We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ian Schrager would be proud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmopolit Hotel to your Saves list
Cosmopolit Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Akademika Proskuri St., 1, Kharkiv 61070, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 65 Kharkiv B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ian Schrager would be proud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

If you are heading to Kharkiv, congrats! You are going to a mad and wonderful place. Embrace the weird, not many westerners visit, and while the new airport terminal has removed some of the old fashioned charm, it's still like traveling back in time.

I've stayed at the Cosmopolit 6 times, the Chichikov once, and have had a detailed tour of the Aurora. I've been coming here for 4 years. These and Hotel Kharkov are the top 4 hotels in town. Unless you are a student or on a budget, they deserve to be top of anyone's list of Kharkov hotels. The Cosmopolit is unquestionably No 1 on my list.

Let's get the bad stuff out the way first... The Cosmopolit scores badly in the location department. It's a 10 minute drive from the city centre, with very little around. It's located 5km out of town on the relatively undeveloped Moscow road. You pass some parks, factories, woods and a couple of roadside restaurants to get there. The road veers round to the right and you come into a developed area which has an old fashioned convenience store, pharmacy and a couple of low end eateries. None of these are particularly obvious or appealing (with the possible exception of the Pizza place) but they are there if you need them. A modern supermarket is a 15 minute walk further along the road and round to the left - where the road literally comes to an end.

You will therefore be taking a taxi every time you go to or from the hotel. Taxi's in Kharkiv are ridiculously cheap, so you will pay around 50 gryvna (£4 / $6) from the hotel to the city, and as little as 28 gryvna (£2 / $3) coming back. Good luck getting a taxi with a seatbelt for the journey home. (If this bothers you, find a taxi driver you like, and keep their number).

Once you mentally accept that it's a 'taxi every time', this black mark for location evaporates. If you think you will be bouncing in and out of your hotel multiple times a day, this is not going to be the hotel for you, unless you have some mad penchant for deathtrap Lada's and their multi-tasking taxi drivers. If you like the idea of retreating to a place of genuine luxury, privacy and comfort, and feeling you are the only person in town, Cosmopolit is your choice.

My review of the Cosmopolit in detail...

I've talked about the location as a negative, there are a couple of other negatives and I write these mainly for the hotel to fix them.

The main one perhaps has less to do with the Cosmopolit but Ukraine in general. If you are not adventurous in the food department, as I am not, you will have a tough time. Ukrainian interpretations of Western food are frankly odd, with the notable exception of breakfast. The restaurant in the Cosmopolit is considered a very high end 'Italian' restaurant in Kharkiv. Veer away from the pizzas though and it's pot luck. It's also expensive. The Ukrainian dishes are much cheaper and actually reasonably priced, if you are feeling adventurous. The translations on the menu aren't great. Here's an important tip though... Food in Ukrainian restaurants is often sold literally by the gram, so the price you see is not necessarily the price you pay. The Cosmopolit have got better at pointing this out to foreigners, presumably after some complaints. It generally only applies to meat and seafood dishes.

If it rains at night, a design flaw in the outside metal window ledge means the sound of falling rain drops echoes loudly into your room, sounding like a radiator creaking. It kept me awake for hours one unfortunate night, like some cruel Chinese water torture. The hotel should fix this. I now bring ear plugs just in case.

The bed clothes suffer from being man made fibres, most notably the bedsheet which generates enough static to light a city. I'm sensitive though to man-made fibres so this might not bother you. It actually doesn't bother me that much, I end up throwing the bedsheet in the cupboard.

Now I've got all the bad stuff out the way, I can get onto the good stuff... and there's loads of it!

The Cosmopolit is an AMAZING hotel, beautifully designed, contemporary, and if a building can be sexy, this one is it. We're talking low-light, sophistication, and something Ian Schrager or Philippe Starck would be proud of. That this hotel is in Kharkiv, Ukraine is verging on the bizarre.

