We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pearl in Split.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Vice

Hotel Villa Vice
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Vice to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Vice
Zrnovnicka 12, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Split
Paderborn, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pearl in Split.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived by taxi from the airport, to be greeted by our hosts in front of the hotel. You couldn't wish for nicer and more attentive holeliers.
The hotel is about 10 minutes from the harbour and old city, so it's ideal for day trips. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and above all, clean. Breakfast leaves nothing to be desired. If you want something, which isn't on the table, just ask. They bake their own bread fresh every morning, a real highlight with a family atmosphere. I had my birthday there and they even baked me a cake.
The owners know the best restaurants and travel agencies. Well worth taking heed, as we took the advice on the last day and found the best restaurant in Split, which was much cheaper than most in the city.
Our flight home was at 18.30 and we were able to leave the luggage at the hotel and spend the last day in Split unburdened. We had arranged a transfer to the airport from the hotel and as we got back, the luggage was already in the cars and the owners took us to the airport for much less, than we paid from the airport.

Even though we saw near enough all of the city, I wouldn't mind going back, just to stay in this pearl of a hotel in Split.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to check in about 9am and were offered to join breakfast for 6€ it was delicious and plenty of food. We were able to leave our luggage and come back to check in around 2pm. We had the larger apartment style room which had a kitchen and was great. We had to leave at 5am the next morning so organised a transfer and they even provided breakfast for us which was so nice - juice, fruit and muesli were given to us the night before. Comfortable beds - felt like we could ask for anything else we required. True it is a little way from town, probably a 10-15 min walk which may be a bit difficult for some in the hot sun but it is a beautiful quiet location. Thanks for having us!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

To begin with, the location is not too good, if you're coming by train or bus you have a long way to walk up the hill with your luggage. The owner actually lives in the same house and most of the times there is nobody at the reception, you ring a doorbell and then in case he's home he will show up. He kept talking for about 20 min about restaurants around the villa right after checking in, really useless information, there are far better places than the ones he described. It's very inconvenient that you need to say one day in advance what do you want for breakfast the next day,supposedly between 6 and 8 PM. It sometimes happens there's nobody to take your order though. When we asked if he can arrange something for breakfast on a day when we were going for an early trip he said he will do it, but the next day when we were supposed to be given the stuff he was nowhere to be found. In case you get some noisy people at the same time you're there, it will be very nasty,since the walls are not thick and there is a common "garden". The breakfast is very poor,when it is served you get the impression they ask you what do you want so the owner can save the money he would spend if he would do buffet breakfast. The most horrible things are in the cleaning and amenities part. After the first day, we left the dirty towels on the shower floor so they would be changed, but instead of getting them changed, they hanged them back just as they would do with clean towels. They didn't even provide us with toilet paper after the initial supply ran out, so you can imagine what kind of place it is. In conclusion, I think the 4 star rating and the rates the guy is charging for the rooms are all a big bad joke. Stay away from this if you don't want to get angry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We checked-in late in the evening during our Xmas holidays and the owners welcomed us with a warm drink - that was very nice. Our room was very clean, spacious and had the exit to the well-tended garden. In the morning we were served a good breakfast and had a chance to hear many good advices how to explore the area and which restaurants to visit. If we are in the area again, we will come back to this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed a night in Split here and really enjoyed the place. Room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was served outside side. Great welcome from Gordon. Very helpful with advice on where to visit and eat. Thanks. Located close to the city centre, about 20 minute walk into the old port. Only problem is finding the place. We were lucky to have a map and good head for directions and did not get lost. Best to let the owners park your car! Throughly enjoyed this night stop off point. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. If you have troble climbing stairs you can get a ground floor room. We stayed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed one night at the end of September and for those purposes was great. There is no dining room so breakfast is outside. Breakfast was adequate but nothing more; eggs and coffee but pleasant service. We had booked early and had therefore secured two ground level bedrooms, ours in particular was spacious, comfortable and exceptionally clean. I would even say it was charming. Air con was quiet and efficient. Hot water did run cold toward the end of the second shower however. This hotel/guest house is located in a residential area but is an easy walk into town. Overall a good stay and I would definately stay again if I could get the same room. Wi Fi is also available for no extra charge. You do have to pay in cash when you arrive and order your breakfast the night before. We dint meet Ivana but she was very helpful throughout booking process.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were stuck in a basement unit which was very small with no windows. There were plenty of issues with the place such as the door knob came off in our hands twice, we had to eat breakfast on our lap on the bed since there is no dining room, we ran out of hot water in the shower very quickly and the sink was stopped up so had to limit our selves to periodic use of the sink.

We read the reviews which had a wide range, we soon realized 4 self-appointed starts on their card does not mean anything. Let me explain in more detail than above. We were given the detached unit outside. This unit was a complete after-thought, fulfilling what appeared to be their “get as much revenue as you can out of them” strategy. The room goes down below street level and has absolutely no windows, just the door with a few windows in it. Feeling claustrophobic? It is tiny, about 3m x 4m (~9.5 ft x 12.5 ft) if that. About as much room to bring a small back pack next to either side of the bed as you shuffled around it between the walls. We showed disapproval and they showed us another room that was quite nice but, surprise, they wanted to charge us more.
On the bright side, our room was painted, wall papered, so it was in presentable shape. In addition the air conditioning worked.

There were a few problems with the room as well: The door knob on the bathroom completely came off in our hands twice, so we had to prop it back on. The sink drain was stuffed, so we had to wait for it to go down after brushing our teeth. We could quickly wash our faces, wait for it to go down again then next person gets their quick turn. We used the water very sparingly every time we used the taps. It was only one night, so we figured why bother having him come down and fix it, displacing us for a few hours.

We ran out of hot water in the shower, and it never recovered in the next 2 hours. We had the power on to the hot water heater and saw its red light charging but no luck, so I hope you can take a very fast shower, or like cold showers.

The charge for the tiny room was 540 kn (84 Euro / $94 at time) in the October off-season (far too much for the time room with all the dysfunctions). They will not take credit cards, it’s an all cash business.
They have a driveway abut did not let us park in say ing we should have emailed in advance asking for it (though we told them we had a car. Instead we fended for very tight and infrequent parking on the street.

There is no dining room, no place at all to sit down to eat the breakfast indoor except 3 small tables outside. Our room had no room to sit and eat so we ate on our laps on the bed. Again, this place is not designed for guests to enjoy themselves in comfort, it is about money making first and foremost- squeeze as many people in as they can and maximize the profits!

We spent one night on Split so we cannot recommend another hotel, but we would certainly not recommend this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Vice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Vice

Address: Zrnovnicka 12, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Vice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Vice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.