We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Antigua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yellow House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yellow House
Save
You added The Yellow House to your Saves list
1a Calle Poniente #24, Between Ave Del Desengano & 7Av North, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best hostel in Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Rooms are clean, bright and pleasant, beds and sheets comfortable although pillows are a little flat. Service is phenonmenal for a hostel, the cooking and cleaning ladies are very hardworking, they make a mean breakfast (included), clean the toilets, windows, floors, kitchen, dishes, make your bed daily and even change the sheets every few days.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    68
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
115
74
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

I liked my room at the hostel. It's a good deal. The breakfast is even good too. I wish that the bathrooms were a bit cleaner. The travel agency here is really helpful.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

i stayed here two nights with a friend. it{s a pretty nice hotel, but not so cheap. our room was USD20 a night and didn{t include a bathroom. that{s not really very cheap for guatemala. and the breakfast is included which is great, but the breakfast nazi that montiors how many pieces of fruit and bread the guests take is not welcome. i think there are better places for the same price. and go out for breakfast. pinapple and white bread and jam with pretty ordinary coffee is not my idea of a good breakfast!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feldkirch, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

We were twice in Yellow House! The staff is very friendly. We booked a Pacaya Tour and a shuttle. The breakfast was ok. The location is perfect. Rooms are very nice decorated and clean. It's calm and the bathroom is clean (there are two).
It was a perfect stay. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

This is THE budget place to stay for couples or singles traveling alone. The tranquil alternative to other budget hotels and hostels packed with party animals.

Double rooms for $13 including breakfast, water, and free internet. Dorm rooms for $7 including the same. This is also one of the few budget places owned and run by Guatemalans.

  • Liked — Its Tranquility
  • Disliked — cannot think of anything
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yellow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House

Address: 1a Calle Poniente #24, Between Ave Del Desengano & 7Av North, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Yellow House Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yellow House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.