We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crooked River Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Crooked River Lodge to your Saves list
Crooked River Lodge
6845 US 31 N, Alanson, MI 49706 (Formerly Clarion Collection)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Geneva, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at this cozy lodge over New Years and could not have been happier. It is a perfect location in this beautiful area of michigan. We rented snowmobiles and this lodge is right on the trail system. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. There are great resteraunts all around the area. Perfect spot with surrounding ski choices also. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    27
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
46
56
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a wonderful hotel for a refreshing stay near Petosky. Alanson is a small town and should not be discredited as its own small destination. Customer service at this hotel is wonderful. The rooms are darling and the beds quite comfortable. There are two reasons I am not giving this hotel 5 stars. Both issues are in the bathroom. The shower head is not worthy of these rooms. Another small change would be the shower curtain rod. Going to a rounded rod would be small change and would give patrons more turn around room. I'd stay here again in a minute. Less than $100.00 in updates to the room bathrooms would make this hotel even sexier!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Mi.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent one night here in this beautiful lodge. Everything here was decorated in a warm and cozy Up North style. The lobby/sitting room was so appealing with the huge fireplace, and many windows. We loved our 3rd floor 2 room suite overlooking the river. The grounds are so lovely and expansive. We wanted to take the nature walk, but the recent rains flooded some of the trails, so couldn't complete our walk. So we then went for a pedal boat ride that was so peaceful and pretty in the fall. It was hard to leave the water behind, but we had plans for dinner in Harbor Springs. It is such a quiet and serene place. This lodge is located in a perfect location. And the breakfast was great too! We really enjoyed our stay here! I only wish there were more places like this around!

Room Tip: We always enjoy the upper floors of hotels, so were happy to get a top 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Huge rooms in a beautiful setting near Petoskey. Every room has a balcony overlooking their beautiful gardens and out onto the Crooked River.

Indoor pool (adults only from 9pm-9am!), outdoor grill, fire pit for roasting toes and marshmallows, and an exceptional breakfast selection - chef makes something scrumptious every morning plus they have yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, fruit, waffle makers, cereals and oatmeal.

We stumbled on this fabulous place during a driving trip with friends in September and were so pleased, we contacted other friends and took them back in October for the fall color change. Service is great and the place is immaculate!

This hotel has kayaks and paddle boats (with life jackets) that you can take out on the Crooked River, and in the winter they have snow shoes and I believe they said they would arrange for snowmobile rentals as well.

Only 2 negatives to report -
No refrigerators in the rooms (each floor has a microwave, ice and vending machines)
Toilets are very low with no grab bars to help you get up - we mentioned this one to management and I am confident they will have it fixed by the time we return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a last minute trip up north to see the fall colors. The staff was wonderful, and there were many things available to do. We fed the fish in the fish pond with the complimentary fish food, and would have walked the trails, sat at the fire pit, and kayaked if the weather was better. The complimentary breakfast was better than average, and the indoor pool and hot tub allows swimming at all hours for adults. Our only (minor) complaints would be the shower head could be updated as well as the TVs. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

i found this hotel lovely. staff friendly and accommodating. would stay again. only but is sink located outside bathroom and that is just a personal dislike. great views and pool.nice selection at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was with a group of 52 senior citizens on a bus when we stayed at the Crooked River Lodge for 2 nights. The manager and chef were probably the friendliest and most helpful people I have ever dealt with in my many travels around the world. They went out of their way to make our stay memorable and fun. My roommate left her ipad on the bed and didn't realize it till we were on Mackinac Island. The manager and her husband drove there and delivered it along with 2 other items that were left behind by others. Unbelievable. It is also a lovely place to stay. Rustic lodge décor with a beautiful outdoor setting which included a firepit with Adirondack chairs around it and kayaks and paddleboats for the use of their guests. I could go on and on about what a wonderful stay we had. And I plan to stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crooked River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked River Lodge

Address: 6845 US 31 N, Alanson, MI 49706 (Formerly Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Alanson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stafford's Crooked River Lodge and Suites is conveniently located on US 31 just 1 mile north of Alanson and 12 miles north of Petoskey. We are also 9 miles south of the Pellston international airport. Now under Stafford's Hospitality management we have deeded access to neaby snowmobile and recreation trails and a beautiful vista of the historic Inland Waterway for every room. Newly renovated indoor pool and common areas with 40 spacious family and group friendly rooms and suites. "Your up North adventure starts here" is our promise of a unique and true experience that travelers have come to expect in this beautiful landscape we call home. Let us share our "home" with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Crooked River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooked River Hotel Alanson
Clarion Alanson
Alanson Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crooked River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.