We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, great price - I'll be back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Split Inn Apartments

Save Saved
You added Split Inn Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Split Inn Apartments
Krizeva 9, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 270 Specialty lodging in Split
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, great price - I'll be back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Stayed at Split Inn Apartments for 4 nights last week and must say it was superb. It was my first visit to Croatia and I am already wanting to go back! Dean (pronounced Dee-Ann) MacLean (yes, he has Scottish ancestors) was most helpful, friendly and welcoming. He recommended trips, restaurants and general advise on transport, etc and was always available in the mornings if you had any queries. The apartment was located in the centre of Veli Varos which was great as it was secluded enough to be away from the bustle of the Riva yet a few minutes from it on foot – best of both worlds. Split city is vibrant, chaotic, wonderful and the sun shone the whole time I was there – such a treat after a winter in Scotland. I would definitely recommend this place to stay for the service and location alone – I shall be back with my partner next time, can’t wait.

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

I stayed here with my boyfriend and we were both very pleased with the room. It was more stylish than any other place we stayed in Croatia (we also went to Dubrovnik, Korcula and Mjet). It was of course clean and comfortable as well! The best part was how nice and helpful the owner was. He gave us maps of the city, tips of what we should do, restaurant recommendations -- the works. He also was kind enough to offer to let us play with his puppy and tell us about the history of the city. This was our best hotel experience in Croatia by far. I think the owner of Split Inn also owns other places as well. I would definitely stay there again if I go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We arrived in Split on a ferry from Italy & were met by the owner (Dean, as mentioned in previous reviews). He recommended many restaurants, sights etc & was extremely helpful & friendly. The apartments themselves are located off a small side street within a maze of alleyways about 2mins walk from the main seafront promenade or 'Riva'.
We had booked a studio apartment which was large with modern decor, stone walls features, large comfortable double bed, adjoining kitchen, bathroom & a sofa facing a flat screen tv which had lots of english speaking tv channels. Everything you could possibly want under one roof & at a fanstastic price!
After settling in we climbed up a lot of steps (just beside the apartment) to get to a bar with the best view of Split (recommended by the owner). Well worth the effort as we sat back drinking a few beers. We stayed in Spit for two days & both mornings we had breakfast at a local smoothie bar. Personally, I really liked Split & would have liked at least another day there to see a bit more of the place. But we had already made our travel plans & were on the way to Dubrovnik. Speaking of Dubrovnik, we visited a place called Trodgir, about 30 mins by bus or boat from Split, which is known as the mini-Dubrovnik.
In summary, if you are thinking of visiting Split & want to stay somewhere close to the main promenade I would highly recommend the Split Inn Apartments.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Our requirement was well located, clean and available accommodation. We got that, but no more (actually, would agree with the other reviewers that Dean is a nice welcoming chap, but overall it was ok not great). The place we had originally booked had double booked and there was a large sporting event in Split that weekend, so when we were left room-less the week before we were arriving, we were just grateful to find somewhere well located that could accomodate us!
We travel a lot across Europe and rest of world and prefer 4*/5* hotels, so staying in an apartment was not in keeping with our usual style ... and so I would caveat my review with that. If you are happy with basic, clean accomodation this would fit the bill. If you want comfortable beds, plush furnishings then you will be disappointed.
Given our lateness in booking it is likely that we got the least best room, the other pictures definitely looked better than the room we had.
Anyway, ok not great would be our summary, but caveated heavily with it's all about perspectives and we are self confessed hotel snobs!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We had a great time in Split staying for three nights in one of the Split Inn apartments within short walking distance of the 'Riva' and old town. The apartment was spotlessly clean, air conditioned and ideally located for sightseeing and good restaurants. It was in a very quite location, in a small side stree. Very characterful and peaceful so we slept extremely well. For 40 Euros we were collected from the airport and delivered stright to the reception. Dean looked after us very well recommending places to eat and visit. Each day we walked out towards the Marjan to swim from the rocky beaches. Really lovely and was a relief from the heat in the city. We wouldn't recommend the beaches to the east of the city unless you like serious crowds and loud music.

We ate extremely well in local restaurants including Konoba Marjan (excellent fish), Hvaranin, and Sperun which was great for breakfast. All these were within a minute's walk of the apartment. We also used the local launderette where a lovely lady did a service wash. All excellent value. I can't vouch for the other apartments but the one we had was excellent in every way. We will certainly return to Split Inn apartments.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

if you want the self-catering option in Split, these apartments are v good. Admittedly I was staying on a ground floor apartment but totally functional and clean etc

I was 5 minutes walk from the heart of the gorgeous Split promenade

and the owner (Dean?) gave some excellent recommendations and was very helpful and knowledgeable - he also runs a local internet cafe which was useful

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Stayed at Split Inn Apartments after reading various positive comments. Was decidedly unimpressed: flats are new but furnishings and equipment are very basic; ground floor flats are dark and smell a bit damp, and mine had a friendly cockroach in residence.
The communal terrace is practically unequipped except for two hard wooden benches which heve seen better days.
Not sure, but for the price delightful Slpit probably has better offers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Split Inn Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Inn Apartments

Address: Krizeva 9, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 270 Specialty lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Split Inn Apartments are located in central city area called Veli Varos, only few steps away from Diocletian s Palace and waterfront Riva.All apartments are new renovated an fit to modern standards in rental business.Our friendly staff in Split Inn business center is always on disposition for any way of help or service you need.Enjoy your home away from home with Split Inn Apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Split Inn Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Split Inn Apartments Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Split Inn Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.