We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filadelfia Coffee Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently returned from a one night stay at Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Spa during which I had the pleasure of doing a coffee tour. The entire property is beautiful and very well taken care of with a crystal clear and WARM swimming pool & hot tub. The room was gorgeous with high ceilings and a shower I never wanted to leave. Our guide (I believe Alex was his name) was professional, knowledgeable, and very friendly and I would recommend the coffee tour to people of any age for a close look at the entire process of growing and processing beans. The coffee itself tasted great and the dinner and brunch I had was very very good as well. I would LOVE to come back to Guatemala and stay at Filadelfia again(hopefully for longer than one night).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
20
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I experienced the nectar of the gods (fresh papaya juice with breakfast!) at the restaurant at Santo Domingo but shared the food of the gods (a large, many-layered wedge of tres leches cake) with my daughter at the Filadelfia Coffee Resort restaurant--washed down with the best coffee either of us had ever tasted. We sat on the restaurant patio just beyond the reach of a fine mist, sipped our coffee (beautiful to the eye as well as the palate), breathed in the scent of flowers and clouds, and struggled to find words to describe how good that cake was! This was just one of the many unexpected and exquisitely sweet and memorable moments experienced in Guatemala. I can't review the tours or the zipline thing. We did not do any of those things. However, if you are near Antigua and looking for an incredible cup of coffee and a quiet place to sit and take in the beauty of Guatemala, we highly recommend Filadelfia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

It's hard to review this place without breaking it down into categories.
1) Sunday breakfast buffet: approximately $13. Nice variety of food, sometimes not as hot as it should be. Weak service, fantastic views and overall just really nice way to spend a Sunday morning.
2) zip line canopy tour. Fun but very overpriced for the little amount of time you're there. Maybe 20-30 minutes though they tell you is 1. 1/2 hours. Skip it.

3) coffee tour: more expensive than others in the area but worth every penny. Juan Jesus was our guide and he was fantastic! Very knowledgable, funny, and very thorough. It was educational and fun! Do it!

Finca filadelfia was really one of the nicest little getaways outside of Antigua. I would go here evy weekend if I lived in Antigua! It's lovely! Beautiful grounds, great views of the volcanos, and just a nice atmospehere overall!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

Arrived thru a friend's recommendation and was pleasently suprised by the beautiful setting and view of the volcanoe. Coffee was delicious and staff ready and helpful.

Will recommend and come back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this amazing resort. I like old stylish bedroom. We took Coffee Plantation Tour and we had great time. Our guide loves his jobs, he could speak about coffee hours and hours. Very good experience and worthy of a visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had an truly enjoyable experience at Finca Filadelfia. We went to see birds and on that mountain with a guide (Roberto) and on our own saw many birds. There is a network of trails and small roads that gave us access to all kinds of habitat within the finca - from 1500-2430 m. The birding was very good though the cost for guide was a bit high.
The room was quite nice with a fireplace that was used nightly but i could not stay awake because the bed was so comfortable. The manager and staff were extremely helpful. The manager helped us with arranging our trip onwards (due to closed roads because of prior rains) and with various other issues and questions we had. The food was exceptional and the guatemalan buffet was a value.
An added bonus were the tennis courts with a great view.
I would return in a heart beat and look forward to drinking coffee atop the mountain with my gal and our guide.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Great service, peaceful, not in downtown Antigua, but a fantastic experience...A must have experience...

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Filadelfia Coffee Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filadelfia Coffee Resort and Spa

Address: 150 mts al Norte de Iglesia de San Felipe de Jesus | Antigua Guatemala, Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#17 Family Hotel in Antigua
#22 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Filadelfia Coffee Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Filadelfia Estate is located in Antigua, Guatemala. The hotel address is 150 meters North of the San Felipe Chapel, the only Gothic Chapel in AntiguaOn the outskirts of the ancient city of Antigua, the former capital of the Spanish Empire of Central America among the green coffee bushes lies the Filadelfia Coffee Estate owned for generations by the Dalton family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Filadelfia Coffee Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filadelfia Coffee Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filadelfia Coffee Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.