We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boban

Boban
Ulica Petra Hektorovica 49, Split 21000, Croatia
+38598293446
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 212 Restaurants in Split
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is probably the best restaurant in Split. Website should be sufficient to identify it. Googling 'Boban restaurant Split' provides numerous reviews.
Larchmont, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A memorable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Boban is well worth seeking out. I was part of a group of seven and we all had an unforgettable experience. We were seated in a small room off the main dining area. Ivica,our waiter, took charge of our dinner. He brought us a goat cheese bruschetta to start. Five of us had several of the veal entrees on the menu, and two ordered the noodles with dark squid ink. Ivica mixed after dinner drinks for us on a cart by the table (port for the women) and recommended an exceptional cake for dessert. He enhanced our experience by being so gracious, making suggestions, bringing complimentary sides and joining in our happy spirit. The dining room is serenely modern, with white table cloths, fresh flowers on the tables and long stemmed flatware.The value is incredible. For me, the whole cost of the dinner (including wine and my share of the cake) was $20. I'm only sorry I was only able to have one meal there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    11
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic service, great food, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Just had lunch at Boban with family. Couldnt flaw a thing- service impeccable, attentive and pleasant, not intrusive or loud as many places around can be like. Food very good, homemade pasta which was amazing , as mum used to make it, great steak and beef carpaccio. I would only get rid of te trolley for food, doesnt suitt this beautiful and modern place at all. All in all excellent experience. Highly recommended and we really eat out almost every day due to work committments.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“very good and interesting restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went to the Boban and it was a bit tricky to find. The first impression was throughout positively. The interior is nice and warm and they have a terrace for sitting outside. Here it was positive that the restaurant is difficult to find as it lays in a small back road near the hospital, so it was very romantic and calm. The service was smooth, solid and obliging. We ate a fish platter with several sea food and very nice fresh fish. It was actually perfectly prepared in the way you expect it in a Mediterranean restaurant. We had also tenderloin with Istrian truffles and homemade gnocchis. It rounded the package up as they seem to tend to some dishes which are not offered elsewhere. All was tasty the wines we got offered was good so the desserts. The prices are similar to the ones in Germany and maybe on the higher end for Croatia, but still fair from my point of view and reasonable. Boban is recommendable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Food but not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our hotel pushed us to this restaurant and we didn't like it. Had old-style white table cloth service but the food was lacking. Our waitress didn't understand much English and the head server was not much help to her. She misunderstood two dishes of our order and brought us something else. Risotto just OK. Brought everything out on large noisy carts instead of merely carrying two plates to our table. We and two other parties had to change tables because of the bad odor on part of the terrace. Staff had to burn incense to cover the smell. Would not go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A welcome change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Indeed a surprise. Food quality and taste was excellent. Each member of our party of six enjoyed the Italian flavor. The neighborhood restaurant was a welcome change after so much delicious sea specialities in this latitude.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boban also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Boban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.