We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic nautical decoration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Varos

Konoba Varos
Ban Mladenova 7, Split, Croatia
021/396-138
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 214 Restaurants in Split
Cuisines: Seafood, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
St Cloud
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“authentic nautical decoration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

make sure you book as you really want to eat Inside - the atmosphere is excellent. Portions and quality good with a large choice of croatian wines at a reasonable price

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    62
    26
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good traditional food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Our Croatian friend who lives in Split took us here for dinner. The food is quite traditional fare, as is the decor, and the food is served "family style". We enjoyed our meals (black risotto, a spiced deer stew with gnocchi, and creme caramel type dessert) and thought that the price was very reasonable given the large portions. We found the service to be friendly, efficient, and humorous. A good place to go for a decent, "Croatian" meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Food was average and service was rushed. Platters were served family style and everything was brought at one time. Vegetarian tofu with vegetables were too smokey and greasy. Salads were good but served with main course.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Skip this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by our tour guide and we were expecting a quality restaurant with a good value. Instead we found this restaurant to be lacking in both, the service and the quality of food, which in my opinion are the most important things when going to a restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful service - average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Our hotel Palace Judita recommended this local restaurant but we were sorely disappointed with most of the evening. The positives - the food is fairly priced for Split and the Schnitzel was excellent. The negatives - the waiters just created an awful ambiance with their rude treatment of arriving guests who were looking for tables. Everyone was turned away with a verbal slap in the face. And adding to this bad ambiance - an octopus salad with chewy old octopus and a green spaghetti which tasted like it came from a can. The unfortunate reality is that this restaurant is more interests in catering to big groups than making sure guests are properly treated and respected. Don't waste your money or time visiting this virtual cesspool.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Varos also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Konoba Varos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Varos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.