We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, bed, wifi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments Malena

Apartments Malena
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apartments Malena to your Saves list
Apartments Malena
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Adamova 3, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 332 Specialty Lodging in Split
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, bed, wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I selected Malena's apartment based on it's location in Old Town, and the owners comments on the type of bed in the room. Both were true. The location is actually where the old city wall would have been, about 50 ft from the Cathedral and main square where live music plays from a restaurant at 8pm - once many started dancing to the tunes and 60s rock n roll music from two guitarists. Since this location is close to main attractions and restaurants, it can be noisy at night, but windows block out noise, and the AC works well. Beds & pillows were comfortable, warm showers, and clean. Rooms are average size; bed and chair and small frig. Malena provides city info when you first arrive, with maps and recommendations. The Split penny tour was helpful to understand the history of the old city. Wifi worked well from our American cell phones. I left something in our room after we had checked out, and she met me at bus stop late in the evening to get it - she was so kind and helpful. I would stay at Malena's again if I was in Split! Thanks Malena!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in a twin room. The room was basic but it had a fridge, double glazing and a lovely modern bathroom with a great shower. The apartment is very centrally located on the 3rd floor (no lift). Malena was very hospitable and took very good care of us. Going out of her way on several occasions to make sure we felt at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at Malena's with a friend for four nights in August. We were very very pleased. The location is just super, you can't live more central than this. It can be hard to find the place if you don't know where it is but we didn't need to look on our own because Malena came and met us at the bus station. She showed the way while giving us a short tour of the city. She was very helpful during our entire stay, giving us maps and directions; recommending restaurants, sights and excursions; and she even let us to change rooms. The rooms are small but clean and newly renovated. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are well equipped. Big plus for the terrace, magic view on the Bell Tower. If I return to Split I will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here three nights. Small cozy room, with fridge, access to small common kitchen. Third floor, so be prepared to lug luggage and self:). Malena was very nice and welcoming. Great location In the heart of old town and only 5 min walk to ferry and bus terminal. Only inconvenience was that you could here people in kitchen and in hallway, not enough privacy or quiet in mornings or at nights when you here other people. Beaches nearby: Bačvice, east of ferry dock - I was not a fan. Locals like it, it's only a ten min walk from hotel, but sand is so dirty, with tns of cigarette butts. Croatians smoke more than anyone I have seen! Water is decent transparency, but some trash floating. Lots of people. My advice is go west of the ferries. If you walk along the promenade and then along the water for 10-15 min, you will see the first entrance to western side beaches. Geton the beach walk and keep going until you see a spot you like. Another 5 min in we found a lovely pebble beach, which was much cleaner and fewer people, p,us you get a nice sunset view from one of the bars.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from kitchen if possible. We had the one closest and were disturbed by noise at ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at Malena Apartments for 4 nights at the end of July. First the place is really hard to find, we only found it thanks to other reviews on Trip Advisor. When we eventually found the place and lugged heavy suitcases up 3 flights of stairs Malena told us our room was on the other side of the palace. We didn't mind this but it would have been nice to have known so we could have found that in the first place! Malena showed us to the other place which I don't think was the one we booked because we booked "Adam Room' and by looking at the photos its obvious that was not where we were. Malena also had to phone someone else and get the keys off them. Also looking at all the other reviews, everyone seemed to stay in the place where we initially arrived, where Malena also lives - not this other place, but I'm not completely sure. On the website it does not give another address or say some of the rooms are elsewhere. The room was fine, it was a twin room even though we booked a double but we didn't mind too much. There was air conditioning, a mini kitchen, eating area and bathroom. There is wifi but it is from the restaurant next to the apartment, not the apartment's own. The towels we were provided with were only tiny hand towels and they weren't changed for the 4 nights we were there even though we were told that they would be. Bed sheets weren't changed or made either. The location of this apartment was really good, very central in the palace and right by the golden gate. Malena was friendly, she gave us a map and told us about the sights, but we felt like she was hovering around for ages for a tip! To get into this apartment you went through the street door, up 2 flights of stairs, into the apartment door into a corridor and our apartment was on a door to the left and there was a door to the right where there was another room. The only door that locked of these 3 was the door into the room itself. So to sum up, the place was fine enough to stay but I don't think it was the place we had actually book, and the service from the owner was not very good. I'm sure there are better places to stay in Split.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived in split and a very kind man walked us the very short trip from the bus / taxi / port area to our accommodation. Its only a 5-10 min walk within the walls of the old town. From the building and stair well we thought the place was going to be terrible, but when Malena opened the door - we were presented with a virtually brand new apartment. She is a wonderful host and lives within the flat. She gave is maps of the city and advice of where to go. The room was fantastic and the bathroom was beautiful and spotless. We were given fresh towels, sheets and fresh fruit. The apartment is bang in the centre of the action and it has triple glazing so you cant hear any noise at night. It has AC so is comfortable regardless of the heat.
I cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is great base from which to explore central Split and is located off Adamova, in the heart of Diocletian's Palace. Thoughtfully, Malena took the initiative to meet us a the airport bus (fortunately for us, it turned out as the apartment is a bit tricky to locate). Once there we received a warm welcome and were offered juice and snacks before being shown to our room. This was a charming, clean double en suite with tasteful antique reproductions of the palace on the wall and a view of St Domnius' campanile from the window. Malena was also forthcoming with maps and tips for sightseeing and restaurants. I heartily recommend the apartments, which were clean, very central and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartments Malena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Malena

Address: Adamova 3, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 332 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Malena 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apartments Malena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments Malena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.