We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ayvazovskiy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ayvazovskiy to your Saves list
Ayvazovskiy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bunina St., 19, Odessa 65026, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Odessa
UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Huge rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I liked this hotel, especially the massive rooms with old school decor. Helpful staff, central location. I would probably return here if I was ever back in Odessa.

The downside is that breakfast is served a couple of blocks away. Also they wouldn't let me have a late checkout despite making me wait when I checked in until after 4pm.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    28
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

After two weeks in sleeping in awful soviet hotels all over western Ukraine, what a relief! Small and cozy, clean and well-maintained, in the heart of European city of old Odessa, Ayvazovsky hotel greeted us with a polite bellman at the front door, who helped us park the car and took our luggage to the rooms. I had a room facing the street, and it was wonderful, but my friend had a back yard facing room and was not that happy. Service was fantastic: everything you want at a time you want. Breakfast was provided in two very good restaurants within 5 min walking. The only possible downside was a very small shower cabin, which accommodated my body OK, but I am relatively small and skinny. An average American may have a problem there. I stayed there for 5 nights and it was a very positive experience.

Room Tip: Try a street-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A very clean NON-SMOKING boutique hotel right in the center of the city. I try to always book it when traveling to Odessa. Great service all around. From check-in to auxiliary services such as laundry, in room dining and internet access. Location is great as well, all central dinning spots are within walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

If you aren't looking for all of the amenities a hotel chain offers, this is your hotel. I would liken it to an over-sized bed-and-breakfast. Breakfast entails short walks to two possible restaurants but don't let that deter you. They have room service via one of the restaurants. The hotel personnel are friendly, helpful, and speak English. The location is near Deribasovskaya and Primorsky streets which is the heart of the city center. Overall, excellent value in a great location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Central location. Good breakfast on local restaurant 2 blocks from the hotel. Very clean room and bathromm. Good bed and good quality in bedding, linnen and towels. Minibarprices are fair. Helpful, polite and smiling staff. BUT: Avoid the "sun-window-rooms" on the 3. floor, they have no view or regular windows.

Room Tip: Avoid the "sun-window-rooms" on the 3. floor, they have no view or regular windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 days. A very nice hotel - location close to the Opera and Deribasovskaya Street (5 minutes) and the Potenkim Stairs, 10 minutes. If your are to a nice morning run and a swim in the Black Sea, the hotel is approx. 2 km. from the beach. A very nice way to see Odessa wake up! The reception was very friendly, allways with a smile and good to handle questions (all working in the reception was very good in englich). Stayed at first floor, nice and clean - good bed. Wi-fi fast - easy to get access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel was indeed a very positive surprise for me in Odessa. Fairly priced. Excellent location - 5 minutes walk from Opera and Deribasovskaya Street. Super friendly staff at the reception - they managed my very early checkout perfectly. Ultra clean and spacy, stylish rooms with a great bathroom, lovely mini kits and lots of extras, such as free chocolates or filtered water. I liked their breakfast system - as they do not have any restaurant inside the hotel, either you will order your breakfast in advance and it is delivered to you room in the morning, or you will get a voucher at the reception and have your breakfast at one of the four offered places nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayvazovskiy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayvazovskiy

Address: Bunina St., 19, Odessa 65026, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayvazovskiy 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business hotel «Ayvazovsky» is happy to offer you comfortable accommodations in downtown Odessa just a few steps away from the world famous Opera and Ballet Theater and Philharmony.All our 27 NON-SMOKING rooms are equipped with:phone (long-distance and international calls)satellite TVfree Wi-Fimini-barelectronic safeair conditioningbathroom with a shower cabin and hair dryerelectronic door locksAyvazovsky Hotel is a combination of moderate rates, supreme service and exquisite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ayvazovskiy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayvazovskiy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.