We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel experience ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diocletian Palace Hostel

Save Saved
You added Diocletian Palace Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diocletian Palace Hostel
Nepotova 4 | in the heart of the Diocletian palace, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly Diocletian Palace Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 272 Specialty lodging in Split
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best hostel experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I planned to stay here for just one or two night then move on, but it was so unbelievably good I stayed for my entire 5 night trip in Split. Staff were helpful and friendly, rooms and bathrooms were clean, every one was thoroughly lovely. The food in the resteraunt was outstanding and the buidlding itself is fabuous. Special thanks to Nicolas one of the hostel staff for being so knowledgable on the town and giving us a tour, we had just a fantastic time here and I cannot wait to return. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Split, I actually think they are missing a trick and could charge far more than they currently do!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
1
15
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We didn't stay in the hostel, but went there for the free walking tour and then went back for lunch. Maria took us and about 10 others on a walking tour of Split. She was fabulous. She provided all the history you'd expect, but was also willing to share some stories about her own family experiences. It lasts about 90 minutes. Please on't regard this as a free tour. If you can afford to tip Maria, the other tours charge 11 to 15 Euros. This seemed a much smaller and less stuffy tour group than the others we saw.

There was no expectation that we return to the hostel to eat. In fact the tour didn't end there. We did go back though and had a great lunch, local beer and free wifi.

The tourist info office has a map that shows how to get there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A new pretty swish hostel in a beautiful city. We booked a double room and were surprised to find that meant a private apartment, great! The agency staff really looked after us, booking bikes and advice on Island hopping after we left Split. Except for the thumping Euro house played in the cafe I'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment - same price and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I booked two separate nights here at either end of our trip to Croatia. I was initially confused as I emailed an agency regarding private apartments and the reply came from the Diocletian Palace Hostel. I asked them to confirm that we were definitely staying in private apartments and not a hostel, which they did. On our first night we had a fab apartment with sofa, stereo, tv, kitchenette and double bed. We were told we would have the same apartment on our second stay, however, we're instead given private use of a 4 bed hostel type studio with bunk beds. I was quite disappointed as this is not what we had been promised. 

The agency arranged for us to be collected /returned to the airport for 250k each way which was hassle free. We hired bikes for 4 hours for 50k each and the bikes were in good condition. 

I would stay at the apartments again only if I were guaranteed the private apartment and not the bunk bed room. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My group of friend's and I stayed here for one night before beginning a sailing trip. It is located within the walls and admittedly the check in lobby and stair way looked very impressive because of it. The room was roomy enough. The sheets were dirty upon arrival, there was no breeze from the window and it was incredibly hot. The shared shower was terrible, one of the showers had no light, the other was over the top of the toilet with no space for clothing/towel to be kept dry whilst showering. At night the bar downstairs was really popular but we did not eat or drink there as we opted for an early night before sailing off.

Overall - average. Nothing special but certainly not the worst place I have ever stayed. It did the job.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were expecting to stay within the hostel but unfortunately we were located a short walk away from it. The apartment we were put up in was small, 2 bunk beds and a very small toilet/shower room which had NO light which made using it VERY difficult (I still haven’t gotten over this). The apartment was clean but not well maintained. The entrance to the apartment is not very appealing either. On the plus side it did have air con. We decided to go back to hostel for something to eat on our one and only night in Split…….after sitting at our table for 15 mins without even our drinks order being taken we decided enough was enough…. A disappointing stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

You are enticed in by a 20 per cent discount flyer, but then realise everyone gets this and they must hike the prices up. The food is your average, as in bland, very salty Croation fare. The cocktails are good value though. The wi fi often doesn't work or is very slow. They don't give you tap water, bottled only so they can make more money. Service is typically slow and sometimes you get a half smile. If you go with low expectations, you'll be satisfied. Go with medium to high expectations because the menu 'sounds' good, prepare yourself for disappointment. The Croation hospitality industry in general needs to learn from its neighbours, in my opiniion. Go to a supermarket instead and buy tortellini and a ready made sauce, you'll save yourself at least 75 per cent!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diocletian Palace Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diocletian Palace Hostel

Address: Nepotova 4 | in the heart of the Diocletian palace, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly Diocletian Palace Guesthouse)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 272 Specialty lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*ONLY 200 M FROM FERRY PORT, MAIN TRAIN/BUS/AIRPORT SHUTTLE STATION!!*Hostel is part of Diocletian's Palace, 1700 years old building. One of the walls is original palace wall.It doesn't get more central then this:- 1 min from the main square Peristil- 1 min from all museums and palace basement- 1 min from all bars and restaurant- 1 min from green market and food store- 1 min from ATM and bank- 5 min from bus+ train+harbor- 10 min from the main BacviceAccommodation Info :Mix dorm rooms with 4 beds, 6 beds, 8 beds and 10 bedsDouble / twin room inside the hostelBedroom with private bathroom - 2min from reception desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Diocletian Palace Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diocletian Palace Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.