The service is nigh on impeccable. The staff stay here a long time, I see the same staff here from 4 years ago. They clearly take great pride in their work, value their jobs, and probably feel they are lucky to be working here - I can't blame them. If you need to work in general, this is a great place to do it. The desk is a decent size (unlike the Chichikov or Aurora), the rooms are very large and modern (unlike the Chichikov or Aurora), the internet works great, and nobody bothers you at all.

A substantial breakfast is included and is very good. A choice of hot food made to order from your table (eg Bacon and Eggs) is free and included, full service coffee to your table and a decent buffet. The staff are friendly and attentive without being over bearing.

Room service is available 24 hours a day which is great. There's a well stocked mini-bar that is priced reasonably. You've got satellite TV, cordless phone, and TONS of space.

Without hyperbole, the bathroom is the most amazing bathroom I've ever experienced in a hotel anywhere in the world. Heated floors, beautiful large beige tiles, it's a wetroom with a modern twist on Roman times. I challenge anyone not to have one shower during their stay - just for the fun of it. Did I say how much I love this bathroom?

I could go into much more depth as I know this hotel better than any I've every stayed at, but I don't want to bore you to death or kill all the surprises. Come here and you'll have a great time!

UPDATE: UEFA have selected the Cosmopolit as the official Kharkiv hotel for the Euro 2012 championships. The owners are tripling the size of the hotel and adding a gym, swimming pool and new bar. A year is a long way away, but depending on who is playing in Kharkiv I'd say there's a pretty good chance you'll find me at the bar, chatting it up with the players. Come and buy me a drink!

Room Tip: The Superior Deluxe rooms are great value at $100
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Novosibirsk, Russia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Kharkiv is not a vibrant city at all and that's why the Cosmopolit Hotel can be considered as very good. Stylish, spacious, comfortable rooms, pretty good breakfasts, rather good restaurant for a dinner (counted as one of the best in the city) - all this makes it to be the hotel of choice in Kharkiv. However one should bear in mind that it rather far from the city's centre, rooms (though they are still new) have a slight tobacco smell and there is no sound-proof at all - you can hear every step of your heighbours leaving for airport early in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

I stayed at the Cosmopolit for a week. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. The service was outstanding. The food was the best in the city by far. The Cosmopolit Hotel can be compared to a five star rating like in the United States. Every time I travel to Kharkov I will stay there. A word of advise though, book your reservations early so you can ensure a room in advance. A hotel of these standards in Eastern Europe are very hard to find for the quality and price they offer. Again, Thank You Cosmopolit Hotel for a wonderful stay.
Tim H. Texas, USA

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

Stayed here 18th Jan 2010 on business, great hotel, very friendly staff and decent breakfast. Some way from centre however.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

I booked a normal room which was actually not cheap (800 Grivnas = 67 €) and i got what they are calling a standard room ... which is a room with a NON OPENABLE WINDOW !!! Of course, the booking employee did not say a word about this specificity... It was difficult to have a normal room... as they wanted to force me to accept a much higher price (1.080 Gr) for a room with a bad view, by the way like the previous room, but with an openable window. I refused to pay more than 800 Gr for that normal room... The hotel was quite empty so the manager had to accept. But anyway, it was a bad deal because this hotel is VERY FAR FROM THE CENTER whereas the Chichikov and the Kharkov Hotels are IN THE CENTER and with the same prices (750 to 840 Gr) ... and with new or quite new rooms. I really don't understand how the Cosmopolit can be so no-competitive !! Avoid it absolutely... Even the breakfast is not good : bad bread (only white and bad), very small fruits...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

From the doorman helping me from the cab to the chef at breakfast ! Wonderful!
Sexy bathroom with glass shower!
Everyone wants to help!
Classy but also Homey too !
Nice Gym 4 minutes away with big pool!
This place should be a 5 STAR !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

a superb boutique hotel a good taxi ride outside the centre of kharkiv , hotel manager could not of been more helpful and every amenity you would expect in a top of the range hotel .

  • Liked — superb rooms
  • Disliked — a bit too far outside of the centre
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmopolit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolit Hotel

Address: Akademika Proskuri St., 1, Kharkiv 61070, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kharkiv Oblast > Kharkiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Kharkiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolit Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cosmopolit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolit Hotel Kharkiv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.