We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Matejuska

Konoba Matejuska
Tomica Stine 3 | Veli Varos, Split 21000, Croatia
+385 21 355 152
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 212 Restaurants in Split
Price range: $9 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our small family restaurant is run by Father & Chef, preparing dishes that are passed on by his mother and grandmother. Our family lives in this neigborhood for more than 300 years. Blessed by the heavenly Adriatic, seafood is mainly our thing. As we depend on the weather working with fish, daily menu is flexible. Vegetables are bought on the bazaar behind the palace & the fish-market is 100m away. Even our wine & olive oil is made by local family producers. Enjoy traditional Dalmatian dishes in friendly atmosphere.. Welcome foodies!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I kept missing a table by 5 minutes every time we went by so we had to make a reservation for lunch on our last day. It was so worth it. We had fried shrimp to start with, which were not too heavy or breaded and greasy, just light and crispy. We shared a fish plate, with 3 kinds of delicious grilled fish. Each was different enough that you felt like you were getting a real sampler of different texture and taste. The wine was good and the glasses were filled nice and full. The waiter was funny and nice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    94
    21
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Generally a #2 rating in Trip Advisor indicates a very good restaurant. In this case, the rating seems to be inflated. I tried to order a black risotto, but they were out; I tried to order calamari, but they were out. What they had was fish, only fish. The waiter brought a plate of fish for us to select one from. My wife chose the sea bass; the waiter said it was most popular. We also had a plate of small fried fish; the portion wasn't very large for this dish, they were too salty, and they seemed flaccid, not crisp as we had enjoyed at Kamenice in Dubrovnik. I had the touted shrimp soup and found it unexceptional; my wife tasted it, thinking she might want a bowl. She did not.
A plate of fried vegetables (red and white peppers, eggplant, and zucchini) did not seem freshly cooked; my wife thought they'd done it earlier in the morning (we were eating lunch). The sea
bass was very, very good, BUT the price tag was 202.50 kune--$35.96 or €26.59--that's an awfully lot of money in Croatia for a fish with absolutely nothing else. The rub is you don't know what it will cost until you get the bill. They price fish in two categories a "prime" fish costs 390 kune per kilo, a "secondary" fish less, but you don't know the weight until you have to pay. The fact that this restaurant did not have the seafood dishes with fixed prices but only had fish available which cost an unknown but whopping amount of money relegates this restaurant, in our minds, as second-rate at best. You can get a similarly very fresh sea bass half a block away for 65 kune at Fife. I'd strongly suggest the latter restaurant if you value the heft of your pocketbook.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piple, Owner at Konoba Matejuska, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Rating is inflated?? How insulting!!! After almost 5 years of dedication & hard work and all those years we are on top, slowly earning credibility as an unpretentious family place, treating all our guests with the same hospitality and never had a complaint quite like this.
It is so off, in every single way possible, so please let me explain...
First we are a fish restaurant and we wonder how amazed you were that it is a majority of our daily offer. Just to say we always have some meat dishes available as an option.
Secondly, you have to learn one thing: when a waiter at a fish restaurant tells you something is unavailable the reason was that it was not available on the fish-market.
Let me simplify, the fisherman did not catch it probably because of the weather.
Understand our approach of offering to you only the best we have that day, and ask about the prices & fish weight if you are confused. We don't store frozen food and we do not have everything in the menu, ever. Even a fast-food runs out of things.
But then to compare us with a restaurant that is number 61 on TripAdvisor and has 39 terrible reviews is very harsh to say the least! Recently they made a double profile with a similar name..
All we can think of is that you have very little knowledge of seafood. Do you think a sea-bass of 600 grams cost the same at the fish-market as the one of 200g? People should throw those back in sea to grow,. Our fish was presented to you before ordering, brought to your table on a plate, explained.. Where else did you have that option? And yet you chose the most expensive one with having a limited budget, why!?
Even your star rating in unbalanced as the average gives a different total but never mind that now. In the end, your fact-claiming is completely untrue as all of our prices in the menu are fixed (by the law), only the fish is by the kilo, every piece goes on the scale, as all fish are different, like people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No complaints, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Ok, I feel like I'm being overly critical even as I write this. The food is as fresh as can be and well prepared. The fish soup is quite good, and we tried the tuna and amber jack from the local catch- both very tasty. The staff is attentive, and the atmosphere is nice. The pricepoint for this place is very comparable with competitors in the area (quite reasonable); we ended up paying the equivalent of 50 US dollars for two meals, two soups, and splitting a half liter of house wine). I just didn't find anything about this place exciting. The menu is small (even for the style) and the dishes are prepared very simply. If you want fresh, unadulterated seafood, this is be the place for you. If you are looking for anything more, look elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh catch of the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We made reservations but only 9pm was available so we took it. The place is small so, we had to wait outside a little while. The restaurant was filled with locals and tourists so, that was a good sign. The food didn't take too long and it was very good. The 3 kinds of fish we had were grilled perfectly and tasted wonderful and super fresh. The place was actually recommended by a local and didn't realize that it's highly recommended on TA until I saw the sign outside the restaurant. Make sure you try it when in Split.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

What can I say. We were in Europe for a month and this was our favourite restaurant - fantastic food service and value. The best prosciutto I have ever ever had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Matejuska also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Konoba Matejuska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Matejuska, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.