We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel wasn't great, but apartment was amazing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diocletian Palace Experience

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Diocletian Palace Experience to your Saves list
Diocletian Palace Experience
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nepotova 4 | in the heart of the Diocletian palace, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly Diocletian Palace Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Split
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hostel wasn't great, but apartment was amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We travelled to Split and had booked the last 2 available rooms, 2 of our group in an 8 bed dorm, and the other 3 in a 3 bed apartment with en-suite (roughly the same price). Upon arrival the 3 in the apartment were told that the apartment was a ten minute walk from the hostel, so we were very annoyed, but it was only about 5 minutes away and was so lovely, really sweet little apartment (can easily sleep 5) plus it had air-con and cooking equipment. The 2 boys had to stay in the hostel and didn't enjoy it at all. It was better if you want to meet people, but there was no air-con and they had many sleepless nights due to the unbearable heat. It was however, very clean and the staff were lovely. The hostel markets itself as a party hostel, which it isn't, but can assist you in finding bar crawls to do etc.
If you can get the apartment I really recommend this hostel (although you won't make new friends there), such good value (especially if split between 5) however if you have to stay in the rooms then I recommend elsewhere...especially in the height of summer!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    22
    7
    17
See reviews for
3
20
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Awesome place to stay as the prices are great and location is prime. Common room to chill where I met lots of new people. Clean and big lockers for backpacks. Nightlife around the place wasn't great but was able to drink in the hostel with friends. Recommended to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Diocletian's Palace Hostel, located in the heart of the ancient old town, is the perfect atmosphere to explore the city of Split. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, taking the time to answer all of our questions and guide us to some of the best sites, restaurants, and nightlife in the city. The rooms and bathrooms are brand new and very clean. The other guests in the hostel were lively, friendly and the common room made it easy to make friends quickly. I couldn't recommend this hostel more - great accommodation, location, and atmosphere at an affordable cost!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Diocletian's Palace is a great and affordable hostel to stay in while in Split. I have stayed there a total of six night and an very satisfied. I met great people in that common room and its a very nice and inviting place to hang out. The people behind the reception are super cool too, very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Guesthouse rents out a variety of apartments in various locations. You might get lucky (as I did) and get a cute, brightly painted and well-appointed modern little apartment.
My one-bedroom apartment was just outside the walls of Diocletian’s Palace. The location was excellent, right near some good eating places. The price (40€) was quite reasonable.
Josip is responsive and helpful. He arranged a tour for us and gave us all the tourist maps and information that we needed.
The main drawback to renting through the Guesthouse is that you don’t get to see photos of the actual places available and choose one that suits you. My apartment was up several flights of stairs, but that was a plus for me. I liked being on the top floor, away from street noise. Bar music can be a problem in and around Diocletian’s Palace, but good windows and shutters blocked out all noise.
I enjoyed living in an apartment building among the locals of Split. Much more characterful than an impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

For 40EUR, we stayed one night at a comfortable and nice apartment that i found better furnished than most places we've stayed (and we've been to 16 places all over Croatia, Slovenia, and Bosnia on this trip). They have thought of everything, including converter plugs for power sockets, a decent-sized TV and a stereo system, and they even manages to squeeze a washing machine in the bathroom. The location is amazing, right inside the walls of the old city. Mr. Joseph who owns the place is very helpful and accommodating.
The oly thing missing is Wi-fi in the room but you are welcome to access that at their nearby office.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Ideally located, within walking distance of bus and ferry terminals, in the very centre of the old town. Easy to find, with very helpful, English-speaking staff available from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Lots of assistance with local activities, restaurant discounts and travel arrangements (including a 4.45 a.m. airport transfer).

The room I stayed in was perhaps expensive for a single traveller, but would be ideal for a group or family (sleeps five easily). Basic features, including small bathroom and some kitchen facilities, but as much as you would reasonably need. No room service or breakfast. You let yourself in and out with a key.

If you're looking for no-frills accommodation in an excellent location in Split, do consider this place - I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Thanks to all for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Diocletian Palace Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diocletian Palace Experience

Address: Nepotova 4 | in the heart of the Diocletian palace, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly Diocletian Palace Hostel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diocletian Palace Experience 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diocletian Palace Experience.. place located in the center of the Diocletian Palace, 1700 years old, on the east wall of it. The unique experience and memory making place, just few minutes walking distance from the bus, train and ferry terminal. In walking distance there is a majority of the main historical and cultural attractions to see and to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Diocletian Palace Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diocletian Palace Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.