We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mir

Hotel Mir
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mir to your Saves list
Hotel Mir
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lenin Avenue, 27a, Kharkiv 61072, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Kharkiv
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

A big grocery right across the road, near club misto ( best night club in the city) and reasonable rates. Complainers wanted to be snooty. Nothing wrong at all with this hotel. Huge nightclub in back (club joker I think ). It's not the dhabi Hilton but a good safe, clean, comfortable place to stay. If you don't meet any women at club misto talk to the doorman.at the hotel. He will tell you where to go.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
3
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Soviet-time build hotel, with well-outdated exterior. 2 out of 3 elevators doesn't work, so prepare to wait. The room is not that bad itself. Anyway you can spend night in much better place for those money.

Room Tip: 9-th is the only non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKPOOL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Booked this hotel because it fell within budget & was very close to a metro station. Yes it's an old style soviet hotel & my room was old fashioned... But clean & very warm on a very cold -11 night. Breakfast was a no no... They didn't understand much English & it was not buffett style you just got what they gave you which was different each morning & only Ukrainian food. This needs improving to cater for European guests. For what I paid I was happy enough with my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

dreadful bed with dreadfully thin blankets, dreadful service, terrible bar and restaurant, but exceedingly cheap. the chicikov and europa are better, but still pretty ordinary and 4x the price or more. sto to do?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonsboro, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

The hotel was convenient to the metro, rooms were clean, and the staff was very helpful and polite. I enjoyed the Ukraine and the Ukrainians and will come again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel has a deceivingly ugly exterior appearance; however, it is mostly renovated and quite different inside. The location is very good, next to Metro (subway) station “Botanical Garden”. A 24-hour supermarket is less than 100 meters from the hotel entrance. There is a park with a natural spring across the street. I am not sure if it is the Botanical Garden which gave its name to the subway station, but it is very well maintained and you can drink from numerous taps at the spring (bring your own bottle or glass) or dip into the baths with flowing spring water (there are change rooms to change swimwear). The water is extremely cold, but refreshing in hot days. Everything is free btw!
The room we stayed in was a “Standard” one. The rate might seem a bit high compared with other prices in the city, such as transportation, entertainment, etc., but still very affordable for Western travelers. The room size was adequate for a European hotel, though there is not enough space to store bags if you have several of them. The shower cabin is new and clean, but lacks a soap holder or a small shelf. Free Wi-Fi in the room. Overall cleanness was satisfactory, though bed linen and towels did not feel sparkling fresh. Our room did not have air conditioning, so we had to keep the windows open during hot nights and, therefore, had to bear with the street noise (and it was really noisy outside – traffic, barking dogs, etc.) As far as I know, more expensive “Eurolux” rooms do have air conditioners. Out of curiosity, we checked hallways on several floors and it appears that only floors from the 6th up as well as the reception level had been renovated – probably, they started renovations from the top floors down and haven’t finished all the floors yet. Overall, we had a positive experience and I would recommend this hotel if you travel to Kharkiv.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Our first impression of Kharkiv, coming straight off a flight from the USA, was not that favorable. The roads are bad, there are many dilapidated buildings and (apparently) recently abandoned half-finished high-rise developments, and Hotel Mir, on our first approach to it, seemed to be in an out-of-the-way place overgrown by weeds. But in fact Kharkiv turns out to be a delightful city! The people are friendly, polite and orderly; you can walk around at any time without any sense of concern; the Metro system is fantastic - USD $0.25 for an unlimited ride, the stations have individual architecture, all most aesthetically designed, some rivaling Moscow in their beauty, fast frequent trains, and even at rush hour the many riders were uniformly polite and dignified in our experience. But now to the Mir Hotel. Its location is most convenient - just steps from the Botanical Gardens Metro station. Across the street is a very good 24-hour supermarket. The staff is most polite and helpful - they didn't charge us for a fax that we sent to a hotel in Kiev, there is a full-service travel agency on the premises that was most helpful in getting us train tickets to Kiev, ATM machines, a Western Union money-changing office, very decent restaurant (The Joker). I think most American travelers will appreciate two things that I now mention, which are related. We arrived on a rather hot day in June, after a transatlantic flight, and when we entered our room it was pleasantly cool, the air conditioning having been turned on well beforehand. In this respect, Mir was one of the best hotels in which I have stayed in all of Europe. Second, our floor - and I think this is true throughout - had a 24-hour staff of dedicated female attendants, apparently the same people every day. Whenever we got off the elevator to return to our room, at least one of these ladies would appear in the corridor to see who was approaching. That really establishes a sense of security and comfort. Overall the service was excellent, we had a most comfortable suite with a living room, bedroom and separate bathroom for about USD 100/night, good small refrigerator and flawless free wireless internet access. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 11th floor - most pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mir

Address: Lenin Avenue, 27a, Kharkiv 61072, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kharkiv Oblast > Kharkiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Kharkiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mir 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Mir" - located on one of the main roads of the city, Lenin Ave, near the metro station "Botanichnyi Sad". Convenient location allows our guests to easily reach any point in the city. In close proximity to the source of Sarzhin Yar and "Kharkiv Disneyland" Gorky Park.Our facility combines a hotel, restaurant, cafe and bars. It offers conference rooms, beauty salon, Russian bath and sauna, travel agency "Mir Service", the box office air and rail tickets, bank, parking.Hotel "Mir" offers our guests single and double Eurorooms, Evroluxs and apartments. Rooms fitted with a direct dial telephone, TV, Wi-Fi. Hotel can accommodate more than 200 people at the same time.The complex is equipped with independent water and heating supply.During Euro 2012 hotel housed members of the headquarters and the UEFA target groups.The team hotel will pick you up European level of service and will do everything possible to make your stay comfortable.Welcome to the hotel complex "Mir"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.