We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luxe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luxe to your Saves list
Hotel Luxe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ulica kralja Zvonimira 6, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Split
Cardiff, South Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

When you approach by car, first impressions are not great as the hotel is positioned in between other buildings on a featureless street. However, these doubts are immediately dispelled on entering the hotel, which is well equipped with a modern funky design. We found service throughout to be exceptional, and the hotel is spotlessly clean. We stayed on the fourth floor (rooms 406, 407) which are superior sea facing rooms with good size balconies, both with wonderful views over rooftops to the port area and surrounding coastline.

The breakfast buffet is reasonably well stocked with hot and cold options (some with an Asian influence) and whilst a little limited, there was always enough choice. The hotel will provide certain other items on request, such as fried eggs and omelettes. There is no pool but the jacuzzi in the 'wellness area' is sizeable and well worth a visit, and there is a treatment room where spa treatment is also available (although we did not try the latter).

You soon realise that the location of Hotel Luxe is a major major plus, as it is only a five minute walk to the wonderful Riva area and Diocletian's Palace. We thought about the Radisson Blu and Le Meridien, but were glad we opted for the Luxe as the close proximity to Split centre is a real advantage for easy strolling to/from sightseeing areas and restaurants. We had several excellent fish meals at Konoba Matejuska, 10 minute wall from the hotel, which we would strongly recommend, and we found a great Italian called Galija.

When considering hotel options in Split, it's worth bearing in mind that the Luxe also offer free car parking in a secured area which is another big plus, especially for a city centre hotel. Krka National Park is only an hour away by car and a 'must visit' attraction for its spectacular waterfalls.

Room Tip: Sea facing room with balcony on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    133
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
64
211
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prior Lake, MN
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Very different and new. Not a charming place, but fun and different. Could be too Art Deco for some people. Good location near the pier and palace. Good breakfast. Great bathrooms. Very clean. It's a small hotel but it feels like a big one due to the detail of the decor. The help was nice, but not overly friendly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent location; decent size suite.
This little boutique hotel is located within minutes of the bus and ferry terminals; also next to the palace and restaurants.
The downside is the lack of onsite restaurant; though breakfast is served in the lobby; We were very impressed with the staff; helpful and ever smiling.
The spa and hot tub are prestty small.
Tips: you cannot park outside the hotel, have to park in the back; so drop off your luggage at the front door.
The wi-fi has 20% off deals on the drinks in the lobby.

Room Tip: Suite with ocean veiw or balxony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in early September. The hotel has a parking lot two minutes from the entrance which is a great plus.

It's located a ten minute walk from the palace and another ten minute walk (opposite direction) to the beach.

It has a funky decor which I wasn't a huge fan of but was still very nice and clean. Two of us had balconies that had "views" of the sea and doubled as places to dry our clothing. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. They gave us beach towels and held our luggage for two days when we went to Hvar without any complaints.

The rooms and bathrooms were very nice but I do have one caveat. This is a great place for a romantic getaway. Not so much for a family trip. The bathrooms were all glass and open. There's a giant mirror in the shower and the shower/bathtub is glass so you can see in from the room (basically a show for your partner while you're showering). There was a drape covering the shower to the room but it didn't extend the whole way so you always had to warn everyone when you were going into the bathroom (hardly any privacy). Our family dubbed this hotel the sexy time place.

If you're going to stay here for your honeymoon or a romantic escape then I would recommend this hotel. If not, then I'd think about going to another place where there's more privacy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Namur, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. Our room wasn't exactly a hotel room, it was a 2 bedroom apartment, very close to the hotel. I really recommend asking the hotel about the availability of this apartment before booking. The reception staff is very friendly.
The appartment has a living room, kitchen, 2 bathrooms, tv, and free wi fi.

PROS:
- Great Location
- Very clen and new facilities
- Has a free private parking
- Good Value
- Great view

Room Tip: Before booking a room, ask for the availability of the apartment (for two couples, or a family)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel, especially the great location a few minutes' walk from the Riva and Diocletian's Palace. Small boutique hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. Clean, nice view of the ships in the harbor, buffet breakfast in the morning. I wasn't too keen on the modern purple decor in the lobby and restaurant, but the concierge made up for it by scoring us reservations to Mateuszka for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here in 2 rounds, First time for 2 nights and the second time for 3 nights. 1st couple of nights was a deluxe twin room. The room was clean, odour-free, well laid out. The bathroom was clean and tidy, had plenty of space and the necessary amenities. The hotel is very well located, central to the beach and the palace.
The hotel has a very nice jacuzzi, I will definitely recommend it to anyone staying with Hotel Luxe.
The second time round, we had booked the apartment but only at the time of arrival did we realise that it is much further from the centre of the city than we would have liked. In addition, the apartment had 1 a/c unit so the friend staying the living room was too cold, while those in the rooms were feeling too hot.
This is where the hotel's service kicks in, upon hearing our complaints they offered to put us in three separate rooms. So the couple had 1 room and 2 singles had 1 room each. They did this with complete understanding. Whenever we'd ask about things to do and/or places to see, they were more than willing to help with suggestions and very patient with our requests.
The hotel is clean, well facilitated and centrally located, The staff make the hotel great. I will recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Split.

Room Tip: Room 504 is great for single travellers, large room. large window and a big bathroom to add. Small h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxe

Address: Ulica kralja Zvonimira 6, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luxe 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Luxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.