm and efficiency. The location, in the heart of the old town, was ideal. My only caveat would be that the steps up to the hotel and it's location in the heart of a pedestrianised area may not suit the elderly or disabled.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The B & B is in the public square which is a great location for all the old town sites (which we so enjoyed- it was like being transported through time to the days of the ancient Romans). The hosts and staff were great! Room 4 has the only balcony. We enjoyed the cleaniliness of the HUGE room and attention the hosts gave to us. There are stairs up to the main area of the hotel and rooms (FYI- if you have difficulty walking stairs.) Also, our bathroom shower was very tight. However, the historical setting and beautifully re modeled room made up for it!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Because of the timing of our flight home we needed to stay in Split after travelling back from Hvar. We decided to stay 2 nights so we could explore Split too. The Palace Judita is a perfect location if you want to do the same. It is only 5 mins walk from the catamaran, and in a central location. Because you will be hot after dragging your luggage off the boat I suggest you cross the road, have a drink in one of the many bars on the seafront and then ask the staff for directions to the square. The rooms are renovated to a very high standard and the staff very helpful. With the windows shut there is no noise from the square, but in the morning it was nice to open the window and see the city wake up for the day. In fact in the end we did little sightseeing because it was just too hot in early July. The beach is about 20mins walk so we spent the day there and wandered the town in the evenings. Would we stay here again if we were spending a night in Split, YES!

Room Tip: If you can get the room with the balcony it would be a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Judita Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Judita Heritage Hotel

Address: Narodni trg 4, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Judita Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel, a hotel for lovers of culture, is located in the renaissance palace on the main square of Split, next to Diocletian's Palace. It offers luxurious rooms and free parking nearby. These elegant rooms feature exposed stone walls, elegant furniture, parquet flooring, and luxurious bathrooms including bathrobes and slippers. All rooms are air-conditioned and free Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palace Judita Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Judita Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.