We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Element now Allegria. Simple, no frills, great for a light lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Element - CLOSED

Element
Bajamonte at the Iron Gate, Split, Croatia
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Perugia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Element now Allegria. Simple, no frills, great for a light lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lovely courtyard, very pleasant ambience. Great service and reasonable prices. However, the Caesar salads not true Caesar salads comprising shredded lettuce, topped with cubed oiled bread and chicken with a little dressing on top. That's it. No embellishments and slightly disappointing but good nonetheless. Friend's grilled squid looked great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    4
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasteless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nice staff but very tastelees food very bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad food go some another place

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine, value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

After eating in fish restaurant for nearly a week in Hvar we wanted something different and stumbled upon this place by chance .
I am surprised by the bad reviews as our experience was totally different . Maybe the change of name goes with a change of ownership .
My partner had a caesar salad with came with a real caesar dressing (homade with anchovy) which is rare enough in Europr to be mentionned .
I had the homemade pasta cooked with onions in white wine with pine nuts . it was excellent and the shape of the pasta confirms the homemade claim .
The waiter which was super friendly recommended the cheesecake which was creamy and not made from a processed mix . It was simply delicious
The place was packed with french people which led me to believe that it was recommended in one of their guides (Le routard maybe?)
The interior couryard is lovely , peaceful and romantic

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Restaurant To Avoid !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The name is no element but allegria now !
We came to this restaurant with my friends after we saw the menu and the atmosphere. The place was lovely but that's all.
We have to wait 50 Min for having our meal and they served us the wrong dishes.
The waiter was unpleasant and accused us to order the wrong dishes.
Concerning the dishes, the Pasta was overcooked and the Risotto was undercooked.

We wanted to pay the chech (which was very expensive for the food quality) separetely but the waiter does not agree and again UNPLEASANT !!!!!!

Please avoid this restaurant !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A truly terrible meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

After looking over several restaurants located within Diocletian's Palace walls, we settled on Allegria--nice cosy location off the busy main squares. A rather sullen waiter approached us and remained long enough to take our order--a shrimp risotto and a shrimp and tomato soup (early, light dinner). The risotto arrived with what appeared to be tiny frozen shrimp combined with undercooked risotto--truly unremarkable and therefore very overpriced..

A real source of wonderment, however, was the shrimp and tomato soup that contained absolutely no shrimp. We called this to our waiter's attention, who indifferently informed us that it was in fact shrimp and tomato soup. We replied that it contained no shrimp which pretty much disqualified it as shrimp and tomato soup, and asked that he take it back to the kitchen. He returned a moment later and reported that the kitchen said it was shrimp and tomato soup. We countered that he needed to take it back to the kitchen again, which he reuctantly did, and returned a few minutes later with a few small frozen shrimp languishing in the tomato broth.

We have eaten very well in both Dubrovkik (Otto's) and in Split, so Allegria was the exception. This restaurant clearly has a lot of work to do; both with the wait staff and in the kitchen.

Christopher Wheeler

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Element also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Element, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.