We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Suites Split

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palace Suites Split to your Saves list
Palace Suites Split
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Narodni Trg 13, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“would recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

My sister and I stayed here in July. I found this place through trip advisor & it looked pretty good. We were not disappointed. The room was lovely. Very clean - spotless, very modern and well furnished, & I loved the look of the stone wall.
The location was good - very central, however could get a little noisy in the mornings or late at night, and is a bit of a struggle to reach with luggage - as taxis/buses aren't allowed in the square.
Service was good. All staff were friendly & chatty and were very helpful. We also managed to get a late breakfast one morning as we were tired from our travels & needed a good sleep in - which was very thoughtful.
Beds are also very comfortable.

Overall we had a great stay in Split - LOVED the town & the accommodation was not a let down by any means. I would recommend palace suites to friends & will stay there again if ever in Split.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    29
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
69
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We had a very nice room at the Palace Suites hotel. The location and room were excellent.
The service was a real disappointment. We had a quite early return flight (at 9.30 a.m.) and wished to have breakfast or even something small to eat at 6.30 - 7.30 a.m. It was too challenging for the hotel. They have normally the breakfast from 8.00 a.m. and couldn't be flexible enought to arrange even something small to eat before that. The room rate was almost 200 euros and for that price I would await some service minded flexibility.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaquemine, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Loved the location right in the square of old town but it was quite a walk with luggage since no cars are allowed inside the old town. Public parking about 1/3 mile away and then up 2 flights of stairs with luggage to room. Tastefully done furnishings but continental breakfast must be eaten in your room-on the desk-as no dining room facility. Staff very helpful but it was not easy to find. Good to stay for a night or two to investigate the Diocletian Palace and old town. Hot water only lasts about 3-4 minutes for shower so take turns with a few minutes between when sharing a room.

Stayed July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We were a little set off when we first arrived to climb a set of stairs and be checked into our room in what looked like a private apartment dining room/office/ironing room, but as it turned out, it was a very nice clean modern room in a great location and very nice proprietors, who were very helpful! Our first room was little small ( but typical for Europe) we switched to a bigger room which was wonderful and overlooked the piazza! We could walk to the Riva for entertainment, drinks, and food too! Breakfast is delivered to the room..they have no dining facilities, and office closes at 5pm, so ask all your questions before that time.
Very worth it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Two couples stayed in two different rooms at the Palace Suites, one smaller at the back and a bigger room at the front (our room). Both were excellent in every way - spotless, new amenities within beautiful old stone walls, great friendly service, brilliant central location to all major sights, quiet even though there are cafes below and good value for money. The exterior can be deceptive because it's old, but through the door are modern suites managed by a friendly women who gives you the tips of the town - where to go (with map), what to see, where to eat etc. If you are looking for a commercial hotel with leisure pool, reception, lounge or pool, don't stay here. If you want a friendly and homely apartment without a kitchen, then this is brilliant. We are unfit 60-65 years olds and the steps were ok. No lift due to council regulations. Continental breakfast in our room was good and fresh with excellent coffee, fruit, yoghurt, breakfast cakes etc. It arrived at the time we requested. Our room at the front was large enough to accommodate the four of us for breakfast on the lounge and chairs with plenty of room to spare. The back room would have done the same. All facilities are new and modern. It's a very safe and secure place and its central location is brilliant. I highly recommend the suites for authentic Croatian hospitality which is a great alternative to a big hotel. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Money must have changed hands for this hotel to be granted 4-star status as it has absolutely no amenities. Not one. Unless you count free internet in your room.

With a location in a heritage square in the middle of the Split old town, just meters from the Diocletian's Palace, the location of this hotel is impossible to fault. But in booking a 4* hotel, we expected more than just a fortuitous real estate deal by the owner -- this hotel has no restaurant, no bar, no terrace, no patio, no common area, no business centre, not even a reception area (which appears to be in someone's living room). Even our daily shower amenities were never replaced even though we stayed for 3 nights and ran out of them after the first.

We stayed in a suite and although the rooms are an interesting blend of contemporary and original features, they had so much more potential: ALL the furniture (and I'm talking even bathroom cabinetry) was from the exact same line and style -- the Croatian DFS must have been having a clearance -- and there were too many useless pieces featuring drawers (do people really use the drawers in hotels?) jammed in rather than, for example, more seating so that someone didn't have to sit on the bed to watch TV.

Cleanliness was far from top notch as well. As the floors were hardwood and tile, it seemed the vacuum was deemed unnecessary (or perhaps too cumbersome to drag up the elevatorless floors), so we were actually bequeathed more hairs than our own from the filthy mop used in the bathroom.

A nice touch was that, owing to the absence of a restaurant, the continential breakfast was served in the room, which suited our late night/late morning travel style.

In short, when we found the "real" 4-star Vestibule Palace Hotel mere steps away inside the walls of the Palace with its beautiful secluded patio just outside the Ethnography Museum, we were filled with regret.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

LOCATION
It's hard to find (the door is a bit hidden), but the location could not be any better. It's right in the very centre of the old town, overlooking one of the main squares. It's a 2 minute walk from the old Palace, a 2 min walk to the ocean, a 2 min walk to the markets and close to several good restaurants.

ROOMS
The rooms are huge and brand-new. The design is modern with clean lines and sleek dark wood furniture. A stone wall adds a romantic touch. Half of the rooms are to the front (facing the main square) and are slightly bigger. The other half are facing the back of the hotel and are probably a bit dark and smaller. While the square can be a bit noisy, the windows are so sound-proof that once you close them you can't hear a thing.
There is air-conditioning, a small safe, a fridge and a big SONY Bravia Flatscreen TV.
The beds are very comfortable, though the sheets are a bit flimsy.

BATHROOM
It's large, clean and bright. Each room comes with their own hot water tank, so once you've used up the hot water, you have to wait for 30min before you have more hot water. However, the tank is sufficient for at least 2 decent long hot showers before it runs out.
We did notice the smell that other visitors had described (only in the evenings), but it wasn't really a problem (simply close the bathroom doors) and it's not very strong.

BREAKFAST
Fresh pastries, yoghurt, juice, fruit salad, tea/coffee. All served directly in your room - at the time you wish. Great!

SERVICE
The family (?) who owns the hotel is incredibly friendly and is making a great effort to make you feel welcome. They care and will try whatever they can to help. Very personal. A warm and welcoming experience.

OVERALL
We were hoping to book the 5-star hotel, but that was already booked out, as were some others. But we ended up LOVING the Palace Suites Hotel and would definitely come back to stay there again. You'll probably want to get one of the larger front-facing rooms though, but you will not regret staying here. Perfect for a romantic weekend get-away.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Suites Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Suites Split

Address: Narodni Trg 13, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Suites Split 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palace Suites Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Suites Split, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.