We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zrno Soli

Zrno Soli
Uvala Baluni 8, Split 21000, Croatia
091561 2284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 214 Restaurants in Split
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our gulet captain, who had already had a week to get to know us and had a good idea of what we like. It didn't disappoint. We were a group of 11 close friends, and several of us are "foodies" and wine lovers, and we found that the selection of both was really good. I tend to gravitate towards fish dishes, and thought their offerings were fresh and sophisticated without being overly complicated. Prices are on the high side, perhaps a bit more than warranted, but I suppose you are also paying for the view of the city, which is wonderful all lit up at night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    5
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minsk Mazowiecki, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We reserved this restaurant following recommendation from our hotel. It was Friday night, place was really crowded. With our reservation we received separated room, which was really nice and postively suprising. The food however changed our opinion. It wasn't generally bad but none of our company was satisified. It was average for a high price and isn't a good combination. Wish I good give higher note.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice dinner in Split Marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was not our first visit to Zrno Soli. We like to come here to enjoy view on Split from the sea. The food is always good standard with some innovation, but not sensational. Nonetheless, both meats and fish are good quality and service is good for the area. Prices are as expected from upper scale restaurants in the city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The last few reviews of this restaurant have been a bit negative, so we didn't plan to visit. We were staying in the marina and it started to rain with thunder. Zrno Soli was close, so we decided to try it. The food was good, the service was excellent, good wine menu with a wide price point to choose from. There is also a wide price point on food, so we chose carefully.
We were happy, we even had a lesson in Croatian.
So we would recommend this restaurant and hope that you have the same excellent, friendly and efficient service that we had. Great views back to Split across the harbour.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“don't ignore the reviews like I did”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our concierge suggested this restaurant and it was terrible. The location is pretty but there was nothing appealing on this menu. It isn't local food, I don't know what kind of food it was. When I asked the waiter if there was anything he suggested he said "it's all good" and not in a charming way. We had our average appetizers, next came the vegetables and 2 of the entrees and we were told our fish was "on the grill". Twenty minutes later we explained the children were tired and that we didn't want the fish after sitting but "it's on the grill, ten more minutes." No apologies or graciousness. If the food was poor, the service was awful. We kicked ourselves we had a great meal the night prior and wasted a night in Split on this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zrno Soli also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Zrno Soli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zrno Soli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.