We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crooked River Lodge

Save Saved
You added Crooked River Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crooked River Lodge
6845 US 31 N, Alanson, MI 49706 (Formerly Clarion Collection)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
August Celebrate Summer
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Alanson
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Nice Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

While in the area we stopped and stayed at the Lodge. very nicely decorated and nice rooms. Located right on the Crooked River in Alanson. The staff was friendly and the rates were reasonable.
Next time in the area we will stop back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    25
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
43
53
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed two nights just to get away. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast both mornings was very good. Lots of variety. Our room was a Jacuzzi room with king bed. The balcony overlooked the river.
The river was very high, so the walking paths were not available. The halls were very quiet and we did not hear anything from the adjoining rooms. There is a microwave, mini refrigerator and sink area.
This was a perfect location, just 10 minutes from Petoskey and 25 minutes from Mackinaw City. We visited both and were not disappointed in the drive.
We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here twice this past winter for ski weekends. The staff was so nice and helpful. Love that you can rent snow shoes for a walk around the grounds. Breakfast was wonderful and a bit different each day. We happened to stay in the same room both times we were up there - lots of room and comfortable. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au Train, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Crooked River Lodge is located just north of Petoskey in Alanson, MI. We stayed one night in a standard room with two queen beds and a roll-a-way. Plenty of room to accommodate the extra bed. Beds were comfy and the room was spotless! The pool was wonderful and warm enough to enjoy! Hot tub was "hot" and well kept. Breakfast was great. The great room loft was open to all of the guests and sported a huge tv, sitting areas, games and a pool table. Staff was friendly and very helpful. The lodge had snowshoes that we could use on a mapped trail around the property and there was an outside fire going! What a find - we will come back again!

Room Tip: Ceilings on the third floor are vaulted and truly make the room feel bigger....all rooms have balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was one of the five grannies who attended the knitting retreat at the Lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed the Riverview suite and were surprised at how large it was. The service consistently exceeded my expectations. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The pool was warmer than what you usually find in a hotel and very clean. The hotel also serves the community and allows a ladies group to use the pool for an exercise class and also has open swim hours for a fee. The pool was open 24 hours with "adult only hours" later in the evening and this was so appreciated. It is also equipped with a machine to assist those with disabilities with pool access.
The only disadvantage was that the suites are not connected to the elevator and the stairs make it difficult for those with physical disabilities. The rest of the Lodge is handicap accessible and my husband and I make this our first choice for a winter getaway. They even offer free use of snow shoes and the outdoor fireplace is terrific.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Five grannies loaded our weapons (aka: knitting needles) for a weekend at THE lodge in the Riverview suite. We overflowed the pool, we lounged by the TVs, drank in the views of the Crooked River, and utilized the well appointed kitchen. We loved that the breakfast came complete with a real cook who circulated amongst the guests with enthusiasm. We also enjoyed the Dutch Oven Bakery and Yarn shop.
The CRLodge really improved once Staffords took over.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a hot tub room. Mirror in room was dirty but tub itself was clean. Dusty also in several areas of room. The location is great if you want to go skiing or snowmobile. Lodge feel makes you feel like you are out west. The outdoor fire pit is great because it runs on gas. Usually is is on and ready to enjoy. Front desk help is just ok. Not overly friendly or helpful. Eager to rent you a snowmobile however. Am food is great!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crooked River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked River Lodge

Address: 6845 US 31 N, Alanson, MI 49706 (Formerly Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Alanson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Alanson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stafford's Crooked River Lodge and Suites is conveniently located on US 31 just 1 mile north of Alanson and 12 miles north of Petoskey. We are also 9 miles south of the Pellston international airport. Now under Stafford's Hospitality management we have deeded access to neaby snowmobile and recreation trails and a beautiful vista of the historic Inland Waterway for every room. Newly renovated indoor pool and common areas with 40 spacious family and group friendly rooms and suites. "Your up North adventure starts here" is our promise of a unique and true experience that travelers have come to expect in this beautiful landscape we call home. Let us share our "home" with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Crooked River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooked River Hotel Alanson
Clarion Alanson
Alanson Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crooked River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.