We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location! Perfect for exploring the city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gold

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vila Gold to your Saves list
Vila Gold
Matosica 19, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 109 Split B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent location! Perfect for exploring the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one evening after the flight times were changed and we were unable to get back from Hvar in time. This hotel is situated in a perfect location in Split. Two mins from the Catamaran. Two minutes from lovely bars and cafes. The ladies who met us made us feel extremely welcome. Rooms were clean and compact. Bathrooms well appointed. We will definitely be using this hotel again when the catamaran proves difficult to catch or is full!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Decorated beautifully, very pretty, all the little touches that make it special,
really kind owners, amazing facilities for price (massage jets and radio in the shower!)
was a few minutes from the main square which meant you were near much nicer resturants which had better food and werent over priced like in the centre,
definately recommend to anyone,
really excellent place

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and found it a lovely place to stay. It was clean and roomy with a VERY nice shower ... perfect after a day at the beach! The host owns a shop just across from Vila Gold, so he is not around a lot and you can come and go as you please. He speaks very little English, but his daughter is quite fluent. As everywhere in Croatia (except hotels), breakfast is not included, but they do have a kettle in the room ... something that I found to be very rare in Europe's b&bs. All in all, a great stay, great location (you can walk EVERYWHERE) and good value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had a fantastic time in Split. We stayed at Vila Gold a couple of times as stop overs between our Croatian sailing adventure. Both times were fun. The location is superb, the price is right and the rooms are clean and serve their purpose. You have to be aware that the hotel is in old town and people returning from bars walk by it so you will hear that noise at night. For us, it just added to the charm, and being in old town is what we expect, so it didn't bother us at all. Wi-Fi worked very well for us which is important because we run a business remotely while traveling the world. You can see our place reviews and follow our journey at facebook.com/whitecollarvagabond . So all in all, if you're looking to have a great time and don't need bunch of frills you will be very happy with this choice. Our best memory is watching three guys coming back from bars singing we are the people....

Room Tip: Get the balcony room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed here for the last night of our holiday, we had spent two weeks living on board a yacht. So it was great to be able to have a proper shower and sleep in a full size bed. The owner who also runs a shop over the road is a really nice man who tries very hard to make your stay comfortable, which he does with ease. It is a stones throw from the heart of the old town and a cracking base to explore the town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night in June and were very happy with our stay. The location was great, being situated just a few minutes walk outside Diocletian’s Palace walls. Upon arriving in Split quite late we drove to the Croatian National Theatre and phoned as instructed, then Zoran (he owns the B&B, whereas his daughter manages a lot of their business) came to meet us, jumped in the car and directed us to a street 5 minutes from the apartment where we could park over night for free – very helpful.
The house is on a shopping street (possibly a little noisy for some) and has three rooms on three floors with a shared kitchen area on the ground floor. We were the only guests on this night so it felt like we had the place to ourselves, and had the best room that had a nice little balcony area. The double bedroom was small but comfortable, had A/C unit, with decent bathroom with modern walk in shower. It seems a lot of effort has gone into trying to provide all the mod cons, not something you always expect in a budget B&B.
Upon checking out Zoran let us leave our luggage in the kitchen area and even entrusted us to keep the key so we could let ourselves in during the siesta if need be. He was very accommodating and a real character and I would recommend this place as a great base to explore Split from.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gold

Address: Matosica 19, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Gold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gold, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.