We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but cold” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Continental to your Saves list
Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Deribasovskaya St., 5G, Odessa 65026, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Odessa
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cheap but cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I think that for the 4stars hotel it wasnt expensive. However, i dont know if it was worth the money we paid. We had some problems by booking. When i wanted to book online, i failed. I called them and asked to send me a confirmation. I also send an email asking for confirmation. After I didnt get any after 24 hours of waiting i had to call again and plead for a confirmation. ( it was a business trip and I organised it for 3 more people). We stayed in a separate building. It was cold inside. The elevator is tiny. However , one could use the stairs next entrance but nobody had told us about it. Breakfast was great! All in all food is delicious in Ukraine. And the last thing. If one wants to use Sauna, one has to pay for it separately . Rather strange for a hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental_team, Director of Sales at Continental, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Maria,
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Odessa. Your opinion is very important for us and it helps us to improve our service.
Let us bring our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences we might have caused you. These kinds of situations are not necessarily part of a great service we strive for. However, necessary action has been taken, in order to prevent mistakes in the future. Unfortunately ,sauna is not included in the rate, but for our guests we offer special rate. Hope this situation will not affect our friendship and we will have a chance to welcome you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    35
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
22
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Perfect location and excellent customer service.

Within walking distance to the Main Street. Many cafés and restaurants close by.

Reception was very helpful.

Rooms are dated but clean and very comfortable.

Highly recommend when visiting Odessa centrum.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental_team, Director of Sales at Continental, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Allen,

Thank you for taking your time in writing this wonderful review. It has been an honor to have you as a guest in our hotel. In hospitality industry the main and most important part is the customer service and our hotel is proud if the professionalism and courtesy of the hotel staff. The best achievement and motivation is definitely satisfied customer. We will be glad to have you here any time again.
Thank You
Kindest Regards

Inna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My daughter and I recently spent 2 1/2 days in Odessa at the Continental Hotel on a mini-vacation. While it is positioned as a 'business' hotel, it was luxurious, and the staff were fantastic! The scrumptious full buffet breakfast was delicious and the hotel is beautifully situated in the heart of Odessa and just a short walk to the Potemkin steps. The concierge staff were so helpful and the rooms with comfortable king bed was luxurious. It was a real treat and this is a legitimate review and if I ever go back to Odessa I would definitely stay at the Continental.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental_team, Директор по продажам at Continental, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Sue Gail,

Thank you for taking your time in writing this comment. We are very pleased to know that your stay in our hotel was pleasant and you have enjoyed it at fullest. Our hotel team was thrilled to have you and you daughter as our guests and hope we can keep in touch and have you back here soonest.

Thank you

Sales and Marketing Manager

Inna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The location and service is perfect for business travellers. The rooms and services can be improved if the hotel wants to attract more diverse kind of travellers. The staff was excellent and very helpful with respect to the customer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental_team, Director of Sales at Continental, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking your time in writing this review.
Our guest opinion is very important to us and deffinitely helps to improve services provided.
Looking forward seeing you again in our hotel and hopefully next time we will manage to impress you more.

Kindest Regards
Inna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World traveler
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Having visit the Ukraine for the last few years, I have to say that this hotel is definitely the one I would stay at each time. While it not exactly in the heart of the city center, it is only a short walk to there (5 minutes max). If you are expecting a room exactly like in the USA, you are not going to get it. But from the different places I've seen in this city, it's a far better place than most. The showers vary by which room you have, from a closet size to full bath with shower option so be sure to specify which type of room. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Have a problem or even a medical one they will go the extra step to help you. I found it very comfortable and safe. The last part I can not stress enough. When you are there or in the connected restaurant there is no sense of worry. If you are looking for a place to stay while on business or vacation place, this is it. There is a small elevator and house keeping with laundry services. Each room has AC which is a necessity in the summer. In room safes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental_team, Director of Sales at Continental, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking your time in writing this nice review. I am glad you liked your stay at our hotel and hope it will become your number one choice, while choosing your place to stay in Odessa.
The city is beautiful all year round and you are most welcome to visit us any time.

Thank you once again and see you soon!
Kindest Regards

Inna

Sales and Marketing Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It a very well located hotel. You have there everything you need, breakfast is goood, staff nice, rooms are clean. The only minus for foreigners is lack of English chanels on TV but if you want to excercise your
Staying there you are in the heart of Odessa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental_team, Director of Sales at Continental, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Mariola.
Thank you for your kind review and your compliments.
We do ouwn routers for additional English channels and will make sure on your next stay to equip your room with it.

Kindest Regards

Sales and Marketing Manager

Inna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice, quite place in the center of Odessa. Hotel is located in the beginning of the most popular street (Deribasovskaya)... Rooms is not great, but on fourth floor I find one just a little bigger ( room 404). Relation value for money is on good level. Very friendly staff is ready to help you in every moment. Room service is very professional. In old Odessa exist problems with pressure of water. On this place, owner sold that problem and water have good pressure even on top floor. Restaurant have nice veranda and it is open till late in the evening. I would like to come back there.

Room Tip: Fourth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental_team, Director of Sales at Continental, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sir,
On behalf of our hotel team I would like to thank you for taking your time in writing this nice review.
Our location, service and spacious rooms are the best keys to successful business; however we are constantly working on the improvement as well. The best guides in this matter are of course our clientele’s reviews and opinions.
Thank you and see you soon again at our hotel!

Kindest Regards
Sales and Marketing manager
Inna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental

Address: Deribasovskaya St., 5G, Odessa 65026, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Odessa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Odessa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from the Potemkin Stairs and the Odessa Opera House, this 4-star hotel features a spa area, a restaurant and elegant rooms with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.The Continental’s Voyage restaurant serves Italian and Ukrainian cuisine. A buffet breakfast is provided each morning.The rooms at the Continental Business Hotel feature a minibar, radio and beds with an orthopaedic mattress.A hot tub, Finnish sauna and relaxation lounge can be found in the Continental Business’ spa area. Massages and beauty treatments can be booked here.Vorontsov’s Palace and the Odessa Harbour are just a 10-minute walk from the Continental Hotel. Odessa Central Airport is a 15-minute drive away, and Odessa-Glavnaya Train Station is 2 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Odessa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.