We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gitmo might be a better name” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Star

Save Saved
You added Tokyo Star to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tokyo Star
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Vodoprovodnaya St., Odessa 65000, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 92 Odessa B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gitmo might be a better name”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have stayed in some tiny, horrible hotels in my life, including many absolutely horrid places in India. And mostly I don't mind because I don't travel for hotel experiences. But I felt I needed to say a few things about this place. The location is okay, near to the train station and a local bus station and close enough to the sights -- you can walk to the for some reason famous Potemkin steps in like 20 minutes.

But this is tiny, smelly, horrid room. You have no control over the AC. It is loud, smells like mold and there is barely room to stand up without banging a shin or stubbing a toe. Other guests are quite loud, walls are quite thin. I booked a "windowless room" and understood this mean I would get a windowless room, and i have stayed in windowless rooms in Sofia, KL and places in India, but this place! Really horrible. DON'T STAY HERE.

I'm sure the guys in Gitmo have bigger rooms.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    15
    10
    17
See reviews for
4
8
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I perused the other reviews of this hotel, and see many that were negative. That's really too bad, because I think there should be more hotels like this in more places, like in the USA! Sadly, that business model would never work in the West. I enjoyed it though, and will remember the experience forever. Really, how often do you get the stay in an oversized broom closet? Having stayed here, I now have the satisfaction of saving a few bucks, and knowing I have what it takes to get comfortable in such a small space. If you're traveling alone and just need to rest, what more do you need? It's probably the cheapest place to stay other than hostels where you get your own private room. You won't find anything cheaper with a private room at a regular hotel, I can guarantee that.

A/C, Wi-Fi, TV, all that is included. The place is about as wide as two twin bed mattresses next to each other. You can almost touch both side walls with each hand at the same time. The depth of the place is about 75 cm longer than a twin bed. Small? Oh yeah. But consider sleeping on a 15-hour plane ride, in an economy seat. If you can pull that off, then you'll be just fine here. The place was clean, the water was hot, and everything worked as it should. By the way, I did not see any indicators of the place being used as a place of promiscuity, if you know what I mean. Single traveler? Check it out!

Room Tip: As far as know, all the rooms are the same size, and none of them have windows. Any will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Tokyo Star offers basic and cheap accommodation only 200 m from the railway and bus station.

Rooms are very small but they have private bathrooms Some rooms have no window and those are the best price. Other two tipes differ with it's size and prices.

Because of such a small size of rooms and bathrooms where walls seems to be made of paper I do not recomend to share such a room with someone you do't know very well.

Recepion works 24h. There is internet conection and small caffe in the mail hall. Unfortunatelly service is very poor and unnice.

For short stay of 1-2 nights it is ok, especially if you are fed up with dormitory rooms in hostels (the prices are nearly the same) and need central location.

Room Tip: just try different to have a look at all rooms they offer as they differ very much
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We crashed at the Tokyo Star against the advice of our Ukrainian friends. I needed to be located near the train station so we decided to stay at the Tokyo Star. The location and the price is the best part about this place. The rooms are tiny and its not the cleanest place in the world. But, if all you need is a place to sleep and a shower, then this is your place. The ladies up on the 2nd floor will also do your laundry for a few bucks. I'd stay here again, but I don't think I could do more than 2 nights. It is great to be able to walk right to the train station.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

cheap...small !!!rooms noicy, poor beds, close to the railway station

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

It is a really budget hotel with no extra services. It is rather for a short visit because all rooms are very small. There are different kind of rooms: I have seen a room for two and for four. You could also choose a room with a window and without a window. Those with windows were more expensive (but it was few euros more). All rooms have a bathroom. Sometimes when you open the door to your room you may first enter to a bathroom and then you have a room. I have a room with one bed for two and there was no door between the bathroom and the room - this option is ok only for couples. There was a tv set and a fridge in the room. The room was clean.

There is also a small shop inside the hotel. The reception staff was not friendly and hardly speaks English. It is not possible to check in earlier without extra money. I had no reservation and get to the hotel as a walk - in and we paid around 18 Euro per room. It was a good price. It is really centrally located - nead the main railway station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

Place was cheap and close to the train station. Hotel was only 30 mins walk into the main centre of town. Service wasn't great, the lady at the desk wasn't sure if I paid, but understood English which helped. Rooms are basic (and dated), bed linen was not nice though it was clean. Room had all the basics, TV, shower and basin. Lots of noise at night, to be expected at cheap hotels and hotels though. Would recommend staying at a hostel if you don't mind sharing a room.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tokyo Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Star

Address: 1 Vodoprovodnaya St., Odessa 65000, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tokyo Star 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located modern hotel with very small rooms. Every room has private bathroom, air conditioning, and TV. Double rooms have fridges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tokyo Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.