We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have planned to stay more than 1 night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crooked River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Crooked River Lodge to your Saves list
Crooked River Lodge
6845 US 31 N, Alanson, MI 49706 (Formerly Clarion Collection)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
jumomof3
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Should have planned to stay more than 1 night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The property manager was terrific and the front desk staff was friendly. The room was clean; the value was excellent! We had a 2-bedroom suite, which really helps when travelling with 3 kids. The only unfortunate thing was the a/c is located in the familyroom area. To get the bedrooms (even with the doors open) cool enough to sleep, the person on the sleeper sofa freezes. In fact one room never got cool enough and we had to play musical beds. Ceiling fans in the bedrooms might at least improve that issue. There is only one bathroom, which is suprising with the spaciousness, but at least the vanities outside of the bathroom help alleviate congestion in the morning. We didn't get a chance to use the kayaks/paddle boat, but hope to on a future stay. Looking forward to see how they develop the shoreline/boathouse area. The firepit, loft areas (with computer/pool table/books/games), and pool with waterfall are refreshing. I do think a separate area for exercise with some new equipment would be a huge improvement. The complimentary breakfast was enjoyable overlooking the river.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    27
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
46
56
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kassel, Germany
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed a night at the crooked river. I am so overwhelmed, I had to give my first review. We spent merely one night on our way from mackinac to traverse city. We took a great kayak ride on the river, took out the peddle boat, went for a run along the old rail line, spent hours in the indoor pool and simply enjoyed this off the beaten path location. Everyone was amazingly helpful, interested but not overbearing. Breakfast gets two thumbs up from our nine year old son and picky eater. The waffle maker was in top order and easy to use. In the evening was Mexican fiesta with nachos, various dips and drinks--complementary. The attention to detail was impressive. Our son played with various games in the loft-game room over the lobby. The fresh popcorn we received while checking in was also a nice touch.
Only negative was one aspect of the room. We had a two bedroom unit. It was in great condition, had a lovely balcony with view on the quiet river, and a separate kitchen and eating area. Unfortunately it was rather dark with grey wall paper and the second bedroom had no window. This is we presume a building thing, but lighter wallpaper would help someday. This is of course minor and doesn't have any influence on our superb evaluation of the lodge. Come and see for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Crooked River Lodge in July 2012 while visiting family. I had originally wanted to stay in Petoskey but hotel rooms were running $250 a night. I was able to book a one bedroom suite at CRL for $139. It was an easy drive from Petoskey--about 12 miles.

I was really impressed by how spacious the rooms are in the lodge. Each one has a small kitchenette (mini fridge and microwave), a bedroom, a living area, and a huge balcony overlooking the Crooked River. The lodge also has a nice swimming pool, a loft area with a big screen TV and billiards, huge patio, and fire pit.

Every morning they serve breakfast from 7am-10am. They have a variety of cereals and pastries to choose from as well as waffles and a special of the day (e.g., french toast casserole or bagel sandwiches). The woman who runs the breakfast room is super friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This newly and totally renovated facility has an exceptional log cabin theme with beautiful outdoor fire pit (gas so no odor or burning smoke) and an included breakfast where they make the belgian waffles for you when slow for a chance to visit with you. The rooms are abundantly spacious with balconies. Next time the two bedroom suite room 115. Dog Friendly rooms at one end. Great value for what you get. Free use of kayaks and paddle boats out to Crooked River and fishing off their dock. Off the traveled path so quiet area. Free breakfast offered food from other Stafford kitchen in a commissary environment so it is far better than average. I'm impressed that the GM is watching what is said here. I run a resort too and do the same - most GM's don't. They are very responsive and up north genuine friendly. Our son got a 24 hour flu on first morning and they were so helpful! You have to trust you will like this place. Nothing is OLD. If the GM asked me what they could do better... this is all - get rid of the small packets of plastic silverware and have bulk larger silverware. The napkin in the packet is worthless and you can't cut a belgian waffle with it. That is all I have to offer for advice and I am in the business! Oh, perhaps you could market a bit better because you have 40 rooms and for as good as you are I am blown away you were half empty 3 of the 4 nights we stayed. You deserve to be sold out nightly!

Room Tip: Stay longer here and hub and spoke out as far as Glen Arbor or the Sand Dunes and Mackinaw City. Se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crooked River Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review of our property. At some point we hope not to be the "best kept secret" any longer and simply one of the best places to stay in the area. We appreciate the thoughts on the plastic ware as well. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Booked a room for our anniversary. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable. The grounds and nature trail was an added bonus. We loved the view of the river and the fire pit at night. The breakfast was way better than expected and had a make your own waffle station and good coffee. This place had a few bad reviews, but they were sinced purchased by the Stafford family that has other properties in the area. Even had a night light in the bathroom. So many great little touches! I am picky and I love this place. It was a perfect retreat after a "busy" day at the local wineries. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crooked River Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for staying at Stafford's Crooked River Lodge and Suites and for sharing your experience with the followers of Trip Advisor. We know that the sum of a positive stay is made up of so many details that you touched on in your review. Being "picky" is a good thing... if it is important to you as our guest, it is important to us as well... Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a 'hidden treasure'! Peaceful setting, overlooking Crooked River. Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms (plenty of room to store our bicycles overnight). Each room faces the river and has a balcony with chairs and little table, perfect for morning coffee or evening wine. We really enjoyed taking the complimentary kayaks (and paddle boats) out on the river every morning, followed by a dip in the newly refinished pool and hot tub. Beautiful (and large) patio off pool and main lodge area, with lots of seating and lovely views. Full breakfast every day (I don't know why they say 'continental' breakfast on the web site.) They have taken many steps to make guests feel welcome and go the 'extra mile', like providing free popcorn at night in the lobby. Very family-friendly place . . . kids will love it. They even have a pool table up in the lobby loft, along with big-screen TV, tables for playing board games, computer, free WIFI, etc. Hotel staff is OUTSTANDING. Very friendly and accommodating! Even after check-out, staff invited us to return later that day if desired if we needed a place to shower/change and use the pool. "Once a guest, always a guest", she told me! BTW, great location! Quick drive to Harbor Springs, Petoskey/Bay View or Pelston/Douglas Lake area. We'll be back, for sure . . . love this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crooked River Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Wow! Thank you very much for sharing your fine review of our newest property with the followers of Trip Advisor. We felt just the same way about Stafford's Crooked River Lodge and Suites when we took on this project last year. The staff and I look forward to your next visit. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed one night in the hot tub suite. Its very spacious and I loved the rustic look of the room with the large jet tub. We had a complimentary breakfast of eggs, ham, and waffles. We ventured on the nature trail in the morning and swam in the large pool as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crooked River Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
We are delighted to know that your stay was a great experience. Our goal has been to provide a superior lodging value in a very unique setting that is "pure northern Michigan". Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crooked River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked River Lodge

Address: 6845 US 31 N, Alanson, MI 49706 (Formerly Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Alanson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stafford's Crooked River Lodge and Suites is conveniently located on US 31 just 1 mile north of Alanson and 12 miles north of Petoskey. We are also 9 miles south of the Pellston international airport. Now under Stafford's Hospitality management we have deeded access to neaby snowmobile and recreation trails and a beautiful vista of the historic Inland Waterway for every room. Newly renovated indoor pool and common areas with 40 spacious family and group friendly rooms and suites. "Your up North adventure starts here" is our promise of a unique and true experience that travelers have come to expect in this beautiful landscape we call home. Let us share our "home" with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Crooked River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooked River Hotel Alanson
Clarion Alanson
Alanson Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crooked River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.